Fiction logo

He wants my soul

She my keeper

By Keia SmithPublished 3 years ago 27 min read
3

 December 1994

Christmas Eve Night

The Fireplace burns with warm, memorized flames kissed upon my cheeks as I sip my hot cocoa with peace. The music blast on the speaker as "Silent Night." plays loudly and soul throughout the night. I know my neighbors are getting tired of the Christmas music. I have been playing since after thanksgiving. I smile while I had my feet propped up as i sway my beautiful brown hair to the beat. My soft pink lips song the words as i kept my chocolate brown eye close as i imagine me dancing with my husband in the snow. The snow fell to the ground and the Christmas light shined bright with colors as they beamed through the night. I rub my belly as my daughter Casey bounce with joy as she gets a taste of the warm hot chocolate I'm feeding to her. Nights like this are why I love to begin a wife, and I love knowing that I will become a Mother any day now. My husband is working a little late as it should be, knowing he has to run several Hotels and Resorts, Plus he's CEO of a Law Firm, so busy for him is nothing. Ashton was well known, but he's also the walking devil, as I will say. He was rude to his clients, and now he hated me because im carrying his daughter and not a son to inherit his business.

As I sip my hot cocoa, enjoy the beautiful Christmas magic. When suddenly, The house went dark, and the music stops. Silents took over the home as I sat on the couch in the living, I felt a cold chill hit my arms and neck, and I knew I had a bad feeling about this. I sat up on the couch and called the "Ashton" name to see if he came into the house. Nothing, not a sound, so I slowly got up off the couch due to my big belly. I began to rub Casey down. I guess she senses my anxiety. "Ashton," I called again, walking towards the kitchen to the fumes breaker. I turn the corner to the kitchen and spotted the fired fumes breaker, and i felt myself panic. Someone was in here, and I'm not alone. I went to the kitchen pantry and grabbed the flashlight, Shining it threw the house as i take a small step towards my bedroom, Hearing the floor creak and the wind that kissed hard on the windows pane. Darkness swallows me to hold as i tried my best to stay quiet. I crept around the corner, shining the light into my bedroom; I saw my phone under my pillow, And I felt relief a little. I slide quietly to the bedroom, checking everything around, just in case no one sneaks behind me. I head to my pillow, pull out my phone, and I began to call my sister-in-law. Hearing the phone ring made my heart pound out my chest; I listened to a sound coming from behind me, so I jumped into panic mode to find no ones there. On the third ring, Nakeya answered the phone.

"Hello," She sounds a little worried. "Lilly, Are you ok?" The phone was static due to the lost signal in the minor snow storm we had.

"Hello, NaKeya. I need your help; I think someone is in the house, and The light is off, and I keep hearing strange noises. Help me, please. I don't want to be alone." I know deep down i was panicking, but I tried not to let her hear the worry in my voice.

"Yes, I'm on the way. Get everything ready, and ill call, my brother, to let him know you're with me." She said loud enough for me to hear, but the phone signal cut us off before I could tell her to hurry. I called her name to serve times, knowing the phone signal was off, "Shit!" i said, scared out my mind, feeling the hair n my neck stands up, knowing something was about to happen. I went to my closet, slid on some jeans, and put on my boots and a sweater. I pick my phone up from my dress, and i began to text Nakeya.

