Fiction logo

Hood Ornaments

Episode 27

By Majique MiMiPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2

After the eating, the dancing, the water ice, the fireworks…

Tori was still trippin that there were fireworks.

After the yards were cleaned up, the food was put away, the left over coolers filled with all kinds of drinks placed on their respective porches, Tori and her crew were lying on lawn chairs inside one of the zippered up canopies in Trudy’s backyard. The breeze was cool but not uncomfortable. Tori could still hear jazz softly playin from down the street. It was soothing like the tinkling of a myriad of backyard wind chimes. Even the guys seemed to enjoy it.

Tori was relaxed.

Peaceful.

For the first time in a long while.

So much so, that she didn’t notice that Sticks had entered the canopy and sat down a chair next to her.

What she did notice however was the song that was playing in the street.

It was Chuck Mangione’s- Feels So Good

Tori sat up but didn’t open her eyes, “Oooooh, I love this.”

Sticks’ chuckle startled her, “You weren’t even thought of when this song came out, girlie. Chu know bout Chuck?

Her eyes popped open to Sticks holding a glass half full of brown liquor with an endearing grin on his face. She cautiously scanned the canopy and discerned that the boys were asleep.

“I know that Uncle Sticks, but I would hear this all the time from my father’s room. I think he may have scratched the record, because it seemed to repeat at certain parts.”

Sticks chuckled again, “Yeah, Dre loved that song. Wore that record out!”

He accidentally spilled a little liquor on the arm of the lawn chair and his knee.

No better time than the present.

“What else did my father love?” She asked to Sticks’ now closed eyelids.

“He would have loved for all of you to get in my kitchen and check if you have enough food for your beach trip tomorrow. He would also have loved it if y’all went to sleep now as it is late as all get out. Sticks…”

Trudy said pushing his shoulder with her elbow, “Come into the kitchen with me and help me put the rest of this stuff away or at least take some of it home to Jasmine. There is way too much food left.

Tori, before y’all come in, fold up these chairs and have the boys take down the canopies to put em back in the basement.

Everyone’s eyes widened, but they immediately did as instructed.

Sticks’ head dropped as he carried his drink and staggered behind Trudy.

He knew he was in for it.

She waited for him to shut the kitchen door then she took him by the hand and drug him into the living room.

“They will hear me if I get too loud, so I am only going to say this once,” She seethed through clenched teeth, “Do not discuss my son with Tori. She is going off to college! The last thing she needs is to take that bullshit with her.”

“Trudy, I…” Sticks tried to interrupt.

“I my ass. I said all I had to say. Finish your drink. Mann is waiting for you outside with all your plates.”

Sticks held out his empty hand to her as if he was wanted to embrace her, but Trudy took his hand in hers and squeezed it.

“It’s okay Samuel. I love you. Like you was my son. But now just ain’t the time. Sticks gulped the rest of his drink down, and like an embarrassed puppy dropped his head, and put the empty glass on the kitchen table on the way out the kitchen door.

Young AdultScriptCONTENT WARNINGSeries
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fantastic!!! ❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.