Fiction logo

Hood Ornaments

Episode 68

By Majique MiMiPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
1

She gathered all of the information that she could access via computer, then rushed to the criminal division of the courthouse. Of course, it was difficult to find what she wanted. Then when she did find it, it was on microfiche. She scanned the files until she found her small record. She clicked then scrolled down to the bottom of the page where it stated that the charges against her were dropped in lieu of new information regarding the present suspect.

Andre Watts.

Tori just made it to the ladies room in time to throw up in the sink.

After she made the best attempt she could to gather herself, she went back to the monitor. Shaking, she flipped through a few more pages until she found the pre-trial hearing date. Then her stomach wretched again when she found the name of the defense attorney.

Reginald A. Chambers.

This time she didn’t make it to the sink.

Sick with confusion, Tori walked home. This was the first time in a long while that she regretted not having any girlfriends. She was angry that she never knew her mother. She had no one to talk to. Everyone she trusted was hiding things from her.

Except one person.

And up until this point, she avoided him.

Her heart anxiously pounded as she dialed Michael’s number. It wasn’t the love butterflies one would get when calling someone that she cares about; they were more like pangs of fear.

Rejection.

And the fact that she was livid with his father.

Michael, as somewhat expected, picked up on the first ring.

“Hey you I didn’t…”

He was quickly interrupted by Tori, “I know you probably don’t want to talk to me…”

“Who said that I didn’t…?”

“I just need to talk to someone and I don’t know who else to talk to.”

As she continued to walk home, she relayed the story to Michael, who listened quietly for quite some time.

“Babe, I’m sorry. I dunno how to help.”

“My father is in jail less than a few blocks from where I am standing and I want to see him but…”

Michael had a moment of clarity, “You’re not on his list.”

“Exactly.”

“But my father is…”

“Oh hell no, no disrespect Michael, but the last person…”

“I know, but let me finish. My father has an assistant named Ms. Dupas. Call the facility, tell the clerk that you are her and that want to add Victoria Watts to the visitor’s’ list. You should be cleared first thing in the morning.

Tori was stunned silent.

“How…why do you know all this?”

“Why ask why. Just get ready to see your father. And Victoria, you have to take it easy on your family. They were trying to protect you not hurt you.”

“I know.” Her response was barely a whisper.

***

Everything was set by the time she got home. Trudy was cooking; and Sticks and Dell were still lingering in the house. This was going to be the longest night of Tori’s life, but she knew she had to get through it. When she went into the kitchen, she kissed her grandmother on the cheek and asked her if she needed help. Trudy said no. Sticks and Dell were playing cards at the kitchen table, so she sat there.

“What ch’all playin?”

“Poker.” Sticks answered smiling, “You want in?”

“Nah, but after dinner I’d like me and Grandma to whoop y’all in some spades.”

“Girl you dunno nuthin bout no spades.”

Trudy giggled, “You dunno that Rondell Martin. Spades is in the Watts blood.”

“Did she just call my whole gov’ment out?”

Sticks nodded, “Oh yes she did. “The Martin family accepts the challenge. Prepare to be embarrassed.”

Tori was extremely proud of herself. She managed to find a subtle way to waste time and eliminate the hovering over her every breath. “Grandma, I have to go back out tomorrow morning. I still have some research to do okay?”

“No problem, just be careful out there.”

The wager was set. Loser cleans the kitchen. This would give her some much needed time alone to think about what the hell she was going to say to her father. Tori resolved that she was just going to say or ask whatever the hell she wanted to.

It was about time someone did.

Young AdultScriptCONTENT WARNINGSeries
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.