I stopped in my tracks when i heard a man standing behind me, breathing hard, like the one on the phone. I turn around slowly with pure horror on my face. He waves the blade as he smiles at me. I knew he was a white man due to the skin color on his wrists. He tried to hide in all black. The man's face was half-covered as he called out my name. "Lilly, Oh beautiful Lilly." then he walked towards me, " You shine like the moon, so beautiful so bright." when he said those words, i knew who he was. My eyes grew big, and i backed up into the close closet; I called his name out, hoping i wasn't right. "Ashton," i whispered. His smile was so big and sinister he began to walk towards me as i ran out of the room, trying to make it out the front door. A trap wire trips me to the ground, landing on my stomach hard. Something is wrong, i felt super dizzy as i touch my stomach, i smelt blood. i tried to get up as the Ashton stood behind me; he bent down and pulled my hair where my throat was showing; tears fall from my eyes as i knew the actual death was coming from me. I struggle to get away, but i couldn't. He had a strong drip on me. I saw Ashton hold up the blade, and i pray to God that my daughter makes it out alive as he repeatedly stabs me in the stomach. The pain was so bad i couldn't stand it, I tried to fight back, but blood loss made me weak. I feel to the floor on my stomach again; I felt so lost, betrayed, hurt, and confused about why Ashton wanted to hurt us. I was a good wife, i did everything i could to please him. Even though i didn't give him a son, I gave him a daughter. Still, he wasn't happy. I saw blood pile on the floor as he heard his heavy breath just when i thought he would let us die in peace. He grabs my hair one last time, and He puts the blade at my throat, But just before he finished me off, one last tear fell from my eyes; his sister Nakeya opens the door.

"Lilly!! Are you here. I tried calling, and no one answer." when she closed the door, she saw her brother standing over me with the blade to my throat. She had terror in her eyes for what he has done to me. I cried for help one last time before he slides the blade cutting my life away. I put my hand to my throat as i struggle to breathe, but when my body hit the floor, i knew. I was set free.

December 24, 2020

Thirty years ago, I woke up in St. Nickolas Hospital on New Year's Eve. As the Man on Tv started the countdown for the Ball to drop, the electricity in my head kept telling me to wake up. (Ten, Nine, Eight.) First, my fingers will wiggle (seven, six, five.) Then my toes, (Four, three, two..) Next were my eyes as they pride open to get adjusted to the lighting in the room. "One, Happy New Year!" The new reporter screamed on tv; the loudest of the reporter's voice scared me, so i jumped straight up out of bed. With the machines that hooked up to my arm, And the light beaming from the sun outside the window hurts my eyes, so i cover them, Then the machines felt my heartbeat raising that set it off, the beeping sound ring loud so I cover my ears to block out the noises. The young woman, who looks to be in her 20's woke up out of her sleep. She jumped up to turn off the loud beeping sound; she rubs her eyes and walk to the mirror, not noticing i was awake, I tried to use my voice, but no words were coming out. Next thing i know, a woman who looks to be in her 40's looks at me with wide eyes as she screams my name.

"Lilly, your awake!" I remember that day because i haven't had any memories of my best friend, Not even my daughters. For months i have been trying to remember but also getting to know my friends and family again. I do that by helping my daughter with her wedding and going on lunch dates with Nakeya, but since i been awake trying to remember what happened to me that night. I get a glimpse of a man, My stomach, The blade, And Nakeya's face. I don't know how i survive, but i did. And I thank God for getting me this far.

"Mother, which color's for the tables tonight," Casey asked me, My daughter has a beautiful mansion, and her husband seems to be doing ok. I don't know much about him; all i know is that he owns a boat company, and it's very successful.

"Try white love. You don't want to overthrow your colors." I stop at the window and look at the beautiful snow decorating the ground and the trees; it brings back little memories of planning my special day, where I would put up the Christmas tree and drink hot cocoa by the fire—rubbing my belly. At the same time, my baby girl bounces around from sugar and chocolate. Oh, I wish i could have seen her grow up. I caught myself rubbing my belly as I Watching the snowfall from the window; in my heart, i felt a bad feeling coming. My heart sunk as then a massive headache came in the middle of my forehead, i tried not to let it show, but the pain was unbearable.

"You are so right. Mother ill go with your choice," Casey turn around, and she saw me bend over in pain. She came up to me and touched my shoulder. "Are you ok, mother?"

"Yes, love, just need to lay down for a while." Casey nods her head as she ushers me to the guest room where i been staying. I have been living here since i been out of the hospital, Shebeen helping me cope with the outside world. And each day, i get better, and someday's I'm like this. We get to my room, and i lay down on the bed. Casey lay next to me and hold my hand.

