Fiction logo

Hot Tub Time Machine Chronicles Chapter 3

Life of the Party

By Alex KincaidPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

The following tale of temporal travel takes place in a universe inspired by the 2010 smash megahit film Hot Tub Time Machine. It is an original story, and does not feature any of the same characters as the film. This is... Life of the Party - Chapter 2.

EXT. COMMERCIAL MASONRY BUILDING - DAY

Alex and Max are a couple blocks down the street from the convenience store. Alex leans against the brick wall, and finishes smoking a cigarette. He puts the butt out in an ashtray outside. He talks to himself, while Max is preoccupied. "Stop by later! Stop by! Maybe I can stop by?" he echoes Kristie's final words to him.

We PAN OVER to Max, who has his arm shoved up inside a Soda Vending Machine. He desperately tries to pull something out. Alex taps him on the shoulder, "Come on man, we have to keep moving forward."

Max responds, "Wait, I'm close. I can taste it."

"Max, you've been trying to steal a soda from that thing for 45 minutes." Alex chastises him.

Max is oblivious, and doesn't reply. Alex sighs, and inserts a Loonie into the vending machine. A pop falls. Max cheers, "Yes, I knew it! See Alex, all you need is patience."

EXT. CALLEN HOUSE - THAT NIGHT

Alex and Max are parked outside of Alex's house. They are sharing a joint. They get out of the car, and smoke billows from the doors.

Max looks around at the garbage scatter across the lawn, "Dude, is this why you smell like garbage?"

Alex nods, "Yes, now I'll hear no more questions from you. Get inside!"

Max shakes his head, and follows Alex inside.

INT. CALLEN HOUSE - KITCHEN - CONTINUOUS

Alex and Max enter the empty kitchen, and Alex turns on the light.

Alex calls out, "Mom?"

Alex walks past the notepad on the counter. He picks it up and reads it: ALEX, GONE TO DINNER. HAVE A GREAT PARTY!

"She's ridiculous. Why doesn't she just text my phone? This is the twenty-first century. It makes me furious," Alex mutters, then turns to Max, "Anyway, it's not important. What's important is this."

Alex leans in, and lowers his voice, "Max, I am about to show you something monumental. I am finally going to show you what I have been hiding in the basement."

Max smiles, "Dude, I don't care to see your dead hooker collection."

Alex laughs, "Oh no my friend, it is much better."

Alex unlocks the basement door, and says, "Max, I give you -"

We follow Alex down the stairs. Alex flips the light switch, illuminating the scene. Hundreds of dominoes, set-up in a fantastic pattern.

Alex describes it to Max, "The most sophisticated chain reaction ever built. Adequately titled: The Topple Effect."

Max questions him, "You brought me down here to show me dominoes?"

Alex scoffs, "Not just dominoes, my man. This is high level physics."

"What are you talking about?" Max asks.

Alex picks a domino off the shelf next to him, walks across the room, and places it in sequence, "Let me as you this: why does a butterfly flapping its wings in China affect the US Stock Market?"

Max raises an eyebrow, "Say what?"

"Three simple words," Alex responds, "Cause and effect."

"I'm sure you're crazy. I just need to prove it," laughs Max.

"For ever action," Alex begins, "There is an equal and opposite reaction. For every event there is a consequence."

Alex puts his finger very close to the first domino in the sequence, then pulls it back.

Max hollers, "What?! You're not even going to do it?!"

Alex admits, "I can't. It's taken me too long to set up."

"So, you're just going to leave it like this forever?" Max asks.

Alex turns to him, "You don't understand."

"Oh I understand," says Max, "You're scared. Here, I'll push it."

Alex grabs Max's arm and pulls him back up the stairs, "No, stay away! The power is too much for one man. Now out!"

INT. CALLEN HOUSE - ALEX'S BEDROOM

Alex is in the closet, while Max sits on the bed.

Max says, "So that was it? You made me drive your ass over here, so you could show me your bizarre obsession with a bunch of wooden rectangles?"

Alex laughs, "No man, I had to get ready. I'm meeting Kristie in less than an hour."

Max looks shocked, "What the hell are you talking about?"

Alex pops his head out of the closet, "The party, dude! The address she wrote down on my receipt. She's going to be there."

Alex hands Max the convenience store receipt with the address of The Party written on it: 123 High St.

Max's blurts out, "Are you kidding?! What about my place? What about the Party Bible?"

Alex is rifling through a laundry basket on his floor. He picks up a shirt, smells it, and puts it on, "Max, we are not talking about some random girl here. We're talking about Kristie Halladay. It's not just that she's hot. She's very, very hot."

Max nods, "Alex, I'm your best friend. Which is why I completely understand. But, it's still not cool."

Alex smiles and places a hand on Max's shoulder, "Thanks."

INT. MAX'S CAR - LATER THAT NIGHT

Max pulls up to a large mansion, and turns to speak to Alex in the passenger seat, "Well this is it, I guess."

Alex responds, "How can you tell?"

We pull back to reveal the entire house, and 40 cars parked in the street. Dozens of people in the street. The giant building rocking with lights and music.

Back in the car, Max says, "The option still stands, man. It's not going to be the same tonight without you."

Alex reassures him, "Listen, I'll go inside. Stay for a bit. And if things aren't good, I'll foot pedal it back to your place."

The two best friends do their secret handshake, and Alex hops out of the car. He makes a line for the front door. Behind him, Max drives off.

Alex checks his digital wristwatch: 9:29pm.

Alex pops a piece of chewing gum into his mouth, then knocks on the door. No answer. He tries the handle. It's unlocked. Alex opens the door and enters The Party.

Script
Like

About the Creator

Alex Kincaid

Insurance broker by day, mystic by night. Currently living in Alberta, with my wife and children. That is, when I’m not traveling the astral plane.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.