Fiction logo

Hospital Stay

Just a simple check-up they said.....

By Laura DvoranPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Hospital Stay
Photo by Claudia Soraya on Unsplash

Just over the last war on earth which happened on May 24, 2028, there was so much chaos around and civility was not present. The war started simply by an explosion from the heavens and for all the scientists know could have been from an unknown planet we have not yet discovered and lasted for 7 days.

So, by all time tables, the day after the earth finally settled was May 31, 2028. The only remaining buildings left were the underground jail which had been in operation for the past 100 years with a small hospital/exam area because the number of residents post war was only 300 people including men, women, children, a few cows, chickens, cats and dogs.

By all accounts, the remaining few were 3 people, all adults, including myself, and 1 dog.

I was feeling strange after affects from the fall-out and walked to the exam room for a simple "check-up". The physician on call was about 86 years old and could barely see and was only 4 ft. 9 " tall, which was a problem since I am almost 6 feet tall, being female as well. The physician determined that I was now becoming "alien like" since my skin took on a bluish hue and my eyes started to bulge. I looked in the mirror with my hands on the wall and screamed and screamed holding onto my heart shaped locket and literally fainted!

I forgot about the power behind this locket and was told long ago to only bring it out when I felt threatened by someone or by my own hand and that circumstances would right themselves and the world would be back to normal once again. But as hard as I tried and wished, the power was gone and I was in fear for my life along with the few of us remaining on what we still called earth.

This time in history could only be explained as a phenomena and the moons never shined so bright again and the sun was gone forever.

Things started to happen quickly after that exam and I can not explain how badly I wanted to believe that it was all a nightmare and none of this ever happened, but it did and I was one of the best specimens, quoting the old physicians last words to me they had ever seen. I still couldn't understand the transformation I was going through and where the others were. Only the physician and myself were around, I heard there were others, but who and where and why were we chosen to live in this post-apocalyptic world??

When I finally awoke, I found myself alone in the now empty exam room and all lights were office and the doors were locked. I scrambled to the door and slipped and fell on a slimy, green substance that looked like slime, could have been algae, but was now covered in it. I pulled the door with all my might and opened it to a nightmare sky which was turning in color to a blue-black with no lights anywhere...

I walked gingerly as best as I could, only to fall over an obstacle which I later determined was a body. I was unable to figure out exactly if this was the physician or the "other" human left to survive. This body was also covered in a slime green like algae, so I knew that my fate was locked and my only chance to survive was to find out who was left with me and the dog.

The air felt stagnant and the temperature felt very cool, maybe in the 50's, but no breeze to make anything worse and no birds or insects that I could hear, let alone see since it was still pitch black and my sense of direction was waning.

I trudged on for what seemed like hours, turned into days, since the time zone has also flipped and my body didn't know how to react and my skin was on fire and my eyes were watering, yet I wasn't thirsty at all. I came across an enclosure which on the outside felt like an Adobe home, but that was strange since they are primarly in the Southwest and not the upper colonies in the eastern hemisphere where I originated once upon a time.

I gathered my courage and felt my way into the structure and heard a low, but persistent growl. I knelt down to crawl near the animal, unsure if it was a dog or another creature, and was welcomed with a sniff and a few licks. I was so relieved, but wondered where the other remaining human could have gone? I carefully felt my way around the home, only to lean into what felt like a body and sure enough, found the other human besides myself.

I called out to the dog and made our way out of the Adobe and we went slowly down the road into what sounded like a tornado like storm coming at us with such great velocity, I had no choice but to dive back into the Adobe and bring the dog with me. Unsure what else to do or how else to handle this, I held onto the dog with all my might and prayed that this would either be the "final" to my story or would this be a brand new beginning, or better yet, "was this only a dream".

Fan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Laura Dvoran

Lover of life, animals and sunsets. Passion for reading and writing and want to do it full time. Have had short stories published, but yearning for more in the thing called Life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.