Fiction logo

hi, i'm don.

A moment in time that has turned into a bigger headache than anticipated by the main character, all thanks to a pear tree.

By shaynaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
hi, i'm don.
Photo by Taylor Friehl on Unsplash

"Hey hey Debbie! Check this out!" I yanked my stick back as far as I could, my brown eyes staring down the open eggshell net and clear snowy plains of the pond. I hit the black puck with a hard thud as it went zipping across the ice like a bat out of hell. Debbie jumped out of the way, landing on her hip as the puck bounced against the net.

"Yes! Score! your winner, CeCe Banks! Ah, ah, the crowd goes wild!" I shouted with a ting of joy in my voice. I glided over to Debbie, who rested her back against the cold ice and faced the sky with a blank stare. I kneeled next to her, "What's the matter Debbie? Mad that my shot got you again?"

"Nah, nah. You won fair and square with that one," Deb's voice a whisper as she turned her head to face me, "I think the ice cracked,"

I laughed, "No way! Ice has cracked since Jimmy John named the lake itself," I giggled as I reached my hand out to her, "Come on, stop joking around-up and adam,"

"No Celeste," Celeste. Oh no! "You need to go and get help, and quickly," Debbie hissed through her teeth. I pulled my hand back and twisted on my heels, tiptoeing toward the edge of the lake. Once I reached the border, I glanced back at Debbie, still like a board on the ever-emerging crack.

"Don't worry Debbie, I'll get help!" I screamed as I turned back around, racing down the hill.

I stopped at the bottom, looking over the roads now covered in icy and rocky snow. Footprints from all angles scattered across the snow like animals running to safety. I glanced at all the prints and identified the ones that were closely associated with Debbie's. Then, I looked up through the path of trees, taking cautious steps toward the edge of the forest froward.

Crossing branches with a kick in my step, I raced under the components until I race into the dying pear tree. I took a deep breath as I look around the open space with wide eyes and my head on a swivel. My eyes scanned the opening again as a bright light entered the area.

I cover my eyes, "Ouch," I winced as I continued my way toward the light. Then, finally, the light turns off, and two guys are standing behind it; wooly coats and floppy ear hats covering their head and then some.

My arm slowly pulled away, and I met eyes with the guy to my left before rolling my eyes over to the guy on the right, "Of all the people,"

"Nice to see you too CeCe, or should we say... Not nice," The guy on the left poked the guy on the right, who pulled away from him.

"Ah come on Mike, that was funny," The guy on the left taunted. Mike shook his head at him, turning his attention back to me.

"Why are you out here by yourself? You know how dangerous it is this time of year?" Mike asked in a low tone. I sighed and waved behind me. The guy to his left groaned as he rested his flashlight against his side.

"Debbie is stuck on the lake,"

"The lake?" They both said at the same time. I nodded my head, "The lake?" They asked again in unison.

"Yes! I was coming back to find help and I got lost, but I found the pear tree," I pointed back at the tree, "And now I'm here in front of you, wasting time because you both are, defs, not helping me," I sighed and moved past them hard. I looked through the trees again, my hands clasped on the top of my head. I have no idea where I'm going.

"Come on Celeste," Mike said as he rested his hand on my shoulder. I glared at his hand, and Mike pulled it away as he turned to meet the guy. I huffed hard as I caught up to the two of them.

We finally made it back to the lake as Debbie remained unmoving, almost still. I raced back over the hill and down toward the lake, "Debbie! Deb! I got help, don't worry, you'll be fine," I screamed as I hit the edge of the lake. I felt a hand yank me back on my feet. I swirled around and glared at the guy.

"Let go of me! I have to make sure she's okay," I yanked my arm away hard, falling back on the ice with a thud. A small crack formed near me as the breaking was heard against the lake. My eyes wandered over toward Debbie, still unmoving on the ice. I started to feel my heart thump against my chest as Mike pulled me back up on my feet. I pulled away from him quickly to see the guy and Debbie in the middle of the lake.

"Debbie! Deb, get up please!" I yelled as I dropped to my knees in defeat. The guy held Deb at his side as he toed his way back over to the edge of the lake. One by one, the space was closing between us as the lake continued to follow behind them. Finally, the guy and Deb jumped the last few inches to land before chunks of ice fell in on themselves.

I crawled my way toward Deb, wrapping my arms around her shoulder tightly as I cried into her. I felt someone slowly sit up against me and pinch my side. I winced back as I met my eyes with Deb, smiling like the sun. I signed in relief as I looked up to meet Mike and the guy.

I swallowed to myself, "I never cared to learn your name... You're always so distance," I huffed, "But thank you for saving my best friend,"

The guy nodded, "No probem, my name's Don. For future reference,"

Adventure
1

About the Creator

shayna

digital marketing expert. content creator. check out my other 'ventures via my milkshake and as always, #keeponwriting!

Website: www.shaynacanty.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    Thrilling story. Great job, Shayna!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.