Fiction logo

Hard choices part 3

Steven Universe Fanfiction

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Still from show (Cartoon Network)

Greg went up to the house and was excited and happy to see his only son, as he knew from a letter from Steven he would be home today.

“Greg! Hey!” Amethyst said.

He saw her outside and waved, going into the house and greeting and relaxing with Garnet and Pearl.

Unlike the Gem party trio, Greg had more of a hint as to who might be joining his son as he reached Beach City.

Garnet asked if Steven had said anything to him, and he tensed up.

Pearl gave Garnet a knowing look.

“Uh… well, I don’t know. Steven really didn’t give me specifics,” Greg started. “He mentioned someone he met. That he liked. That’s it. Well, and he wants us to meet them.”

“Oh, Man! It’s a girlfriend!” Amethyst yelled, even though she was next to everyone. Greg flinched a bit at the outburst, Pearl rolled her eyes and sighed. Garnet said nothing.

Greg shrugged. “I’m not sure.”

“He’s keeping it a secret, until he’s arrived,” Garnet said. “So, prepare for anything. Let’s be very supportive to him. No matter what.”

Pearl nodded. “I agree!”

Greg nodded in affirmation. “Of course!”

“Duh!” Amethyst said.

They all sat down and chatted awhile, all of them so glad they were to see Steven again.

********

That morning, they had an afterglow, and stayed in bed a bit longer.

“Good morning, baby…” Matt whispered, kissing Steven’s neck and face.

“Mmm… mornin’…” Steven replied, kissing him back.

“I just wanted to say… being with you…being with you last night, was the best thing I ever experienced.”

Steven blushed and smiled. “Me too.”

“You were so lovely… I can’t stop thinking about it..” Matt continued.

“So were you.”

“That was your first time?”

Steven nodded. “Not you?”

Matt shook his head. “But, it felt like the first time with you.”

Steven grinned. “Aww, that’s so sweet.”

“Steven, when you said you loved me as we were making love…” Matt grinned goofily. “I’ll never forget that.”

“I do love you. So much,” Steven said, laughing softly.

“I love you, too. Is there anything on your mind? Do you want to talk? I feel like you’re closed off.”

“I’m just processing everything. It was.. overwhelming and brilliant and mind blowing…. You were so… sexy…” He said the last word softly, like it was a secret.

“Oh… not as sexy as you,” Matt said with a wink.

They kissed again, and got up, taking showers and getting ready for their last drive before they reached Beach City.

********

Steven felt a pang of homesickness rush throughout his thoughts, making a lump in his throat, and his stomach hurt.

He saw The Big Donut, Fish Stew Pizza, Beach City Walk Fries and all the landmarks, friend’s houses and stores he used to frequent, and it made him even sadder, thinking of how different it would be now as opposed to when he was a kid. He wondered how Sadie and Lars were doing—-and he thought of Buck, Sourcream, Onion and everyone else in the sleepy Beach City, wishing that either everyone was somewhere else or all together, just as he remembered them before he grew up.

“You okay?” Matt asked him.

“Yeah… I guess. Just looking at everything again from my childhood is pretty weird.”

“I can understand that.”

“Matt, when you meet my family, and all my other friends and people I know… I just… I’m going to introduce you as my boyfriend, okay? Is that alright?”

Matt beamed. “Of course! I am your boyfriend after all!”

Steven nodded. “I’m nervous as heck.”

Matt looked at him with affirmation and affection. “I know you’re nervous. You only start to halfway curse when you are.” He laughed softly.

“You got me pegged. I do do that. But….” Steven started to say, but he looked over at the horizon and sighed. The sun was about to set. “Maybe let’s go see the ocean? Then, we will go to see everyone.”

Matt nodded. “Okay, baby.”

They drove down to the beach and both got out to walk in the sand.

They started to hold hands, and Steven started to say something, but his heart leaped into his throat.

There she was.

Connie.

And they immediately locked eyes, her and Steven.

Matt seemed blissfully unaware of the situation until Steven gently moved his arm against his side.

“Is… is that Connie?” Matt whispered, wide eyed.

Shit,” Steven whispered under his breath, making Matt look at him in shock.

Steven never cursed.

****

Fan Fiction
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.