Fiction logo

Heat of the Moment

A micro bank robbery

By Emma Edwins (R.T. Edwins)Published 11 months ago 1 min read
1

This isn’t how it’s supposed to end. I have so many things I still want to do. I can’t deserve such an unceremonious ending, and yet here I am, clutching my abdomen. The pain is blinding and the blood seeping through my fingers is hot and sticky. I swallow hard, looking over to the right. Laura is kneeling on the floor and staring at me with wide terrified eyes. Her gaze shifts from my face down to my stomach. I guess I’m glad it was me the bank robbers shot and not her. Maybe I can take solace in knowing that my last act in life was taking a bullet for a friend.

I can hear shouting but the sound is distorted, like my ears are filled with water. There is a flurry of motion as one of the masked robbers pulls hard on his compatriot's arm, urging him to escape. The one who shot me stares down at me with horror in his green eyes. He appears to be frozen. I wonder if he woke up today realizing that he was going to end someone’s life. The look in his eyes tells me this wasn’t part of the plan.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Emma Edwins (R.T. Edwins)

Novelist, blogger, poet, and therapist.

Author of the thriller "Dark Offerings," and the "Chariots of Heaven" sci-fi series.

Author of the serial novellas "Scarlet Dreams" and "The Definitely Dead Debbie Downer."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sree Jee11 months ago

    Your story is short and clear.. But large stories will get a huge reach kindly try to write large stories ,, can you please which blogging website you own,, is there any chance for getting backlinks https://needfultips.com/

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.