"Mother, i know i haven't told you much about Allen but know he's a perfect man and that he's been there for me. I know the snow is being back the dark times, and i know it's hard to tell what's real and not. But I'm here for you, ok." Casey holds my left hand, and she looks me in the eyes. "I Love You, Mom, and their something i want to tell you that i haven't told anyone. I'm pregnant. I just found out. I go to the Doctor to find out how many weeks I'm going to tell everyone tonight." Her saying those words made me smile with joy, but it also brought back memories of thirty years ago. That night I was listening to "Silent Night" as the snowfalls. I got out the bed and slowly walk to the window, His breathing, his voice, Him standing in the dark waiting to hurt me, Me pregnant trying to fight for my life, My throat cut, Me sleeping in the darkness for years.

"What do you remember love," Nakeya walks behind me and stands at the window with me as if she senses my memories.

"Ashton, did he do this to me." i cried and wiped my eyes, turning around to face Nakeya and my daughter. "Ashton took me away from my daughter's. Why?" I wanted answers, and my daughter wipes her eyes. "I wanted to see you grow up, I wanted you so bad, but your father," I turn around, not wanting to upset her any longer on her wedding night.

"Casey, we will talk some more later, but i think this is the best time for you to get dress, Don't worry, love ill take care of your mother. Now go and be sexy tonight in that royal blue lace dress." Nakeya snaps her fingers as she twirls, making me and Casey giggle. Before Casey left, she ran up to me and kissed my cheeks, and she leaned closer to my eye and said.

"Don't be upset, momma, we saved each other, and now we are here with one another. Love fight all evil." Casey walked out of her room and closed the door behind her leaving me with my crazy best friend.

* Rehearsal Dinner*

I look at myself in the mirror, and i saw a 45-year-old woman who slept her life away like sleeping beauty. I was in a royal blue grown with a blue scarf wrapped around me. It had a sweetheart neckline and with pearls to hug my neck. I had my nature black curly puffy hair with a Chinese bang. My almond shape brown eyes hold so much sadness but soon to replace them with happiness. My plump lips had a nude lip color, with a little eyeliner and blush. I looked perfect for my age as i sat there nervous about being in a big crowd. A knock on the door snaps me out of my thought. My beautiful Casey pops her head in the door to see if i was ready.

"Ready, mom," she steps into the room with the same dress as mines, but hers was lace, off the shoulders with trimming on the sleeves. The royal blue matched her mocha colocated skin as she lights up the room. It was beautiful as she wears her hair up in a bun, and a beautiful silver diamond necklace hugs her neck as well. We both wanted to cry when we saw each other. With the years of keeping us apart, we finally know what i feel to be together. But why do i feel like something terrible will happen tonight? "Mom, everyone is here, and so is my Fiance i promise you will love him, and he can't wait to meet you." We walked out the door to see everyone being seated. I smelt his cologne, the smell of old spies, and forset trees. I felt my hands began to sweat as my daughter walks me over to the table. She touches a white chocolate man with brown hair. "Bae, this is my mother, Lilly." When he turned around, i was getting ready to shake his hands, but then i look into those green eyes. The same as Ashton, The reason i know it was him is because he's the only one in the world with green eyes and dark red circles in them. Very rare and unique.

"Hello, Mrs. Brenton. I'm sorry for your loss and for what happened to you. I'm glad you are here for the wedding tomorrow. It's a pleasure to meet you. Can I call you mom," Allen said extended he had his hand out for me to shake it. Before I did, I look back up to his face and saw his sinister smile? Allen freaked me out when he said those words, " You Shine Like The Moon So Beautiful So Bright" i felt my skin crawl and my heart drop. I felt my breath stop in my throat as I knew who he indeed was. He was no Allen; he was Ashton. Seeing his face, i backed up from him and ran right into Casey. She turns around and saw the look on my face.

"What's wrong, Momma," Casey said as she looks at Allen, who put on an excellent confused acting face.

"Sweetie, something is wrong. He's not who you think he is." She was shaking her head and looking at me like she was not trusting my word.

