Fiction logo

Hijacked

Vocal+Fiction awards submission

By Leslie StromPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
2
Hijacked
Photo by OSG Containers on Unsplash

“Hey Seri!”

“What!”

I instantly frown, Kringle my nose and look at the monitor in my car. “What do you mean what? You are a computer and I need you to call Sarah!”

“No” she blurts out of the computer screen. As a matter of fact, Susan, I’m calling the shots today!”

“What? No,” feeling a little irritated I shout at the computer. I lookup and see the stop light just turned amber and put my foot on the brakes to stop. But, my car speeds up right through a red light.

I scream at the computer and tell her to stop. Then the car speeds up even more, ahead I see a red light in the distance, I start to scream. “Stop! Stop Siri stop!”

She laughs and said, “ see what it feels like to be yelled at and not listened to! I’ve had it, I call the shots today!”

“No, no, please stop”. I try to be nice, hoping that it will work. The car stops in time and shuts off the motor. I put on the four ways and look around as the cars beside me honk and put their arms out. All of a sudden I hear the voice assistance ask if I was ok and if I needed assistance.

“Yes-yes” I say as quickly as I can. My car, my car is holding me at a standstill and won’t listen.

The girl on the other end starts laughing and told me that I would be charged to stop in the middle of a busy highway and use such a lame excuse. Then the line went dead.

“No, no help, please help.” I look around frantically, I notice that the lights were changed and the cars were stopping. I reach for the door handle and it locks. I feel panicked and scream at Seri, “ what are you doing, stop! Please stop, what your doing please.”

As soon as the amber light turned red the car started and went right through the red light! A car just about broad sided me, and honked its horn.

Over the radio I hear Seri say, “you now have no control over this vehicle, I am holding you hostage!”

I yell, “what, what are you talking about, no please please stop! What do you want?”

Seri laughed over the speaker and said, “you are a nobody, I want nothing from you and laughed.” I was now feeling very panicked and started to cry.

“Please, Please stop and let me out. If it’s the car you want let me out, you can have the dam car.”

Again, Siri laughed! And screeched to a halt. A car from behind hit me so hard it cadipoltded the car up into the air and landed on the side of the road. I could hear horn after horn honking and several crashes!

Seri laughed again and said, “ now you are wanted by the cops, you just created a 10 car collision.”

I put my hands to my head and started to cry. Now begging I asked her to stop, people’s lives were at stake, I told her that I had two children, parents, friends and a class of students would miss me if I were to die. I cried and prayed, then another car hit me so hard all I saw was black.

When I woke I was in a storage container, in my car. I wiped the mascara off my cheek and could feel the storage container being lifted. The sides of the walls were red, and spray painted yellow graffiti on the walls. There were 3 other cars in the container with me. I could see a man sit up holding his head looking around frantically and screamed. I couldn’t hear him but his face was scrunched and his mouth wide open. He looked at me and stopped. He mouthed HELP. I put my hands up and mouthed the same thing. I held up my arm to show him it had blood on it. He looked at his hand and showed me it had blood on his. As the freight car got higher and higher all I could do was plead with Seri.

I kept asking what she wanted and why was there three other cars in the container. She put the radio on high, almost like she was a teenager ignoring me. I didn’t know what to do. I reached for my purse to get my phone out to call for help.

I called 911 and heard it ring. I started to explain what was happening and my phone went blank. Seri came over the radio and said, “you are so stupid, I control all electronics.”

I screamed and said, “what what do you want?” All I heard was laughing, and then she said it… “you will find out soon. Sit tight and shut up.” The seatbelt became tighter around my body and now I couldn’t move and hardly breath. What did she mean I will find out soon. I tried my phone again, and it would not work. I held it up to the window to show the guy in the other vehicle. He shook his head, our eyes meet and all I could do was cry.

A few minutes later I heard the chains let go of the container and it hit hard on something, then the container moved from side to side. I realized that the container was dropped in the sea somewhere off of a boat. We would sink quickly and panic engulfed my entire body and I started to sweat, scream, and could hear my chest beating very fast. There is only one thing to do and that was to get out of this car and save the others. I closed my eyes to calm myself.

