Fiction logo

GPS No Thanks

The truth is out there.

By Mark GagnonPublished 22 days ago 2 min read
10
GPS No Thanks
Photo by Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

GPS, thanks, but no thank you. I don’t know why anyone would want to own one of those things. I mean, come on, can’t anyone read a map anymore? Probably the better question is, doesn’t anyone own a map anymore? I certainly would never leave home without one. Of course, I seldom leave the town I grew up in, so after fifty-plus years, I know my way around pretty darn well. If I happen to get turned around, I can always stop at a gas station or convenience store and ask for directions. Most of the clerks will lend a hand. They’ll pull out their phones and get directions for me. It’s better for them to do it than me. Besides, I don’t own a cell phone.

That’s right, no phone and no GPS. I bet you’re wondering what’s up with this guy. Well, you might think it’s okay to be tracked by the government and big business, but I don’t. If you have either of those things, your privacy no longer exists. Every time you leave your house, those evil toys transmit a signal to a tracking station run by one of those government alphabet agencies.

Another thing I would never own is an in-home security system or one of those Alexa boxes. You might as well hand Big Brother the keys to your house if you own one of those. Oh, wait, they don’t need keys because they’re already inside. Smart T.V., smart refrigerator, a robot to vacuum your floors, it’s all one big master plan to spy on us. Okay, I may sound a little paranoid, but I’m just being cautious. Let me give you an example.

I needed to take a trip to a neighboring state. I pulled out my trusty road map to plot my route. It was printed in 1995, but it’s not like roads are picked up and moved to new locations. I was feeling secure that I wasn’t being tracked until I turned onto a main road and spotted a camera atop a light pole. Those pole cameras are the very reason I have my license plate numbers obscured with a sheet of hazy plastic. Those government boys needed to be smarter than that to track me.

All went well until I reached my exit. The exit on the map no longer existed. Someone had shut the exit down and moved it to a new spot five miles down the road. This alternative exit dumped me directly in front of a toll booth. Once again, there were more cameras I had to hide from. I pulled my hat down as low as I could and raised my shirt collar for a makeshift disguise. I only hope it worked. From there, it was back to city street cameras, building surveillance systems, and patrol cars.

By now you might ask what would make me risk my privacy like this? Only one thing on the planet would get me to risk it all, a QAnon convention.

Microfiction
10

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    Now that is funny, but it's not, really....it's scary

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    Imagine living like this! Exhausting!

  • Belle19 days ago

    ❤️❤️ You have a love letter written about you! ❤️❤️ I have just posted a writers appreciation work to shout out and celebrate some amazing Vocal creators, featuring you and some other writers! I hope you don't mind ❤️ https://vocal.media/writers/writers-appreciation-a-love-letter

  • L.C. Schäfer20 days ago

    Look, I won't have an Alexa in the house 😂

  • So sorry but may I know what's a QAnon convention?

  • Donna Fox (HKB)21 days ago

    This was an interesting insight to a point of view haven't considered much! I liked the layers of paranoia, laced with relative logic and otherwise nonsense!! Great story Mark!

  • Caroline Craven21 days ago

    Ha! Fab! Thought the ending was brill!

  • John Cox22 days ago

    Touche! Cleverly written, good sir!

  • Lol great ending ♥️

  • D. J. Reddall22 days ago

    The closing revelation was perfectly situated!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.