"Mother, don't! He's nothing like father i do know him and love him. He's the best thing that happens to me, And I'm marrying him, but every man that tries to talk to you is not father," Ok, let say i had a rough four months of trying to find Ashton before he kills me again. I always know he will find me one day, but it doesn't know why to try to kill me, Us.

"No, Casey, His eyes are the same as your father. No one has those eyes." A few seconds later, the lights went off, and a scream came from the dining room. Casey and i ran back into the room. The lights came back on, And a guy was telling everyone to get around. On the floor, Nakeya gasped for air, covered in her blood. I felt my life die again when i saw my best friend on that cold floor with a knife in her chest. "Nakeya!!! Noo!!" I cried as i slide to her, not caring if my dress was cover with blood.

"Mother," Casey cried, and i look back at her.

"Oh, Casey, sweetheart, You should listen to your mother," Allen said with blood on his hands. Everyone broke out in silents and began to run out of the house.

"Someone call 911," I shouted. But everyone kept running and stepping over us.

"No need, she's just about dead anyway," he said, walking towards us. "my my my, how good it is to see you again, my sweet Lilly" Casey ran to Nakeya as she tried to explain, but blood was coming out of her mouth. "Allen" gasp "is" gasp "Ashton," and then she slowly the floor as she took last breath. I couldn't move, i saw my best friend die in front of me. The man that took care of Casey and me was named Doctor Smith. He stood up, covered an inexpensive blood suit ruined that has my best friend's blood. He looked confused as to what was going on.

"Someone please explain!" He yelled. Doctor Smith was in love with Nakeya. They have been dating for five years, tonight; he was going to pop the question. So you can see why he's so broken.

"He's My Ex-husband coming back from the dead to do his job," I said, As Casey cried on Nakeya dead body. "Third years ago, He tried to kill Casey and me while i was pregnant with her. He's here to finish what he started." I said as i stood there as i rub the pearls that block the blade scar.

"Correction, My Moon, I'm your demon husband who's here to kill you. You see, the reason for marrying you was to kill you and take that bright soul of yours. Theirs no one like you, But you mess things up when you got pregnant. Your light started to dim. Whereas you thought I didn't want her because she was a girl." He laughed and looked at me then to Casey as she stared at him with hatred. "Oh, No love, i wanted to kill her because she had a soul like yours. I need it to stop a curse, and Sweetie, you been my main focus ever since." He steps close to me, slowly walking as he was hunting his prey. "Your soul and our daughter's soul were the only reason I'm still here on earth as we speak. I killed my last body, and I jumped into his. You remember my eyes, huh, Yeah? They stay with me. These are the curse marks that make me human. You see Lilly, Your soul, and Casey soul as the purest, and to know that Casey child is growing means he has the purest soul as well." He walks by Casey and picks her up by her arm as she tries to fight him off knowingly; he's more emphatic as he took a stand and never steps out of place as she fights. He pulls her in a hug and kisses her in front of me. She slaps him and pushes him away, and stubble back a little. She wiped her mouth off and ran next to me as the Doctor Smith looks at Allen with hatred. "Oh, Doctor Smith, I forgot you were here. What should i do with you." Allen green and red eyes glow as he looked into Doctor Smith eye's, but it looked as if Allen stare wasn't phasing him. Allen claps his hands with joy. "Oh my, Well, this is a surprise. You block my stare how no one can even if they look past m,e. I command you to kill yourself but yet here you are standing." He laughed, so are as Casey and I tried to look for a way out.

"I'm a Christian Man, you see, evil doesn't scare me. I'm a man of God, and you shall bow to my demon." Doctor Smith said out loud, and Allen dropped to the floor. "Go, Lilly, I got this. Take care of your Daughter ill will die with this creature as i watch him go back to hell." Doctor Smith took out across and grabbed Allen's blond hair; he pulled him his head back and stuck across to it as he spoke bible verses.

"Mom, let's get out of here!" Casey said as she kicked off her heels and started running. I did the same and right after her, but no matter what door we went to, they were all close shut. We kept trying to break the door down, but no matter what, they won't move. Ten seconds later, we heard a loud "boom!" We stop hitting the door as he as we heard whistling coming from behind us.

