Fiction logo

Hope

The feeling we make real

By Tyler C DouglasPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
Hope
Photo by Valentin Salja on Unsplash

My eyes shoot open. The ground is pressing against my body. I wearily scour my surroundings. Around me lie bodies. They're all void of life's light. I'm supposed to be one of them. Before me stands the monster who did this, covered from head to toe in my nation's flag. He's proud of his work. He's saved everybody by killing us all. I push myself up with my bloody hands.

"HEY!" I'm shaking as I stand.

He turns to me.

"I'm still here," I say before gesturing around myself, "And no matter what you do, we'll always be here."

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.