Fiction logo

Gus the Bus

A Short Story

By Atomic HistorianPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
3

This story was inspired by Lucas Marcus, Facebook group: The Writer's Forum. Lucas posted the picture asking, "If this bus was a character in your book. What name would you her or him?" I saved the picture, because I liked it and wanted to see what I could do with it. Thus, Gus the Bus was born.

Hi. My name is Gus. And I’m a VW bus. I’ve been around for a while. When people see me, they usually smile. Sometimes they like to make jokes at my expense. It’s okay. I don’t take offense. Oftentimes when people make these jokes. Or try to offend. I know it’s just a defense. A mechanism to hide what’s going on with them.

You see, I’ve been around long enough that I know how people see me.

“Oh, there goes Gus. How is he so happy, when he’s full of rust?” They ask as I pass.

But what they don’t know is, old Gus here has very little rust. Especially at my age. In fact, I run better than most of these new kids on the block. So, when people say mean things. I just let them talk.

I’ve been around so long, I’m just fed up with their negativity. It helps me keep my head up. Keeps me locked into reality. The reality that all I ever need to be is me, to be happy and free.

Sure, someone special comes along once in a while. Like Dorothy. But really, I just need to keep the people around me that like me for me. I’ve been too many places. Seen too many things to care what a stranger thinks of me.

People like to run from me sometimes when I open up. That’s okay too. I know it can be scary. I find they often do this when I challenge their assumptions of me. When it touches on one of their insecurities. It’s interesting how those can bring the strongest of us to our knees.

But anyway, I digress. Let’s give that all a rest. It’s probably for the best.

Like I said, I’ve been around for a while. Climbed many mountains. Drove many miles. I’ve left quite a pile of tires in my wake. Made quite a few mistakes. Been the victim of some blunders from others. But I do my best to stay chipper. I often like to think of laying under the stars, looking at the Big and Little Dipper.

Really as long as my Gloria is by my side, there’s really nothing to hide. She accepts me as I am. And I love her for who she is. There really is no plan. So we just hit the road. And see where we land. Take our chances. See the world together. What could be better.

The wind bobbing our tents up and down, as we cover more and more ground. Looking for all the neat places that could be found. Stopping along the way to make a new friend or two. Life is nothing but a zoo, and the main attraction is you.

So get out there, before you’ve lost all your gray hair. Go be free. Without care. Find you a Gloria, perhaps a Dorothy too. Or maybe just ride it all out solo, like my friend Chuck the truck. No matter what, you’ll find your place. Your happiness with a little luck. I hope you take my advice. Because we might not be on the same road. But I think if you cruise along your own path, you’ll have a happy life. But that’s all for now. Ta-ta, and a farewell too. And if I never see you again, know I wish the best for you.

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

Young AdultthrillerStream of ConsciousnessShort StorySeriesScriptSci FiSatirePsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionLoveHumorHorrorHolidayHistoricalFantasyFan FictionfamilyFableExcerptClassicalAdventure
3

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Very sweet, sensible & nostalgic, Atomic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.