Fiction logo

Horses Snorting Fire

To Mine the Asteroid Belt

By Mark Stigers Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Horses Snorting Fire
Photo by SpaceX on Unsplash

I got myself strapped into Trigger’s constraints, and I was prepared for the show. I ain’t no bronco rider, but the ride I was going to get was a thriller.

“Okay, Trigger you're up next. You have all certifications. Your way is clear. Launch at any time.”

On the panel, I touched go. There was a count down from five, and it started. The vibration was intense. I was pressed into the hard cushions of the control seat. For the first forty seconds, all you can do is lay back and take it. Then, the initial burn brings you to speed. The secondary burn puts you on track to Glory, the space city in control of all belt cooperative enterprises.

#

What is a Tucson Cowboy doing going to the asteroid belt? I was tired of the bull pucky. You could not turn around in Tucson without stepping on someone’s toes. You could no longer just ride out on the range. It was all owned by someone. In the National Forest, you had to ride the trails. If they caught you off-trail, you could face a $ 200,000 fine and not be allowed in the forest again for five years. Five years! That is what they told me anyway. I did not think I was off-trail. The forest satellite had me twenty miles off-trail. I wanted to be alone for a while. On the trail, you are always bothered by someone. I hate it. I sold out of the cattle ranch I owned and paid the fine.

I was invited to a high stake poker game. Those clowns don’t know a winning hand when they have it. We played until three in the morning. I was doing okay but had not had a good hand hit yet, and it looked like I never would. The next hand was a game that we called Mexican Sweat or five-card stud.

Mike was dealing. For my hole card, I got the Queen of Spades.

Mike said, “Randy gets the Ace of spades. PJ gets an Ace of Hearts, Fred the Seven of Spades, George the Three of Diamonds, and I get the Four of Hearts. Ace of Spades is boss.”

It was my bet, fifty thousand dollars to stay in the game. It was early. They all paid.

Mike said, “Randy gets the Eight of Spades, possible flush. PJ gets the Ace of Diamonds, a Pair of Aces. Fred gets a Five of Spades, possible Straight Flush. George gets the Three of Hearts, Pair of Threes showing, what’s in the hole? I get the Five of Diamonds possible straight. Pair of Aces has the bet.”

PJ said, “Fifty thousand dollars if you want to play.”

We all paid.

George said, “And I will raise you Fifty Thousand Dollars.”

Did George have a three in his hole, or was he bluffing? I put mine in. He was bluffing. There were beads of sweat on his forehead.

Fred said, “let’s see the next round. I am in.”

PJ said, “Okay let’s see the next round, I’m in too, and pass the bottle of whisky.”

I said, “What the hell? I’m in too. I’ll take the bottle after you.”

PJ was the unluckiest guy I knew.

Mike said, “Looks like a fishing expedition to me, and I am having no luck tonight. I’m out. Is the pot square?”

We all nodded.

Mike said, “Good. Randy, you get the Eight of Clubs, dare I say it’s a possible Dead Man’s Hand.”

PJ said, “Dead Man’s Hand, what are you talking about?”

Mike said, “The hand that famous cowboy Wild Bill Hickok had when he was murdered while playing the Game, Black Eights, and Aces with an unknown hole card. PJ gets a deuce of hearts, no help. Where is the Ace of Clubs? In your hole PJ? Fred gets the Six of Spades, but the Eight is in Randy’s hand. Where is your three PJ's in George’s hole? George gets the Jack of diamonds, no help. Pair of Aces gets the bet.”

PJ said, “Hundred Thousand.”

“You sure you have that much? I’m not taking your house,” I said.

PJ said, “I’m fine. Pass the bottle.”

Fred said, “I’m out.”

George said, “I’m in and Hundred Thousand more. Pass the bottle.”

I said, “A lot of bluster for not much showing. I’m in. I’ll take the bottle next.”

“Pot is square,” Mike said, “Here is the heartbreaker. Randy gets PJ’s Ace of Clubs. PJ gets the Eight of Hearts. He is busted. George gets the Queen of hearts. What do they have in the hole? Dead Man’s hand bets.”

“Two Hundred Thousand,” I said.

The ranch had paid nicely.

George said, “Come on, dude, I don’t have that kind of money.”

And I took the pot.

Mike said, “I’m done with it. Let’s pay up and go home.”

PJ said, “I don’t have that much cash, but I have a spaceship, the Trigger. It’s in orbit at the space dock.”

I said, “What would I want with a spaceship?”

PJ said, “I thought I’d get off the planet, but Fae said she kill me. The guy I won it from said it was worth Four Hundred Thousand Dollars. Where are you going to go, Montana? It gets really cold there. Come on, I've got to get something out of it. Get away from them all. Go mine the asteroid belt. What is holding you here? This is perfect for you.”

So, I took it. I played “I’m a Space Cowboy” by the Steve Miller Band when I blasted off.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mark Stigers

One year after my birth sputnik was launched, making me a space child. I did a hitch in the Navy as a electronics tech. I worked for Hughes Aircraft Company for quite a while. I currently live in the Saguaro forest in Tucson Arizona

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.