Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Hood Ornaments

Episode 46

By Majique MiMiPublished about a year ago 4 min read

Michael looked down at the top of Tori’s head. “If I didn’t know any better, I would think you were avoiding me.”

Tori was doing a lot of sighing. If she didn’t have so much to do, she would go back to bed, pull the covers over her head and hide until spring.

“Not at all Michael, there just isn’t too much more to say that Ladee hasn’t already told you. I just want to keep my focus because I have a lot on my plate right now. We both do actually.”

“You have to eat.” Michael said as he put his arm around Tori. Let’s say we go back to the dorm, order a pizza, then go back to the studio and get some work done.”

“That’s fine. But I will eat the whole fucking pizza to avoid talking. Eat then work. Okay?” She responded only half kidding.”

Michael half chuckled then kissed the top pf her head again, “Okay deal. I’m just glad you’re okay.”

He has no fuckin clue.

Okay? Really? That’s what ran through her mind, but in order to avoid an argument, she just nodded.

“You’re also treating.”

“I wouldn’t have it any other way.”

I would. As I matter of fact, I wish I could turn back the clock to when school started. I would have done a lot of shit differently.

I miss my grandma.

I need to go home.

***

Dell led Sticks to Ms. Violet’s front door and held the screen door open for him. He felt the sweat drip from his neck down his spine. As they entered, Sticks shuddered as if the sweat trickled down his spine.

“There is something creepy about being inside a place where someone passed away,” Sticks said as he sat down on the floral print couch.

That statement took Dell by surprise, and he gave his uncle a quizzical look.

Sticks held his palm up to the empty loveseat across from him and rolled his eyes, “Don’t look at me like that nephew. You know what I meant.”

Dell shrugged and sat, “I guess.”

Then the toilet flushed upstairs and a myriad of thoughts rushed through Dell’s mind.

Who the fuck is that?

Is this a damn set up?

No, my uncle wouldn’t do me like that.

Then Dell heard the creaking floor upstairs.

Then he heard heavy footsteps coming down the steps. He glanced quickly at Sticks who smirked at him. Dell felt a presence looming behind him, and he turned around swiftly grabbing the presence around its neck. He tried to flip it over his shoulder but the presence wouldn’t budge.

Instead it laughed.

Dell thought the laugh sounded familiar, but it wasn’t until Malik had a pistol pointed in his face that he recognized it.

“Bamma you gonna need to get your strength up before you try to flip me over your back.” Malik said chuckling as he walked to the couch where Sticks was and sat down.

“I ain’t know it was you, Leek. How the fuck you get in here anyway?”

“Ms. Violet used to take care of me when Moms was…So she left a key under the mailbox.”

“Mailbox, flowerpot, it’s a wonder how she never got robbed.” Sticks said off handedly.

“Tony was here though,” Dell interjected. “Guess she felt safe with him.”

“Dunno why. Ain’t like he could actually do anything.”

“Tone isn’t a punk tho Unc. He’s a little G”

Sticks let out hearty laughter and slapped Malik on his knee. Malik hung his head as if he knew what Sticks was about to say next,

“Oh and you would know what a G is. Since you’re not a G. I guess Tone would be the exact opposite of you. Maybe that’s why Tori dug him so much.”

“Keep Tori out of this!” Dell yelled pointing at his uncle.

Everyone was so stunned the room became eerily silent. Until Sticks clapped a single clap that echoed throughout the empty house.

“Good, Nephew! Hold onto that rage. Remember that rage. Remember it is for Tori that you are doing this for. So when you pick up Tone, remember how he betrayed you. Think of his hands all over your woman. How his lips touched hers. How he…”

“Stop it Sticks! Just fuckin stop!”

Again silence.

Then all of a sudden the silence was broken by Dell.

Who gasped.

Because he just realized what his uncle recruited him to do.

And he didn’t want to do it.

But if he didn’t, a lot of futures would be at stake.

“Me? Why me?” Dell asked becoming increasingly sick to his stomach.

“Because I sure as hell can’t do it,” Sticks replied. “And I don’t want Leek to do it. He’s the strongest man I got; I need him. Besides he won’t see it coming from you.”

“Nah Unc. No disrespect, get one of your corner boys to do it. I can’t.”

“You can and you will. Do you think Tone is just gonna get into the car with one of my boys? C’mon Nephew. You smarter than that.”

“I just don’t know how this is supposed to work.”

Malik raised an eyebrow, “It ain’t for you to know. You just do what we say.”

“We? We? When the fuck did y’all become French and shit?”

Even Sticks had to laugh at that question.

“Leek is right Dell. We have it all figured out.”

“But he is coming home to say goodbye to his grandmother. That’s just…”

“Cold?” Sticks asked. “We goin to let him say his proper goodbyes to her, to family, friends. You. Leek.

I, myself, think that’s a very warm gesture for collateral damage.”

Jesus. Collateral damage?

Dell wondered how many times he was considered collateral damage, and the thought scared him to no end. He had to do this. For his safety and Tori’s future. He rationalized that if he was there for her in the past this wouldn’t have been an issue. Although there was nothing rational about rape and murder, it was just one more life was going to be changed.

Forever.

ScriptSeries

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Majique MiMiWritten by Majique MiMi

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.