Fiction logo

Green Light

Story

By kuljit mannPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1

Greenlight

I never broke the traffic rules. It has become my habit. All I need is a job, not a rule.

I'm Steve's driver. His only instruction is to follow the rules.

Steve is a wealthy man. I can't talk about knowing everything about him. It doesn't even need a driver, but when I'm in the car waiting for a long time? Then I will make imaginary balloons. Well, making balloons is not my habit but my passion.

It has become my habit to stop at the red light and walk on the green. You can say everybody does that. But I stop when Steve ordered me to do so. Red light or green light is immaterial for me. Steve watched the lights, and he told me when to stop and when to go.

I am pleased when someone praises my imagination. I also imagine based on the facts. There is water on Mars; no, I can never guess it. Yes, a gorgeous woman has come to live in my neighborhood. It will be part of my imagination.

Steve owns the car I'm driving. Steve pays me three times than the usual driver. You think,

Steve is stupid. No, he is not stupid. he can get me to do something that can't be done with so little money.

Sometimes Steve tells me to go on a green light. Steve also tells me to stop on red lights.

But I have privilege on the amber light. It is my decision what to do on Yellow light.

This habit is also controlling my life. I wonder why the red light area has been linked to most countries.

Let me tell you today that the green light is not readily available.

On the first weekend of November last year, When we got home, Steve got off the car and went inside.

Seeing Steve's profound silence, I realized that something must be happening today.

I started the car and left.

That night Steve's wife served dinner, Steve held her hand and said, I've got something to tell you. She sat down and ate quietly.

I imagined, Why was she in no hurry to listen to Steve? Does she know what Steve wants to say?

I can imagine what kind of effect it can be on any woman. I saw crossing lights, blinking hand-symbol suggest I be ready to stop. My imagination stopped for a while.

Again I observed the hurt in her eyes.

The human relationship is extraordinary; sometimes, you contact a person whose performance is not as you think. Quite the opposite, which you may hate, you still become attached to it on a fundamental level. Steve also came in contact with his wife. There was something else Steve was looking for eagerly.

I remembered, a while ago, When Ratna said, "Steve, I love you and can't live without you."

It wasn't her love, it was her desire to sleep with Steve. Steve thought Ratna didn't know him.

Ratna doesn't know who Steve is, what he does. All she knew was that Steve was beautiful and open-minded. That's enough for a scared woman. Ratna also wanted to take refuge in his shelter. Frightened like this, she will become a mother.

Steve was already in contact with several women. The women were not afraid, and Steve loved their fearlessness. That's how Ratna came in contact with Steve.

Steve soon realized that Ratna is not fearless. She was scared of life.

Right now, she's sitting next to Steve; she's alert, the man's presence is sitting with her. Staying with Steve, she got married but couldn't get along with Steve sincerely.

In the past, Her fear made Ratna a resident of the red light area, but she always tried to get out of that zone, and then Steve popped up in her life.

Steve and Ratna moved to the small city. There were only a handful of lights in this small town.

In this town, Steve took a modest home. The title of the house was registered jointly.

Steve knew what to do when the opportunity arose.

The city was clean with a tiny community.

There were no employment opportunities. Even with so few lights,

Ratna was not shrinking. The spread of her mind was beyond Steve's comprehension.

Ratna had resumed her abandoned gym, and her shapely body soon started smelling again.

Steve speaks the truth when there is no reason to lie. It's not Steve's habit to lie for fun.

Steve, I don't know why I'm not connecting now, with myself, why I'm just starting to live on a physical level.

Steve didn't say anything, "There was nothing left to say. There was no question of impressing; it was Steve who did the calculation.

"What happened now?" Steve asked politely.

"He worked with me and was married, but I didn't know it until we slept together. I liked him a lot, one of the reasons is that the man who was exercising and then his negligence began to show, he seemed sensible to me, and Tony was like that.

I didn't want to let him go. I am used to his fragrance.

I was addicted so much I started thinking of capturing him in my possession. You know what I mean.

At that point, I joined a gym, going to the beauty parlor, buying expensive scents, soap, body butter. I was watching my progress, and manly passion began overwhelmed. At first, the cunning man kept praising his wife, but then he slowly turned around. The pollen was falling, the pollen was springing, it ripened in my favor, and at one point, I started deliberately disregarding it.

I started talking about moral values when I became convinced that the parrot was now in a cage.

I forbade him to touch my limbs and begged him to take care of his wife and forget me.

I knew now it was not in his reach; the turn is not forgettable. I had already learned these tactics from my mother.

He surrendered utterly; one day, while doing him a favor, I cleverly presented him with my modified body in such a way that he kept saying that he could not live without me.

"Leave your sentiments for your wife. Why are you bent on ruining three lives?"

"Okay, I'll give it up, but it'll take a while."

"How much time do you need? Decide with me today? '

"That's about a month."

"Okay, from today until you decide to divorce your wife, we won't sleep together."

He said in a dead voice, "Don't you still believe me?"

"It's not about trust; it's about manners. How can I have a relationship with a man who is the husband of another woman? I can smell that woman from you; she must have smelled it too."

"He doesn't know yet."

"Don't say, Tony; you don't know, the woman's heart. The sixth sense of woman is always there for such a purpose. She must know. You can't even hug her like before. She understands everything, can't concentrate on you."

"What happened then?" Steve asked.

"I didn't even think about what happened," she said.

That night when Tony came home and his wife hugged him and started serving food again. Tony grabbed her hand and said, "I want to tell you something.

"Very interesting; I know the truth which you want to tell me."

what happened then?"

"Steve, I know what happened then."

Steve laughed and said, "Tell me, why did you stop?

"I feel that there is no longer warm in your arms. You have brought me out of my world because of my beauty. I have come out of my world. I feel that your world is the same, maybe even worse. Following your green light is a sham."

"How can you say that?"

"You're an unreliable person in a whirlpool of green, red and amber light."

"It's an accusation," Steve growled.

Steve, today's woman, does not accept subjugation. Your girlfriend now wants to be your wife. How many times has she told you to talk to me? Every time you have avoided her.

She found another way and talked to me. I understand the woman's pain. It became more accessible for you too. I'm leaving tomorrow."

Steve understood and was relieved. He could only say one thing. "Let's have the last dance tonight with full swing."

"Steve, do you still trust your green light?"

Suddenly Steve didn't know how to open his mouth. But he had to let her know what he was thinking. I want a divorce. Steve raised the topic calmly. She didn't seem to be annoyed by his words. Instead, she asked him softly, "why?"

"What do you mean?"

"I don't want a divorce. I want a deal instead.."

"I understand now, but it is not easy for you, dear," Steve said in a business tone.

"Offer me something, Steve, if you want something profitable."

"Let me talk to my lawyer."

"All right, Steve, do whatever you want to do, but remember one thing. We both are the residence of the red-light area."

Steve called his lawyer and talk for a while, and then he said to Ratna, "All right, Honey, tomorrow my lawyer draft a divorce agreement which would state that you could own our house, our car, and 30% stake of my company in this city."

Ratna starts laughing and said,

"Not enough."

Steve got upset and said, "Let me talk to my lawyer in his office." Steve went to the washroom."

I was waiting for Steve in my driving seat. My phone rang, "Hello. "

I saw the number. Ratna was calling me, "Steve is going to his lawyer. Drive safe." Ratna disconnected the phone immediately.

I was outside the car, wearing my coat, open the door for Steve. Businessman Steve did not ask me about my imagination.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

kuljit mann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.