Fiction logo

haunting at the grove hotel

TRUE SCARY GHOST STORY, THAT WILL GIVE YOU CHILLS

By Dwayne nembhardPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
There was a haunting at the Grove Hotel in Benton Harbor, Michigan and my family stayed there. Read all about our experience, true story, real ghost stories, scary things that go bump in the night. This is totally real.

For the past hour, I'd been behind the wheel, and I was starting to feel tired. My hometown was still three hours away, and I was beginning to doubt whether or not I would make it without falling asleep behind the wheel.

I checked the time on my dashboard, and it was 2:30 in the morning. I decided to call it a night at the next hotel I came across and head home the next day.

My eyes were drawn to what appeared to be an enormous hotel in the next exit.

Over an old bridge, I found myself in the parking lot of this surprisingly well-kept establishment as I surveyed the area around me. a four-story hotel that was well-kept

Upon first glance, the hotel appeared to be constructed in the early 1900s.

I figured it would be fun to tell my friends that I had spent the night in a spooky old hotel when I got back home in the morning.

The hotel's Victorian-style decor stunned me as soon as I stepped foot inside.

There was a grand ballroom-like feel to the entrance. A warm amber glow illuminated the ground floor thanks to the chandeliers hanging from the ceiling.

A $225-a-night room at the hotel's front desk shocked me to the core. For the price, this wasn't your average motel. Upon further investigation, it emerged that the hotel was in fact a well-known landmark. Due to the fact I had already arrived, I simply paid for my room and accepted the risk. To be on the safe side, I opted to take the stairwell instead of the elevator because the elevators were so small and dated.

My room was at the other end of the hallway when I reached the top of the grand stairwell. oh

I was surprised at how nice my room was and how nostalgic it felt, despite the musky feel of the place, which reminded me of a library..

I decided to call it a night after a long day and headed to bed.

I was awakened by thunder and rain splattering on the windows, which was followed by flashes of lightning, at some point during the night.

As another flash of lightning illuminated a figure at the foot of my bed, I rolled over and screamed. It appeared and then vanished just as quickly.

Bewildered, I sat up in bed for a moment to collect my thoughts before dragging myself out of bed to look into it.

Because of my overactive imagination, I quickly ruled this out as a hoax. The hotel was beautiful in its own right, but it contained a lot of creepy elements that had somehow found their way into my psyche.

As the thunder grew louder, I went back to sleep without discovering anything unusual.

Again, after a few minutes of sleep, I was awakened by a noise.

This time, it sounded like someone was pounding on the door of the bathroom's large closet.

The knocking had stopped by the time I worked up the nerve to investigate. I stood there, my mind racing with possibilities for what might be lurking behind the ajar door.

Swinging the door open as my pulse quickened, I breathed in the fresh air and exhaled deeply. The closet was completely empty, to my relief. In any case, I'd heard someone banging on the closet door. This was becoming increasingly unnerving.

To ensure that no one had broken in, I went to check the front door before going to sleep. My hands started shaking as soon as I opened it. I peeked my head out and saw a woman in the distance. She had long black hair and was dressed in what appeared to be vintage clothing. At this point, I was beginning to wonder if I was just hallucinating. Her knocking on my door could be a clue. And I had assumed the sound was coming from the closet, which was a mistake. She could have just been looking for her room. Before I went to sleep, I closed the door and made sure I was safe. I couldn't sleep because I kept getting the creepy feeling that someone was watching me. The closet door was a good place to focus my attention. That, to my surprise, was still a little ajar.

At this point, my neck began to feel as if it were being caressed.

As the closet door began to creak open, I kept an eye on it.

The fear and trepidation gripped me. As the heat rising up the back of my neck increased, the door swung open completely. I swung around. In bed with a half-dead woman, I was horrified. As soon as I woke up, I jumped out of bed and ran downstairs. Moving as quickly as I could down the stairs.

At the front desk, I alerted the employee that someone had entered my room and asked if they could stay. That's when I told her her four-year-old daughter was going to be sad. I was given the wrong set of keys by accident. After numerous reports of a spooky woman stalking the room's occupants, the hotel had restricted access to the room for years. I was told that a woman had died there in the early. Since then, it's been a source of anxiety for me. As I was refusing to return to the room, I asked the employee to retrieve my belongings. It would be the last time I stayed at the Grove Hotel after being moved to a new room on the first floor.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.