Fiction logo

GRAVITY'S GRASP

will you escape the invisible chains?

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 20 days ago Updated 19 days ago 4 min read
3
GRAVITY'S GRASP
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

I had found myself hand in hand, face to face with Catalina again. I had taken her for a hike in some cool local park. We walked around the park feeling cozy around each other letting the cool tropical breeze brush past our jovial faces. It wasn’t just me finding happiness in Catalina, she seemed to enjoy my company too. We passed by local couples who had also visited this beautiful park. Some sat making stories and laughing while others played around chasing after each other like kids which was just adorable.

We came across another couple that was made of some thin guy and a voluminous lady. The irony in their physique was open even to a blind person but love itself is blind anyway. The heart wants what it wants. This particular slim guy defied his body and was now trying to lift the voluptuous woman into his arms. We had to stop and make sure we caught every detail of this interesting show. I almost believed that everything was possible in this world the moment this bonny dude managed to lift the lady into his arms. But then his thin legs gave in to the weight and they went crashing onto the ground with a thud. The lady landed first then the dude followed. The lady was so fat that she was having trouble trying to sit and the guy was screaming because his leg had been trapped under the lady’s weight. Damn. We laughed so hard that by the time we walked away tears were freely rolling down our cheeks and we couldn’t walk upright because the ribs ached.

We came by a swimming pool and here too lovers were all over. Some just sat at the edge of the pool watching those who were swimming. Those in the sky-blue waters played around splashing water at each other. The men were just in their shorts whereas the ladies were in some skimpy bikinis which created a sight that could make any man an expert swimmer even the closest he had come to swimming was in a huge basin filled with water.

There was a couple on the shallow end of the pool. The lady seemed to be a swimming expert and so she was teaching her man how to flap like a barracuda. The man must have been a devoted slow learner because he didn’t just seem to get the hang of it. He wasn't getting the instructions all the time. She’d show him how to go about it and then he’d nod his heavy head like someone who had understood. The moment she let go of him he started drowning immediately and calling for her help. Dumbass. I was just liking this country the more.

All the time we had been walking around the park my eyes had been busy scanning around for a cool spot where I could hang out with this beauty goddess walking by my side. I needed to confess something to her. I had thought about the swimming pool but remembered I wasn’t good with water. I kept looking around and then I settled on a merry-go-round. How the seats were in pairs and they faced each other. That was perfect because I wanted to see the flames in her eyes the moment I gave her my confession.

With us sitting opposite each other I had the perfect opportunity to just admire Catalina’s beauty once more. My eyes had been itching for that all day. I had been trying so hard to restrain them but their determination was a mule’s. Catalina too had been stealing glances and so this chance wasn’t just for me but she craved it too.

We got in our seats and the thing was made to rotate. I had her delicate hands in mine and we just sat drinking in each other’s beauty. The diamonds in her eyes were shining brighter than anything I had ever seen before. She had that signature smile on her face that was making saliva to roll down my throat involuntarily. The woman seated across was Aphrodite. She was a real goddess. I’m a born winner. I never amble especially where the love of a beautiful woman is concerned.

“Hey, do you see that colorful butterfly over there?”

She turned to look where I was pointing. She tried looking for the butterfly that I had mentioned but she wasn’t finding any because I hadn’t seen any myself. I had just been pointing at the air. I took the time that she was looking away to remove a red rose that I had bought and stashed in my jacket’s inner pocket. After failing to spot the butterfly she turned around to ask me where I had seen it only to be met by a flower several inches from her face. The diamonds in her eyes shone even brighter. Her lips curled into even a bigger smile.

“I love you, Catalina. You are so pretty that I can’t help falling in love with you. Te quiero mucho.”

She remained speechless. You had to look into her eyes and her smile to tell that happiness was coursing through her entire body. She sprang from her seat almost recklessly and grabbed the flower from my hand. She leaned into me and hugged me so tight that I almost suffocated. She then pulled back and brushed her lips against mine igniting a fire inside of me. She then went as to whisper something into my ear when I heard the phone ringing.

Krrrrrrrrrrring! Krrrrrrrrrrring! Krrrrrrrrrrring!

I woke up with a start at the sound of the ringing phone. Sure enough, my phone was ringing.

Fantasy
3

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran19 days ago

    Devoted slow learner!! Hahahahahhahahaha that made me laugh so much! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 And awww, it was all just a dream. Poor guy, lol. Loved your story!

  • Abdul Qayyum20 days ago

    Wow, what an interesting read! Your writing style really captivates the reader from start to finish. https://vocal.media/fiction/tonight-the-first-star-i-see

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.