Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Grit and Key

Assassins

By Christina Nelson Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
Grit and Key
Photo by Irham Setyaki on Unsplash

Run.

Run faster.

That's all I can think to myself. Cutting through back alleys and jumping over fences. I can't look back. Not now.

Cut left.

Next right and down the stairs.

Jump this last fence and I'm home free.

As soon as I landed over the last fence, the gun was in my face.

Shit.

"Now, why are you doing all of that running Key? Don't you trust me?"

Obviously I don't trust you, psycho.

I stood up straight as the gun cocked and the cold metal tip touched my forehead. The shooter flashed me a smile before their head was forced into a headlock and their neck snapped in less than half a second.

I let out a loud sigh and slid down the fence to the cold wet ground. I looked up to a tall slim figure as he picked up the gun and emptied the clip and the one in the chamber.

"You do too much Key." he stated as he leaned down extending his hand to me. I shook my head and grabbed it as he helped me up.

I do too much? Says the person just going around snapping necks in the middle of the night.

He looked over at me as I put my hood on my head and my hands in my pockets. I could feel the concern oozing. I looked over at him and shot him a reassuring smile.

He knows I don't speak. At least, not in the last few years. Trauma does that.

He handed me a passport and another gun he was keeping in his pocket.

"You don't necessarily have a new target, but your assistance is needed." He explained kind of half-assed. I only shrugged and took the items. Him and his team only ever need me occasionally. But this last mission took a lot out of me. On top of that, having a leak in the group is also a problem.

The fact that he had to chase us down and save me from his own partner and kill them, says a lot about how they treat traitors in this group. It's a tight group so I know he's feeling it. While he's concerned about me, I know he's hurt.

I know the team is hurt. I'm only more determined. The more I don't set expectations for the people around me, the less I'd be hurt. I've always been that way.

"You're going to the Kippling Airport. Private runway. When you get to Turkey, you're looking for Azra Nehir. She's your partner. Make sure you're the only one that comes back." he declared.

I looked over at him, just beyond the edge of my hood and saw the seriousness on his face as he continued looking ahead of us. He held his hand out, balled up in a fist.

I dapped him up and we separated.

As I headed for the airport on foot, I heard a gunshot behind me.

Keep going.

Don't look back.

Damn it.

I turned back around and ran to his location. No matter what I tell myself, he's my friend. I can only brace for disappointment.

As I turned the corner, I saw him there. He was on the ground. He wasn't dead. Yet. Standing over him was a woman. She was mouthing something.

Can't hear.

Quietly step closer.

I could see him on the ground holding his shoulder. He was laughing. Not sure if it was at her or the situation. But he's crazy so probably both. I had a gun, but those aren't necessarily my style.

I treat every target as if they have personally wronged me in the worst way. And to be honest, at this point she definitely had.

Left pocket.

Move quickly.

Not too many strikes.

When I got right up on her, I already knew who she was. She kind of laughed to herself when she felt the stainless steel blade touch the side over her neck.

However, I'm impatient. Before she had some smart ass comment or strange supervillain monologue to push out, I pushed my hunting knife through her left temple. She kind of fell in slow motion.

It wasn't until she was flat on the ground that I started hacking away. By the time it was all done, blood poured down my face. I looked like Carrie at prom.

I didn't even look down at him, I just extended my arm to help him up. He shook his head and smiled.

"You do too much Key. Mission accomplished though. Less travel."

I smiled as we started walking away, leaving all her parts on the ground for someone else to find.

"You don't do enough Grit."

Short StorythrillerMysteryCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Christina Nelson

I started writing when i was in the 3rd grade. That's when i discovered I had an overactive imagination. I'm currently trying to publish 2 books, hopefully I can improve my writing here before I hit the big leagues in writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.