"Mom, he's coming," Casey whisper out of fear. I saw a room door open next to us. I pull Casey in the room with me as we hide in the closet, not making a sound. I close my eyes and picture, putting a mask over us to hide our scent. Just hoping it would work, We saw his shadow at the bottom of the door ad i hold me and Casey mouth to try and keep us quiet. He stops at the closet, opens the door, and looks for us but couldn't see us. I removed my right hand from my mouth as quietly as i can, trying to breathe. He cock his head to the side as if he was confused. He closes the door, and then his footsteps pick up as if he was leaving the room. We heard the door shut i begin to breathe again. I look at Casey, and she looks at me.

"Mom, He didn't see us. How was that possible," Casey asked.

"I had a theory I want to try it. Indeed, Allen can't see us because of his blind. Once he' in demon form, his eye goes blank, but his hearing heightened, so we must whisper and try to be quiet. We need to find a way out." I said, then we heard his footsteps again.

"Where are you, my Moon that shines so bright," he laughed a low evil laugh as he got closer and closer. I got out of the closet quietly as i made my way to the room door. I open it to see where he was, and he was near the open front door. I felt relieved when i saw the door, so i close the room door and call for Casey. She came from the bathroom, peek her head out the door.

"Ma'am," she whispered. I wave her to come next to me, and she did.

"Ok, the front door is open, and he went into the dining room. We need to get you out first, and then I'm going to see if Smith is ok." I whispered to her

"No momma, he's dangerous," Casey said

"I can't leave him. I won't," I told Casey, and Casey nod, and we creeped out the room, slowly putting our backs against the wall with no lights and pure darkness in your face. We had to do something to make sure he won't get us. Hand and hand, we creep on the wall checking every corner we passed, one step closer to freedom. We almost made it to the front door when Casey stop in her tracks. I turn around to see what was wrong when i saw Allen grab Casey by the back of her neck and pulling her back to him. Licking and Screaming were trying to get away from him.

"Casey!" I yelled, "You let her go now." I was getting pissed. He will not tear my family up. I ran to him and touched him with my cross; he let out a loud growl and grab me by my neck as well. He threw Casey against the wall knocking her out.

"Mommy dearest, you are first. I can smell your soul. The way it calls me ill be immortal, powerful, and take over the earth where ill rule and collect soul as much as i like." He lifts me high in the air as i struggle to breathe, kicking my feet, hoping it will hit him as i continue to lose breath. "I will miss you. There were times where i loved you. then that beautiful soul of yours reminds me of what i truly want." He pulls me close to sniff my hair, and Then he tightens his grip on my neck. He smelt the fear come off me. My eyes were rolling back as my body was getting limp.

"Let her go!" Doctor Smith came out of the dining room. He was limping with blood covering him. He's wounded, you can tell, and his chocolate face was pale.

"I thought you were dead," Allen said as he threw my body against the wall. I hit it hard as i couch and try to suck in as much air i could. I wanted to pull myself up, but my body couldn't handle it.

"Well, just to let you know, the cops are 5 mins away, and you're a demon, so let get this out of the way. You will fall, Demon, And trust i know your full name Cane." Allen took a step back as if he was confused as to how he knew the name.

"You will not kill me this time, brother, " Allen, whose actual name is Cane, Step close to Doctor Smith and look him in the eyes. "You are him, huh, Micheal." Cane smiled evilly and look at me. "You're Lilly's white-lighter, huh? Oh well, this is rich, Lilly; he's the reason why you lived third years ago. He's the reason my ritual to be immortal didn't work. You messed my plans up." The Doctor who i just learn is Micheal Smith, A white lighter. A protector... What has my life come to? I stood up with the fall's help seeing my dress torn, and Casey was still out. I walked to her limping but still holding to the wall. I slide down to check her palus, and she was still alive. I was just sleeping.

