Fiction logo

Her Grifter Eyes

Entry in the Mirco Heist challenge- exactly 200 words

By MikMacMeerkatPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
5
Her Grifter Eyes
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Better men than me had tried and failed.

Honourable men warned me against it.

Her defences, too strong.

A nigh on impossible mission.

But in my eyes, it was the heist of the century.

To steal the heart of Bonnie Parker would make me a rich man for the rest of my days.

My Plans? Simple.

I breached her high stone walls with flowers. Tunnelled under her guard with poetry and prose. Snuck past her mother’s watchful eye with chocolates and lace.

Now, hidden in the soft shadows of her bedroom, all that was left was to pick the lock at her chest. A formidable task, but one that my quick fingers, so deft at buttons and bows, were ready to try.

I was so focused on my goal I didn’t even see her sleight of hand.

A rooky mistake.

When her fingertips pressed to my chest like a gun, it was blindingly obvious.

She was a thief too.

And in one move, one solitary action, she had bested me. A smile bloomed across her face, as her grifter eyes sparkled in the low light.

Just one smile. Between one breath and the next.

She had stolen my heart instead.

Microfiction
5

About the Creator

MikMacMeerkat

I spend so much time daydreaming I figured I should start writing it down.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • shikhasingare11 months ago

    https://vocal.media/families/blossoming-together-a-grandmother-s-guidance-on-the-journey-of-motherhood

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.