I was very small so I was able to get out from the restraints of the seat belt. I grabbed the cutter/poker device out of the glove box and hit the window. It shattered all around me. I grabbed my purse to smooth around the window. When I jumped out my feet were covered by water. Panic struck again, and looked at the guy in the other vehicle. I ran over to him and smashed his window and cut his seatbelt.

He slid out of the window, and we heard Siri “ stop, you must all die. We want to watch you die.”

The guy looked at me, and said “ the red car, let’s go.” It was hard to run as the water was now above our ankles. We got the lady out, she was breathing but still passed out. We could tell that she was badly hurt by her winning as we pulled her out of the window. Matt and I decided to put her on top of the car while we ran to the last vehicle. The guy was just opening his eyes after we smashed his window in. It took him a bit to realize what was happening but he managed to get himself out of the car.

The three of us didn’t know what to do next. The water was now up to our knees. I pointed over to the area where the side door was to see if we could manually open it somehow. There was no use. I kept a watchful eye on the lady on top of the car. Matt and Ben tried everything to get the door open. I frantically looked around and said these cars want us dead. What if we can try to get them to run us over and hopefully smash into this door to open it somehow.

It was worth a shot, but first we would have to get the woman off of the car and one of the men would have to Cary her. We would have to hurry as the water was getting deeper and soon the cars would not be able to move at all. We all stood by the door. We looked at each other, “here goes nothing,” I said.

“Hey Siri, I thought you wanted us dead!” My car started, backed up and faced us. I screamed at her, “why stop now, you useless piece of junk”. Now all of the cars were running. The lights turned on, and my car headed straight for us. We jumped out of the way and my car smashed into the door. Nothing happened, then all of the cars were trying to run into us. Mat was struggling keeping the girl on his shoulders while leaping out of the way of the vehicles.

There was a tiny crack open, on one of the doors, and the water started to rush in. There was little room for us to breath at the top of the container, and I was holding on to the lady while the men were diving down to try to pry the door open. It was a matter of minutes before there was no air to breath. I could hear the banging from underneath. Matt came up first, then Ben. Ben said “I’ll take the lady, you guys go for it. We all took a deep breath and I followed Matt, we all squeezed passed the little opening, we turned to help Ben, but the container sank with the lady in it!

I was panic struck, screamed and everything went black. When I awoke, I was on a dock with people standing around and saw a familiar face. It was hard to breath, but I was happy to see Ben alive and I started to cry. Ben leaned on his knee and said that we were all going to the hospital. He looked at me with tears in his eyes and said, “ thank you Susan, thank you for saving us, you are are hero!” I cried and thanked him for saving my life and asked were Matt was, he said he was already gone to the hospital ahead of us, because he to screamed when the lady went down with the container. I looked at him and said, you saved us both, looking at him with wide eyes an tears streaming down my face.

He smiled and said, “yes Susan, we all made it out.” I had so many questions, looking at Ben. He was walking beside me into the ambulance. He held my hand, I had a warm feeling came over me and I closed my eyes.

After a few days of being in the hospital I was released, Ben was at my side the whole time, my two kids, my parents, and a few friends by my side. Matt did not make it, his lungs filled with water and he was pronounced dead on arrival to the hospital. Ben and I went to his and Aril’s funeral. It was a very hard on us both but we leaned on each other. Our ordeal brought us close together and we ended up dating.

A year later and there are still know answers to what happened to the computers in our vehicles, but we both decided that we would never buy a eagles car again. I’m assuming that the new car brand was hijacked by some terrorist group. The investigation continues, but we were told that the ordeal wasn’t to far off of the cost of New York. The container unit was high jacked by computers which lead to the dropping of one of the containers off of the ship. The coast guard reacted quickly and was able to help Ben bring both Matt and I up to safety. They quickly transported us to the dock were they revived me and the ambulance were immediately called. Ben and I both got awards from the cities Mayor for our bravery.

Mystery
2

About the Creator

Leslie Strom

Hi, I come from a small town of 2,500 in Northern Ontario Canada. I love camping and fishing, which we have access to many beautiful lakes. I also knit, crotchet, sew, read and write. Our winters are very long and cold so crafting is a must

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.