Fiction logo

Here at the End of All Things

“In every universe and every lifetime, I will find you.”

By Alivia VarvelPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
12
AI image generated with Magic Media

The world could be ending, and you’d still be dancing around this kitchen.

A joke you would tell as I twirled with the dishes lifted above my head to put them back on the shelf or as I tapped my foot and hummed while standing at the stove. And then I would grab your hand and spin you around with me. We would laugh and laugh as we danced in silence.

But you don't say it now.

I never gave much thought to how the world would actually end, but I'm not sure if I could have ever guessed it would be like this. An emergency broadcast over the radio to the ground quaking and us watching the surrounding trees ignite from seemingly nothing minutes later. I look from their flaming skeletons to you, my eyes wide and my breath coming in pants.

What do we do?

You brows are pushed up and together as you watch the world burn. You take a deep breath and finally meet my panicked gaze. You are steady.

Nothing, darling. You step back inside our home, leaving the door open. Come inside with me.

I'm frozen. We can't be trapped here. Seeing our living room go dark as you must have turned the light off shakes me free, and I storm through the door, shutting it behind me. You're methodically turning off lights and then you blow out the candles on the coffee table. You straighten and look at me again.

I open my mouth but nearly jump out of my skin when an incredible crack and crash hits my eardrums as the evergreens yield to the flames. My eyes jerk to the nearest window as if I'd be able to see the source of the noise and then back to you.

Please. What do we do? I don't know what to do.

Five steps and then you are right in front of me holding out your hand.

Dance with me.

Again, I open my mouth but there's nothing I can bring myself to say as the sounds of the end become louder and louder outside. I want to scream at you and shake you and beg you to tell me what to do.

But the more I stare into your eyes, the more I know.

I place my hand into your waiting palm. You lift our joined hands and place your other around my waist. I grasp your shoulder. Our eyes never leave each other's.

You begin to sway us, and for a moment, I want to laugh at the picture we must make. The wooded earth around us is screaming as it crumbles, and here we are, dancing to its cries.

I do end up huffing out a slight laugh, which quickly gives way to tears.

You were right. The world is ending, and I'm dancing.

You smirk. Told you.

My slow and steady tears have almost become sobs. I take my hand out of your and clutch at your chest, trying desperately to feel your heartbeat.

I'm scared.

You cover my hand with yours and intertwine our fingers.

I know. Me too.

I snake my hand from your shoulder to the back of your neck.

Where will we end up? Where will I be? Where will you be?

Your arm around my waist tightens and clutches me closer 'til there's nothing between us.

I don't know.

I can miraculously hear my own sobs over the cacophony of destruction, and I hate it. I shove my face into the crook of your neck so it will muffle them and maybe I won't hear them anymore.

I don't want to lose you.

Your check rests against the top of my head.

You won't.

I can still hear myself weeping.

Please.

Your lips press into my hair.

I will find you.

And as the flames and earthquakes reach us, you never let go of me.

I will find you.

***

Thanks for reading. I have to include the music that inspired me as I wrote this. This song is from the soundtrack of the Netflix series The Haunting of Hill House. Highly recommend the show if you haven't seen it and are a horror fan.

MicrofictionLove
12

About the Creator

Alivia Varvel

time is the most precious commodity

https://www.aliviavarvel.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    I love the way the story conveys the idea that even in the darkest of times, love and connection can bring solace. The characters' dance amid chaos is a powerful metaphor.

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    This made me tear up. Brilliant writing of tragedy. Well done Alivia

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Beautiful tragedy, Alivia. I thoroughly enjoyed reading every word.

  • Nice work, with love😊❤️📝

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Wow! I hope things don’t end! I don’t want to lose anything either!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.