Fiction logo

Hoo Is At My Door

A Bubbly Child Of Lesson's

By sianna burgos-altmanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I am searching for the owl who hoos in the dimly lit corner of the Golden Goose's great granddad's barn. Hello? Is anyone there?

Footsteps and tones! I hear this bubbly earth child's curiosity penetrate through the door! How may I welcome you in, beloved child?

Oh! You are so kind. I am a stranger, how do you know I mean well?

Don't be so full of yourself child, I am just a mere reflection of what you are. What I see is what you see. Say, how did you know to come knocking at my door in the first place? How did you know that I wasn't the Grumpy Green Goblin?

Fair questions equally distributed to reflect the desire of trust sprinkled with skepticism. The Grumpy Green Goblin is a shapeshifter. The creature that stole the egg.

You are right and grand rising to you! A cheery bubbly child voice sang.

The 7am sunrise tickling the owl's stained glass windows. Beaming soft rainbow rays on an empty stool.

The stool is waiting for you, child. Sit, please. You must be here for a reason.

I am in search of the Golden Goose's missing golden egg. I have been asked by the Blue Pine Forest to seek it and return it.

Ahh. It is answers that you want?

Yes!

Sorry I cannot do that for you. You must seek within to know what answers you desire. You see, child, a hoo of advice for you:

It is quite a hoooooo hoooooo rude to come knocking at a strangers door, who welcomes you with open arms, only to gain something for your benefit. The owl mocks as if just discovered yet another bandit.

Ah I see. I recognize the sensitivity of your enlightenment. You see owl. I did not ask you yet of anything in particular. No direction. No guidance. As you are aware, you have a welcome sign on your front door. Tell me owl, what does that imply? Is there a dash of entitlement and expectancy of your own wisdom? I came for answers. Yes that's true. But how does one ask questions and get to know you, if no answers are involved? And what makes you assume that I want answers from you? We did not exchange this specificity.

Are you playing tricks on me mate? The owl scolds the bubbly child.

You see what I have done here owl, is ask you to reflect on your perceived reality. Why must you automatically assume, with clear indication of judgement of course, that I am here to take advantage of you?

Ah I see. The owl replies quietly.

I came here to get to know you, owl. Hey by the way, is owl really the only name you have got? What else can I call you? You do not seem as generic and bland as just any ordinary owl.

My birth name is Cleo but most animal folks around here cannot seem to grasp that I have a given name. I reckon they forget what they are, too.

And what exactly is that? The bubbly child's face lit in pastel rose.

We are cosmic consciousness. A divine intelligence capable of creating whatever we are to be. Whatever we desire. That is our birth right. My mother, may she rest so peacefully, understood that. A name other than owl, gives me a sense of identity to play with. I feel encouraged enough to know that there is much more charisma and personality within this spirit of mine than I give credit.

Let me ask, said the bubbly child

Do you ever wish to dress up in sparkles and sprinkles? Do you ever wish to wear lipstick while you dance in a rainforest? What is your favorite costume when Halloween comes? And would you only wear a costume if the date is appropriate? When you hear your name called, what colors does it remind you of? How warm or cold do you like your baths? And what sounds do you like to hear when you are the most insulted?

Cleo shyly backed into their chair. The seat was cold. Cleo noticed that and without hesitation began to cry as it reminded them of their coldness.

Oh bubbly child, the owl hoo'd as it took a sip of its own tear and tea.

The bubbly child realizing the owl's emotional state. She took a deep breath and asked the owl to join her too.

What do you have to say about this, the owl insisted for more insight.

Perhaps Cleo, that all this time you have attained wisdom for any seeker to seek. You have expected yourself to only give answers like "go within". That is confusing to the ordinary beast. To go within seems like a representation of death. And that is scary to most. So I ask, is this a projection because you have not done so much of it yourself? Do you shut people out with assumption of their intention before they get a chance to get to know you?

The owl in genuine and sincere contemplation.

Dear bubbly child, may you walk the path of no remorse within your enlightening words. Perhaps you are right. The mirror missing from my barn, who would have guessed it would be a child only to stumble along.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.