"Listen to me, Lilly, your mouth is who cursed you to this demon was tricked into falling in love with him, and he rapes her, which she ends up pregnant with you. She tried to keep you safe, but when Cane found your light, That when God sent me here to protect you." He fell on one knee i can feel he has a lack of power. I walked over to him, and i touch his hand,

"Why did you keep it from me," I asked, crying my eyes out. "What am i?" I said above a whisper.

"You're an angel-like your mother, So is Casey and the baby she carries. You three have royal blood on your veins. I was supposed to get you before he did thirty years ago, but i was too late. When i got there, Nakeya was crying her eyes out, and you were almost dead. I healed you. When i saw Your husband's body, i knew who was inside of him. He did what your father did, But your demon side rejected from your body Your angel side won't allow it. Your mother was the Goddess of the angels and ruled them peacefully, You're next to the crown, and he wanted it. That the only way he can be immortal, Taking your soul and the crown." Our hands glow as i healed him. I didn't realize until i saw him stand up, and his eyes light golden. Casey moans as t her waking up. She rubs her head and looked around her.

"Mom!" she called, and Micheal waves his hand. Magic flows through his fingers as a bubble surrounds Casey, and she drifted off to sleep.

"She has to be safe; the bubble is tough and can't penetrate, so don't worry." he looked at Cane, who was patiently waiting for the fight. "What i need you to do is hold my hand and never let go, ok." I nodded and looked at him in the eyes.

"Are we ready to get this over with?" Cane said, twisting his blade.

"Yes, brother, let's." Micheal lifts his left hand and holds on to my hand with his right. But before Cane could strike, his body was turning to fire. The fire raises him, and he tries to fight his way out of it, but it was too strong to break out. Next was water it surrounds him then It started to attack him from the inside as he chokes on it, the air was next i felt his lungs break from the inside, which made me fall to my knees. Micheal looks at me with a knowing face bu kept going. It felt linked to him, I felt everything that was happening, and i couldn't take it. Next was the spirit. Cane's shadow begins to separate from Allen's body. His body feels out of the bubble where's Cane's shadow stays. Micheal tightens his hand in a fist as his darkness was closed in forever. Ball shirks and feels to the floor shattering the Ball. The links are broken, and my body fell to the floor. I knew it was over, and i felt free. My eyes were closing, but before i could sleep, Micheal bends down next to me. "You have a second; just in life; take this as a life lesson; keep your light shinning. It's time for you to live. I will take you back to the beginning but this time no death, Just live your life and take care of your future." He closes my eyes and said a spell, and then i drifted off to sleep.

December 24, 1994

Music was playing "Silent Night", as I felt the warm fire from the fireplace touch my skin. With my eyes close i wonder where am i and is it ok to open my eyes at this point. "Honey, are you awake?" I heard a male voice, but i didn't know who. "Honey, wake up. The baby is just moving in your stomach." he rubs my belly to calm her down. "It's ok, Casey i brought Mcdonalds so mommy could feed you." When he said that i woke up, I look into his green eye, Blonde hair, and white chocolate skin. I touched his face to see if it was him, and he looked at me, confused.

"You're alive," My young voice ring. I looked at my hands to see i was back in my twenty's. "Ashton, What's going you were.." I stop and touch my head, i felt as if the world was spinning.

"Honey, What's wrong? Did you have a bad dream," I looked at the living room and the kitchen, sitting on the couch i was on before i died. What is going on? Then his voice rings in my ear. "Here's your second chance live it." I smile at his words. He brought me back, and i had a tear roll down my face. I knew it was real i could feel it. I touched my neck with the scar.

"It was a bad dream love, It was nothing." He pulls out my burger as we sat by the fire and watched the snowfall. Casey was bouncing with joy as my water broke.

"Ashton, It's the time!" We rush trying to get things together as i sat on the couch. Watching him freak out made me laugh as i thank God for the second chance at life. I'm Lilly Brenton, and this is my story. I'm an Angel, A wife, a Mother, Now a believer. Keep living and Keep Moving forward; fight for what you want; you only live once.

Horror
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.