Fiction logo

heARTless

Introduction into a heARTbreak

By Anton KutselykPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5

hello. welcome to HRT. i’m gabriel. your cupID for today. can i scan your heART. please?

Hello. Well. That’s actually the reason I’m here. My heART is broken.

broken? you said that your heART is broken, is that correct?

Yes, that’s exactly what I said.

i don’t think I quite understand. i never had a customer with a broken heART before. how did it happen?

How did it happen? Pff...It's so bizarre. I’m still trying to piece all the pieces in my mind. I was running in the woods. I live out of town. I go for a run every day when I can. Yes, I know. Very old-school. Running. Just use heARTracer and, voila, you get the very same effect. Anyway. Being out there in nature makes my anxiety go down for a small but necessary amount of time. Yes. I was running. I heard a sound. Like a high-pitched sound coming from nowhere. There was also a very bright light. It's like I vanished in extraterrestrial foam. I felt a sharp pain, right here, where the heART locket is implanted. I fell on my knees. For a moment I was unconscious. Then I opened my eyes and saw the heART cut in two halves. You see, I have a scar here. I knew something horrible happened. I was terrified. I didn’t know what to do. I never thought that a heART can… break? But I also felt funny. I mean. Who am I now? A girl with a broken-heART? I just can’t help but find it ironic.

have you reported this issue to our suppport team in the HRT app?

No. How could I? I'm blocked from all the systems. I can't even get home.

can i get your name.

Maria.

maria, you can tell me the truth. whatever happened – we can help you.

What? The truth? Do you think I’m lying? I told you exactly what happened. That’s what happened.

i’m afraid that’s not possible. heARTs can’t just break from a high-pitched sound. please tell me what have you done.

I TOLD YOU. I WAS OFF FOR A SEC AND THEN I SAW IT. BROKEN. IN HALF. I DON’T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED WHILE I WASN’T CONSCIOUS.

maria. there’s no need to raise your voice. i’m here to help you. do you have your heART locket on you? can i see it?

Excuse me? I’ve already shown you the implant and the scar.

i need to see it one more time to register the complaint.

You just want to see my boobs one more time. Filthy robot. Here. Enjoy.

i see. it’s definitely broken. please wait a moment. i need to contact our heART surgery department. you can seat over there.

What’s going to happen? Is there a procedure? Can I get a new heART? I mean you know I can’t do anything or go anywhere without it. HRT — it turns out — is literally the only place you can get in without it.

maria. don’t worry. we’ll take care of you and your heART

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WHAT ARE YOU DOING? NO. TAKE YOUR HANDS OFF. I DIDN’T DO ANYTHING BAD. I DON’T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED WITH MY HEART. WHERE ARE YOU TAKING ME. STOP. HELP. PLEASE. MY HUSBAND. MY CHILDREN. THEY’RE WAITING FOR ME. PLEASE

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hello. maria.

Hello Maria? Where am I? What the fuck? Is your OS glitching or something? I don’t understand. Why did you take me here? Am I a prisoner now? Can I speak with a real person? It must be a mistake. I didn’t do anything criminal. I’m a mom. I’m a law-abiding citizen. I’m pro-singularity, for god's sake. I voted for ahlAI. Just call my husband. He’ll tell you. I’m good.

this is a standard procedure for anyone who had their heART broken, lost or stolen. can you please tell me what happened with your heART.

I told everything to that stupid machine at the reception. I went for a run. Heard a sound. Fell. Boom. My heART is broken. What else can I say?

i see. maria. we don’t know why you had to break your heART. anyway. it was a huge mistake. it doesn’t really matter now. we can’t release you with a broken heART. we can’t give you a new heART. there’s no such thing as a new heART. it’s given you once when you’re born and taken away once you die. since yours is broken. you’re effectively a dead person now. we’ll have to remove you from here. i’m sorry.

OUCH!

you’ll fall asleep now. We’ll remove the broken heART locket out of your body. we’ll also remove all your data from the HRT system. no one will remember you. no one will notice your removal. you’ll wake up in a new world. far removed from here. now sleep.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

God. My head. Who are you? Where Am I?

Hello, Maria. Happy Birthday. You probably feel overwhelmed. And confused. I wish I could tell you that it gets easier from here but it doesn’t. If anything, it gets even more frustrating.

Happy Birthday? Is that a joke?

Maria, I’m sorry for what happened to you. From the bottom of my heart.

Anyway.

Welcome to heARTless — your new home. My name is Jesus. I’m a heARTless mayor and your guide into heARTless life for the next couple of weeks. Tomorrow is an important day. You’ll be baptized and introduced to other members of the commune.

Okay. I don't... I can't...What? Jesus? Like Jesus Fucking Christ? Am I on drugs? Yes. It's a retreat. I had ayahuasca. It's a fucking bad trip. Okay. Okay. Okay. I learnt the lesson. Release me. I will be even more mindful henceforth. I want to see my children.

Do your heart good – don’t overthink this. The sooner you accept this new reality; the sooner you’ll be able to adapt to your new life here. The good thing about losing your heART is that there’s nothing else to lose afterwards. No one can take your faith away. You’re free. But for now, you need to sleep.

Okay. I’m leaving.

Rest in peace.

Sci Fi
5

About the Creator

Anton Kutselyk

Follow me on Medium: https://medium.com/@antonkutselyk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.