Fiction logo

Grandpa's Cemetery Secret

A Micro Fiction Mystery

By Rae Fairchild (MRB)Published about a year ago 1 min read
3
Grandpa's Cemetery Secret
Photo by Leonhard Niederwimmer on Unsplash

My grandfather was eccentric. He told adventurous tales that no one believed, including one about very rich sisters. He even gave me an old key and a riddle associated with that story:

“You will find greatest treasure where Faith and Hope abide forever.”

After his burial, I aimlessly wandered towards the cemetery’s backside. Secluded behind pine trees, I happened upon an ornate, locked marble mausoleum. It didn’t belong to our family, but the names on the plaques were oddly familiar: Agnes Faith and Ruth Hope.

“Can’t be,” I thought. Inserting the key, it turned and clicked. The door swung open.

MysteryMicrofiction
3

About the Creator

Rae Fairchild (MRB)

I love to write; putting pen to paper fills my heart and calms my soul!

Rae Fairchild is my pen name. (Because why not? Pseudonyms are cool!)

I do publish elsewhere under my real name, Mary Rae Butler. (Fairchild, an old family surname.)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    I want to read more!

  • Rulam Dayabout a year ago

    Bloody Brilliant!!!

  • Claire Jonesabout a year ago

    I want to read more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.