Fiction logo

Helping the dead man

By Trinity Schmidt

By Trinity SchmidtPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Helping the dead man
Photo by Eric Chen on Unsplash

When I moved to the small old town, looking for work was nothing less than a challenge. The population consisted of at least 20 people and hundreds of acres of land and forest between them. That was what I wanted though. Peace away from the busy city life, and a new beginning away from the stressors of day-to day.

Upon my search for work, I had seen a newspaper ad, requesting assistance on a pretty large farm that needed a hand grooming, and moving the cattle around for some good money. I didn't have the experience as a farm hand, but at this point, I was desperate for something. Anything. At least until I found something better. So, I called the farm and made an appointment the following week to speak with the owner about his listing in the newspaper.

As time came and gone, I drove to the farm and smiled as I passed a nature walk that was teeming with people and animals. I had always loved nature reserves, and the people showing appreciation for the wildlife out there. It just gave me a gentler sense of humanity.

The farm itself seemed much bigger than I had imagined. Spacious, lots of animals, and a tree-line just passed a lush cornfield and pond. I parked and exited the vehicle making my way to the Rambler as designated by the owner. I knocked and waited for an answer. The door opened a few moments later to show a scruffy older gentleman in a 10 gallon hat, and overalls, more noticeably the deep healing scratch over his nose. "You must be Clint." He said in a thick Texas drawl as he opened the screen door to invite me in.

"Yes sir, It's nice to meet you." I nodded as I moved inside and shook his hand.

"Well, come on in, and make yourself at home. There is plenty to talk about, and lunch is almost ready." He said moving further into the home. I followed behind, glancing at all of the kill trophies he had up on his walls, one was even the large head of a bear! The older man had startled me when he broke the silence between us. "So tell me about yourself Clint, where are you from?"

"I'm from Syracuse, New York. Just moved here about a month ago." I said as I took a seat at his table.

"City boy!...No wonder why you're so skinny. You're a long way from home kid. You gotta' family with you? Or did you come alone?" The man poured a glass of water from a pitcher and handed it to me before he grabbed himself a bottle of beer from the fridge, a rank smell coming from it as he did so. I did my best not to make an expression.

"Uh...I came alone. My family and I don't get along much, and I didn't have many friends, so going somewhere new seemed like a good idea." I took a drink of water, finding it to have a strange taste, and set it off to the side. Never had well water, but I knew it was common in desolate areas like this.

"Well my name is Mr. Acker, and this is the Acker family farm. We've been here for about 50 years. Each of them trophies you were looking at out front were animals that tried to ruin my farm. Everything you see out there, is what I had to work hard for." Mr. Acker said pointing at the door. I glanced from the door back to the older man and he seemed to be smiling.

"You've done a wonderful job sir. Everything looks so pretty." I said taking another drink of the hard water, only now it had a different taste, which struck me as odd. Mr. Acker moved from the table and made his way over to the stove to address the timer that had began to buzz, which reminded me of the god awful laundry mat timers.

While he had done that, I looked at my water and saw particles floating around like something had been dropped inside since the clear liquid had now turned into a cloudy bluish color. I slowly stood from my chair and cleared my throat as panic began to set in. "Sir, I'm sorry, I think I'll need to come back another time, my stomach is upset."

"Nonsense Clint. Sit back down and let me fix you something to eat." Mr. Acker said pulling a bowl from the kitchen cabinet.

As I began to turn to rush for the door, I felt it. Drowsiness and warmth hit me like a freight-train, I felt weak, and dizzy as I turned back to face Mr. Acker. His smile was wicked as he placed a bowl on the table, watching me. I dropped to the floor, and all I remember is Mr. Acker, moving over me, with his crazed smile...then nothing.

By Tracey Hocking on Unsplash

I remember waking at some point. It was dark and I felt the hard ground to the back of my head. My limbs felt lifeless and cold, I could smell blood on my clothes, and I saw fire light in the distance. My eyes were still blurry, however I could make out the shape of the fire, which looked a lot like a car. My car. I felt the panic set in as I tried to move, but again, my limbs felt lifeless and cold. I wasn't going anywhere.

Mr. Acker came into view, tossing something on my chest and I looked up to him, trying my hardest to yell, but nothing would ever come out of my mouth. As a matter of fact, it was beginning to fill with dirt as Mr. Acker began to bury me. Alive.

When my time had come, I had passed away from suffocation. A surreal feeling but strangely I had awoken sitting next to a tree and the raised earth sitting beside me. I stood with complete confusion as I looked to the ground, Rocks placed strategically to make it look like a bonfire pit.

I blinked away the tears that had began to well up in my eyes, and began to walk...and walk...aimlessly until morning...and back to the pit at night. This happened for several seasons...Winter...spring...summer...fall...and winter again. Just like clockwork. Never hungry, and never thirsty for any kind of sustenance. No one would ever look or acknowledge me on the trails...I was nothing sort of tired and invisible to them know.

By Axel Eres on Unsplash

Years would pass and the aimless walking would continue. I had sat down next to a tree and rested there for hours. I wasn't even paying attention to the woman as she walked up to me.

"Supposed to rain today." She said, a gentle smile on her face as she looked to me.

"Beg your pardon?" I asked, looking around, not sure if she could see me or if she was talking to someone else.

"It's supposed to rain. Yes, I can see you. My name is Frankie, I'm a medium." The look on my face must have said it all as I scrambled to my feet.

"Can you help me?" I asked. "I was killed. Please. I know where my body is." I pleaded. Frankie looked at me and blinked before looking back to her friend and offering her hand to the other.

"Chelsea, There's a body somewhere." She said. The friend rolled her eyes as she sauntered over to Frankie.

"You better not be joking with me again." Chelsea groaned. Frankie shook her head and turned to me with a smile, as to tell me to lead the way.

I abruptly turned and rushed into the woods as I did every day since the day I had died, and led this heroic woman to my grave, with the stones around me in the formation of a firepit and Chelsea seemed uncomfortable as Frankie approached my grave, grabbing a near by stick to chip away at the solid soil. I paced the area as she worked away at the dirt, and once she uncovered my boney foot...I felt warmth. I felt the freedom and began to cry hysterically as Frankie moved to Chelsea who was already dialing 9-1-1.

By Meghan Schiereck on Unsplash

It was a surreal moment watching Frankie lead investigators back to my grave site that sat on the edge of Mr. Acker's land. They began to post caution tape around the trees that held my body, and used cadaver dogs to search the area, which turned up more bodies. I wasn't the only one to die by Mr. Acker's hand.

Before my body had completely been uncovered, I moved to Frankie who was still on scene, giving her statement to investigators. "Hang on sir!" She immediately turned to me. "Who did this to you?"

"Mr. Acker! I went to work on his farm and he torched my car and killed me! Tell them! Thank you Frankie! Thank you!" I cried as she told them everything. I finally felt a peace. I finally felt free as they bagged my body for processing.

Because of that woman, my death made national headlines, a serial killer is behind bars because of the DNA found on other bodies, and families can finally get their closure after years of missing persons cases, and heartbreak, hoping their loved ones would soon come come.

By Pinho . on Unsplash

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Trinity Schmidt

28 year old from Michigan, just looking to see my thoughts and ideas out there to make a difference!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.