Fiction logo

Heart shaped locket

So many questions..

By Jessica BarberPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Heart shaped locket
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

When she released the quiver we know it was a good shot, Mom is the best shot on base. As we approached the animal, it got up and ran off. We didn’t’ think we would have to track it that far. The trail led us off our lot. It is kind of an unspoken rule to hunt your own lots. We couldn’t let it go to waste, we knew it was going to die. We found it, cleaned it out and were heading back. It was already dark now, dampness was setting in. It was slow going carrying it and not knowing the area at all made it worse. There was a chill in air and we could hear an owl in the distance. Then out of no where we heard them yelling, telling us to stop. It was a group of 3-4 men from the neighboring lot. We dropped the carcass and started running. I heard two loud bangs. It had to be gunshots but I had only heard that sound once before and it was years ago. We thought they would see the carcass and just be glad they get to eat it, but they kept chasing us. Still holding my hand she slowed down to a walk. I did not realize one of the bullets hit her. She started to stagger, then fell. We had ran for so long. My lungs were burning from the cold air. If I had known I would have stopped sooner to try to fight them, probably why she didn’t’ want me to know. We have never been shot at for hunting off our lot. I didn’t think anyone had guns anymore. She was struggling to try to talk. I tried to calm her ”mom, stop don’t talk, just catch your breath”. I only had the light from the moon to try to look at her wound. “Mom, it’s bad, we need to get you back to base so we can fix this.” She pushed my hands away and touched my face. “ No, you have to go on without me” she said while gasping for a breath as the pain was setting in. We didn’t have much time. They weren’t far behind us now. As she laid there taking her last breaths she told me “the locket I gave you, it’s not just a trinket. Open it, it’ll help you find your father”. I tried to ask “Mom what are you talking about?” but she was gone. Tears running down my face, I wanted to scream and curse the sky. I could hear them getting closer I had to leave her there. I pulled some brush over her body in case I could come back to give my mother a proper burial. I started to head back to base. I had so many questions now. We never really talked much about my dad after he left. She only said that he left to try to makes things better for us. Would he even want me to find him? When she gave me the locket she told me to keep it safe. I thought she didn’t’ want me to lose it while training or hunting. I didn’t realize it was more than just a gift. I remember that day like it was yesterday. It was my 15th birthday and I had just come back from a hunt. Mom and the rest of our tribe were in the dining hall. I brought in the rabbits and gave them to her. “Hey” she scolded, following me into the kitchen “you know better, you kill it you clean it”. She knew I hated skinning them. I made a face as I snatched them back from her. She grabbed a knife to help and smiled as she chased me outside with it. It was a perfect day, I loved hunting alone, it always put me in a good mood. Mom enjoyed the time alone but she was always in a good mood. She was happier than usual. As we started cleaning the rabbits, she started telling me how much I had grown. Until that moment, I thought she had forgotten it was my birthday. We never really made a big deal out them, with little money all we had to trade was what I hunted. She told me silly stories of when I was little. Dad was in a couple, she had a way of including memories of him. She said he would be proud of me. We finished up the rabbits, and were heading inside when she stopped me. She hugged me and wished me a happy birthday then placed the heart shaped locket in my hand. She told me to keep it safe. She seemed so happy to give to me. It was hers as long as I could remember. She got teary eyed as she followed me inside.

Now back at base I have to relive the event explaining to the tribe what had happened. I already planned on going back with the morning light to find my Mom. I needed to put her body to rest properly. I needed to see if anyone else new anything about my dad. If she knew how to find him all this time why haven’t we? Why was the neighboring lot so eager to shoot us?

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Jessica Barber

Just a girl sitting in front of her computer dreaming of a life worth reading about.

I like to write short stuff, poetry, short stories..etc. I'm an engineer but like writing on the side. It seems to come natural to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.