Fiction logo

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 - Movie Review

The Best Among The 3?

By Havi NagpalPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

Introduction

I missed the pre-embargo screening because I was out of town,thank you for your patience but now I've seen Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3 and now we have work to do, let's do it .

So Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3 is the third Guardians of the Galaxy film James Gunn's back to bring us this before he exits and becomes solely the DC guy for this third Adventure the Guardians are back because one of their own he's in trouble so if they go do a thing to save his life which leads him to another thing which really we're kind of on a Space Rabbit Hole here and we have a few characters to talk about here.

Gamora

First of all Gamora I want to talk about Gamora because Gamora isn't really Gamora as we've know her this is a new Gamora from the Past who came to you know End game right.

Now I was pleased with what they did with Gamora in here because you know-how shows movies stories have the will they won't they Dynamic and then they do and now that Intrigue is lost and they know it.

So I thought their plan was all right kill off Gamora bringing a new Gamora from the pass and now we're back to will they won't they and that would have felt like they were taking steps back and they did not do that I like that I mean quill is trying to deal with it but this Gamora is she's a different Gamora she's actually she's kind of a bully and that was cool she fell felt like a daughter of Thanos you know she was more hardcore our beloved Gamora before she was you know she was a fighter, she was nice probably why she went Splat.

Rocket

Rocket hands down the best part of the movie are you kidding me.. it's been said: "rocket is the heart of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3". I don't feel that's actually accurately representing the situation it's more like rockets movie is a better movie wrapped in this Guardians 3 movie which is by and large fine I think it's heartfelt it's painful it's sad I like that in here.

I'll get to why in a second other than me being grumpy old man energy you know that about me by now but hold on in a second.

Villain

Also the high evolutionary as the villain of the film I liked him also I liked him until he starts just screaming at everybody and then I was like okay you went from being cool to being another villain who just screams at everybody take your place among the villains..long forgotten who just scream, I get that's probably the point of someone with a God complex yeah I'd probably get pissy and scream but I liked him when he was more collected and just kind of belittlingly dickish but largely the reason he works is because of rocket and the dynamic between the two I thought was fantastic and elements or character in this movie I felt was largely wasted was Adam Warlock maybe it was the six-year wait I don't know maybe it was the fact we should have seen him before Infinity War so we could have been in Infinity War you know it's possible.

Adam Warlock

I mean when I heard Will Poulter was Adam Warlock I was excited I was like he's a great actor let's see what he does but he could have been played by anybody and it's not even will poulter's fault the script just didn't give him enough to do .

I feel like this movie was like, "all right Guardians movie um you teased Adam Warlock in the post-credits scene of Guardians too we still haven't seen him we should probably have him in here, fine Alright bring him, let's make him a bounty hunter what do you say like yeah yeah he'll try to get the package the package being a someone fine" and that's largely what he does he pounces onto the scene because he's here to get somebody he's here to kidnap someone and that's that that's that's his quest I wish I kind of would have been fine with if he had that higher way of speaking so at least when he's in a room talking people can be like whoa it's like you're the guys like you were created to be more oh you just did an Alan Watts monologue that's at least okay but that wasn't the case he kind of felt like if Superman and his powers went Splat with Pinocchio where it's like oh you're kind of a really powerful naive idiot who's not quite a real boy he never even says anything like "I am less than human and far more than mad" like nothing like that however Guardians 3 is a packed film so I kind of get it where it's like oh we also have to include Adam Warlock in a movie with rockets backstory, you have the Guardians all working together and then the band splits up because there are a lot of them, then you have the sub Guardians you know the ones hanging out on nowhere you have a lot of irons in this fire and you have to include Adam Warlock that's tough probably why you should have done an atom warlock Standalone film Maybe just maybe and I heard they were going to do a rocket Groot Standalone film and include Rocket's backstory with that that would have worked then you could have had Adam Warlock come into this movie and concentrate on his story and the high evolutionary you have the high evolutionary and then you have Adam Warlock who's like the Pinnacle of humanity and it's like they kind of address that and they're like yeah no we're going separate ways, addressing it isn't hammering at home there's two different things they could have hammered at home they did not just keep Adam Warlock being the Bounty Hunter type, he has a couple funny moments because MCU which largely does work for Guardians and as the Guardians of the Galaxy Adventure I thought the adventure was fine you get exactly what you pay ticket price for Guardians of the Galaxy a space adventure with a crew of Misfits who largely yell at each other more in this movie than they feel they have before that did kind of get annoying for me multiple locations big CGI and then at a point they're like oh for higher morality we have to help the helpless people because we're the Guardians.

Problem

Right! problem is I feel like I've seen this before and not in that I've seen this two other times because this is Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3 kind of way but more on that this is another space adventure comedy in the MCU I feel like I've seen that a lot more and that's a bummer I do want to judge this movie based on it being Guardians of the Galaxy vol 3 and it does its part to be that whatever else is going on in the MCU not its problem we're the Guardians that's our thing the problem is in the MCU the Guardians used to be more unique they used to be the misfit band that was going on the comedic space adventure now comedic space adventure that's just MCU not counting this movie two out of the previous three MCU films were comedic space adventure granted Ant-Man and the WASP quantumanian, not outer space adventure more like Inner Space Adventure.

Point is a group of people end up on another world for an adventure comedy so I'm gonna go ahead and count it same energy as they say point is in a world where these space adventure comedies largely feel like what the MCU box is and we have the Marvels coming out so we got more coming this year I rather preferred it when the Guardians were the Misfits who were the space adventure comedy and the MCU was largely not bad, the movie has its final Act CGI blast that I mean every MCU movie has that we know that's going to be the case that would it would almost be weird if Guardians of the Galaxy is a big space adventure was like all right and no big CGI third act it just kind of it's done now the emotional things are what ended it.

Visuals

It does have some cool visuals including this "one corridor our fight that's you know how it is one of those One-Shot green screen fights among a bunch of people where the Guardians are fighting a bunch of monsters that look like they're from the Doom video game it's pretty great I love that scene that was badass did it need to be in there absolutely not is the movie too long !!absolutely!! but of the things that you could cut out of here that is one I'd like to stay.

What is it about comic book movies is this they're like all right two and a half hours minimum not that a long run time is innately bad but I couldn't help but walk out of this movie and be like yeah you could have trimmed some Corners you could have cut that one down in the end Guardians of the Galaxy volume 3 it's a fine space adventure, it's a nice end to the Guardians movies that I've heard it's the last Guardians movie but ironically and even sadly Guardians 3 feels more like a familiar MCU formula film rather than the unique Vision that started Guardians of the Galaxy in the first place.

Conclusion

Get some beers get some friends probably be a good time if you're drunk yeah now it's a party, but what I liked most about it wasn't the fun Guardians of the guy Galaxy Adventure, it was actually the Rocket Raccoon tragedy, real question is this the first MCU film to drop the F-bomb because there is an F-bomb in here I can't think of any other one in any other MCU movie if so , well history has been made in a way all right. So Guardians of the Galaxy vol 3 have you seen it what did you think about it whatever you think comment below and let me know.

HumorMysteryLoveFan FictionfamilyFableAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Havi Nagpal

Hey there, I'm Havi! I'm a passionate movie lover and an avid writer of movie reviews.

My writing style is pretty casual and light-hearted, and I try to inject humor into my reviews wherever possible to make them more engaging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.