Fiction logo

Happy Birthday To You

A chocolate-filled surprise.

By Angela DerschaPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
19
Happy Birthday To You
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

The night before:

Tomorrow.

All of my waiting and prepping will pay off tomorrow. Eleven months, three hundred sixty-four days have all led up to this. It's both my boyfriends' birthday and our first anniversary!

By freestocks on Unsplash

Not even Jason could contain my excitement and energy. I'm channeling all of it into the one thing I'm great at, baking. Whether it's cupcakes for my niece’s school group, a wedding cake for my uncle and his third wife, pumpkin pie for my grandmother, or banana walnut muffins for my man’s lunch, my confectionary skills are unmatched! However, there is one thing I have yet to make for Jason, the love of my life, a birthday cake. So tomorrow, I will be making my mother's signature number one man-pleasing dessert ever, a Triple Dutch Chocolate Surprise with The Works. Something she has made for my father for thirty years.

By Dassi Hersh on Unsplash

Appearances are deceiving with this sweet treat. It may look tiny, but it's fatally delicious! The base is a fluffy vanilla cake mixed with organic Dutch Cocoa from the bakery across town(already supplied), then it is baked in the oven at 375 for roughly two hours (time varies on the stove). The frosting is my favorite part. You take two cups of melted butter, combine with a dry mixture of confectioner sugar and the Cocoa into a medium mixing bowl. An electric beater is recommended, but I love a sound old-fashioned hand mixer, like mother like daughter. After it's beaten thoroughly and evenly, we set it aside until the cake is finished baking. Let it cool for about twenty minutes before painting the masterpiece. Then “the works” come into play. It is chocolate-filled hazelnut wafers from the same bakery as the Cocoa(bought them today)I mentioned before; carefully placed around the frosted cake. The anticipation is going to kill me! I can't wait to drive him crazy with sweetness; all that's left is to wait.

The day of:

I'm up early because it's showtime. I showered quickly, dolled myself up, and headed to the meat market to get steaks for tonight. I'll make fajitas, Jason's favorite meal, melt his tongue with my fantastic cake, wash it down with some champagne, get naked, and take him to bed like a king. What can I say? I'm a devil sometimes. Especially when it comes to Jason, I will do anything for him, even if he asks me to burn something down. These warm thoughts swarmed into my head as I finished my errands with two hours to spare. Now, to prepare a feast for him.

7:00 pm time for dinner.

Everything was finished and waiting for him at his apartment; thank goodness he gave me a key. Now I'm ready to surprise Jason! Any minute now, he will be coming through the door. I better hide. I lock the front door and turn off the lights to the living room with a flick. Covering the area in eerie darkness. My breathing is heavy; I'm sweaty and nervous. I haven't felt this way since he asked me out for the first time. Perhaps it's a sign of things to come.

Keys jingle. He's here!

The door opened to reveal the love of my life, Jason. A young, baby-faced man with dark brown hair and hazel eyes. He is wearing a Hot Topic skull t-shirt with worn blue jeans and grey athletic sneakers. He looks tired from his school day at the University. He dropped his backpack at the doorway and began feeling for the light switch.

Click.

“Surprise!!” I scream, jumping out from behind the door.

He was horrified at first but then smiling like a little boy.

“Oh, babe!” He exclaimed, hugging me tightly. “Thank you; I thought you might've forgotten.”

“Of course not, ” I reassured him, giving him a tight hug and kiss on the cheek in response. “This day is too big to forget!”

Jason sniffs the air briefly.

“Do I smell steak?” He asked, practically drooling.

“Yup,” I said, grabbing his forearm playfully. “Over here.”

I led him to the kitchen, which lit dimly with several tall, white candles in red crystal holders. The table is covered with a cotton, burgundy tablecloth with the spread homemade Mexican food that I prepared strategically placed Around the center. The cake was in the exact middle of the steak fajitas, rice, nachos with spicy queso, and black beans circling it. It was glorious.

Jason's eyes were wide with excitement.

“Wow, you went all out.” He gasped.

“Enough looking, let's eat!” I shout with glee, leading him to a chair.

It felt like time itself stood still for us. We ate our dinner slowly to savor the various spices and textures. Not to brag, but it was one of my best meals. The meat was tender, and the vegetables were seared to perfection, the tortillas were soft; the rice was full of flavor and the beans melted in our mouths. We talked about our relationship and how far we have come despite the challenges. Laughter filled the air, as did our love.

We cleared our plates away for the main event: the birthday cake.

I lit a few candles and started singing.

“Happy birthday to you, Happy birthday to you, Happy birthday, dear Jason...” I sang softly while moving the cake closer to him. “Happy birthday to you!”

He blew out the candles, and I clapped.

I cut him a sizeable slice of chocolatey goodness and gave it to him on a saucer. It was gooey with fresh frosting and loaded with crispy wafers. It was begging to be eaten.

From the satisfied look on his face, he loved the cake.

‘Wow, this is amazing!” He said, shoveling fork fulls into his mouth.

I grab a long, cold bottle from the refrigerator.

“Champagne to go with the cake, dear?” I asked mischievously, licking my lips.

“Yes, please!” He replied, holding out a wine glass.

I popped the bottle and filled his glass with the golden, bubbly liquid. He drained the glass in seconds with a relaxed sigh.

I came up behind him and gave him a shoulder massage.

“I'm glad you enjoyed the cake; I worked hard on it.” I whispered into his ear, kissing his ear lobe. “I love you, Jason.”

Suddenly, he began coughing and wheezing. Grabbing his throat as his breathing stopped. He fell out of his chair onto the floor; His forehead was gashed open from it. Desperately, he reached for my hand to help him. I gently caressed his palm in mine.

“I can't help you, honey, I'm sorry,” I whisper to him, with a dark smile on my face. “This needed to happen.”

He managed to talk, coughing up a lot of blood and melted chocolate in the process.

“Why...?” He asked with tears in his eyes.

It's because of Heather, Jason.”I said flatly. Not a trace of remorse in my voice. “I know you two were screwing!”

I kicked him in the rib cage twice. More blood shot out of his mouth and onto my legs.

“Ugh... Gross.” I whisper to myself. “Why don't you die you, bastard!?” I kick him once more, this time in the throat.

Jason let out a final rattle before falling silent. Finally. It took the poison long enough to take him out.

I quickly get everything into place for the clean-up detail. Papers, cloth, and liquor were spread around the living room. Perfect! Everything should catch fire easily. I had to get his blood off me, so I stripped down and washed off in the shower. While still nude, I covered myself in a plastic trash bag and rubber gloves to dispose of him without further contamination. Slowly, I carry his stiff corpse to his room and drop him onto the bed atop the covers. He looks like a baby sleeping, without the blood, of course. I close his eyes and jaw with my gloved hand. Even now, I love him dearly. After one last cheek kiss, I pour an entire bottle of rubbing alcohol onto him and the bed.

I whisper one final song to him.

Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday, dear Jason...happy birthday to you.

I threw a metal flick lighter onto him and watched him burst into glorious flames. Everything went according to plan.

My boyfriends

Fatally delicious!

Kill

Him

Quickly

Melt his tongue

Wash down

Naked

Take him to bed

Devil

Will

Burn

Him

Surprise, Jason!

Short Story
19

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.