Fiction logo

GREEN EYES

Luke Lawson

By Luke LawsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

GREEN EYES DANCED over the fenceline watching. And two ladies danced in the night. One held and a basket of roses in her right and a single flower in the left hand.

The other simply held onto a basket and, with the other hand grasped her at her hat to avoid the wind blowing it off.

On and on they both danced. One would sit down and the other would get up and dance again. People would come over and ask to dance with the ladies. They sometimes refused and other times they didn’t. I sat in the seats plastic seats placed around and watched and assumed it came down to the person’s Will. The language of the soul seems to have some kind of deeper sense that words cannot explain but little vibrations can; like the music that came out of the disgusting man's DJ “rig” in the corner.

He played some of the right stuff though; it was just too long, or never long enough' for anyone to get their spirit into the atmosphere properly.

Except the two dancers.

At one point a person came out with a box. He placed it on the floor and everyone stood around. He looked like a boy. Literally. He was tall and slender but he had the face of a twelve year old. However, he moved like something I’d never seen before.

He wore big green boots and when he jumped on the box, instead of a terrible crash it made a harmonious clank. Everybody in the room looked on with intrigue.

I took a sip of my rum flask and looked harder. What the eff is in that box? A snake? Is this fella some sorta snake charmer, I thought.

A guru pulled me aside, at least he said he was. He pulled up a photo of some old men with beards and asked me to pick one. I picked one in the middle and he looked surprised and then looked me in the eyes sharply and went “ooooooooooooo, you have a fortune to tell! You have a fortune, it’s true”

“Whatever man” I said and walked down the dirt road into the convenience store. I grabbed a can of soft drink from the fridge. “Say, is this stuff any good?” and the man shrugged at me and said “masala”.

I drank the can and it tasted like curry. "Everything tastes like curry here," I thought and I drew the air into my nostrils. A cow on a lead with its rib cage showing stared at the ground. “That cow ain’t sleeping” I thought, but I had nothing to give to it. What the hell is a cow doing in the middle of the city anyway?

When I woke up the next day the sun shone bright in my eyes. I had no money for a hostel and the weather was agreeable so I just slept on a step, any step – concrete, tiles or whatever, like a lot of people did. I opened my eyes and there was a man setting up a box. He blew on a strange whistle and a snake rose up out of it, it swayed from side to side, like the dancers did the night before. Then he blew a different note and it grew wings. A cobra, I thought.

Nobody seemed to pay attention to him, yet. It wasn’t the right time – I expect he was just getting warmed up for the early crowd. A van pulled up and a transvestite got out, introduced herself as “Happy” and asked what I was up to.

“Nuthin’, probably need some food, I reckon.”

Happy got back in her van and drove off.

I walked down to the beach and saw dogs, cows, and horses all walking around the shoreline. A great big piece of Earth towered in the distance and then tapered into the water.

I carried my own box little with me. It only had had a pair of sandals inside. I didn’t need to wear them, the sand under my feet was friendly and kind.

The sun started to shine down harder and a red hew took my vision, like in all those stupid movies, but it was actually true this time. I saw a couple eating at a table which was placed on the sand.

Some people dine with you because they are deserving, I thought, others because they deserve it.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Luke Lawson

I am Luke Lawson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.