Fiction logo

Haven’s Peak Anthologies: Left Behind

Story four of six

By Dee Jay KayPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I was once surrounded by so many others. They say we were trapped but I didn’t feel trapped, in fact for once in my life I felt connected to everyone else. I remember a time when I was on my own, a time where all that I was depended on what others thought of me. I was trapped then, waiting for someone to free me and take me with them. Then, one day, I woke up here. I must have been freed in my sleep as now I had a family, friends and a place where I belonged. Although, not everyone believed that this was freedom like me. In fact many believed we were stuck here forever. I didn’t believe them though. There was so many interesting people in our little town. There was the drunk who I got told to never talk to, the mayor who ran for every election even when it wasn’t election time and then there was my best friend. He was so cool. He always wore shades and said that life was a rollercoaster. I had never been on a rollercoaster but I always imagine he meant it was so much fun. We lived happily here.

Then one day, people started to disappear. They went missing. Only I seemed to notice at first, until eventually word spread and people chanted about the second chance we could all have. I went along to some of the meetings and honestly I didn’t understand it. I mean some where muttering about revenge and others just was happy to rebuild. I was happy here, why weren’t they?

This was a long time ago though. Once again I am lonely. There is no one else left. No family to look after me. No drunk singing, no mayor running and no best friend in the shades. They all somehow disappeared. That’s when I realised what the second chance was. I saw it one day. The being from the other side. I realised that they had been taken and that I was the left behind. I was always a good hider I guess and I could tell when I needed to stay in the shadows or pop out, but each night I found myself staring in the big mirror and seeing the being as my reflection. It wasn’t quite me though. It didn’t copy me, nor did it look exactly like me, but it was close enough. It scared me so much.

Every night, for a long time, I tried to ignore the being. Yet I found myself watching it from the corner of my eye. The thing was, I never saw it touching the reflection, or coming closer to me. “WHAT DO YOU WANT?!” I’d scream but it never replied to me. It only ever returned at night as well. I couldn’t understand why. However, tonight is the night that I’ve had enough. I don’t want to be lonely anymore and I need to be brave and face my fears. If the thing is going to take me, I’ll show willing. I will give up to be with everyone else again.

I waited what felt like hours for the night to come and as always there it was. The being watching through the mirror. I know I waited to long, I was scared wouldn’t you be? There was a being who had watched me for a long time. Who I couldn’t help but watch back. A thing who was nasty and had already took everyone else. I was ready to go with it. I was ready. Yet I couldn’t move. I just stayed a safe distance away and I watched it like always. It watched me back. It seemed curious but didn’t move. Then I was out of time. The sun was about to rise and I knew if I didn’t do it now, then I’d always be lonely. The light lit up the mirror and the being started to move. “No, I’m ready. Take me with you,” I shouted as I reached up and touched the mirror.

The next thing I noticed, I was shaken awake on a beach. I couldn’t really make out what anyone was saying but they helped me up. I had done it. I had been taken. I had received a second chance. As I was walked away, I turned back and saw the ocean. Then I saw it. The reflection hoovering over the waves. It seemed tired, it seemed quiet and as I blinked I watched as it went through the mirror and faded into my old land of the sea.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Dee Jay Kay

Hello there people, I am an amateur in writing, interesting in getting my work out there, and for people to read it. Let me know what you think. Dee Jay Kay x

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.