Fiction logo

Goodbye at last

Chapter 17

By sjsknPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I took the first two steps, his fingers brushed against my palm, interlocking, and he put my hand in his pocket.

"Yeah."

"What are you doing?"

He didn't answer my words, and there was a splendid shadow of the street lights in his eyes.

I saw that he was about to put a hoop on his head, so I stopped it, turned around and picked up a butterfly hairpin with broken diamonds, and pinned it on his head for him to see.

"Does it look good?"

he whistled.

I almost wondered why I should associate with this hooligan, but then I thought, this hooligan is something I have been thinking about for a long time.

He leaned against the table and tilted his head, which would seriously tell me that it looks good.

The lights in the jewelry store are bright and dazzling, and the young man in front of him has the tenderness that belongs to me alone.

That day I felt that I was the happiest girl in the world, and he let me drag him and swayed the whole street.

The street lights were lit one by one, and people were passing by. In retrospect, Gu Changzhou just looked at me quietly.

He put the butterfly hairpin he bought from the jewelry store on my head and asked me to wait for him for a while.

He asked me to wait, I waited, I watched his back gradually disappear into the crowd, until the hour hand turned round and round, until the pedestrians gradually dispersed, until the sky fell into darkness, I seem to know... He won't be back.

That day, I waited from eleven o'clock at night until the dawn of the next day.

Later, I went from twenty to twenty-five.

When I was twenty-five years old, Gu Changzhou came back. I was very happy, pestered him, and wanted to marry him.

So the person I first met in the courtyard eleven years ago was Gu Changzhou.

Half of my life filled my memory, but the person who never hugged me, in the end, was Gu Changzhou.

was a little too dim.

I felt someone gently brushing my hair, and when I opened my eyes, I found that When Ci was sitting beside my bed.

It was pitch black outside the window, and I sat up abruptly, confronting him silently.

After a while, he laughed first.

"How much have you remembered, tell me?"

His voice became slower and slower in the night, but it seemed to be dormant with an inexplicable danger.

"...The person I've been waiting for five years is Gu Changzhou."

After my memory returned, I could begin to sort out my chaotic thoughts.

"But if I waited for him for five years, then why to do all my memories from before were about you, Mr. Shen?"

"The medicine you injected me that day not only made my mind unable to concentrate but also disturbed my mind. My memory, right?"

He looked at me in the dark and admitted it generously.

the person you saw for the first time into your memory."

"Shen Ci, you broke the law, did you know that?"

falsifyKnocked, perhaps amused, he laughed.

"Then, do you know that the person who asked me to replace Gu Changzhou in your heart is Gu Changzhou himself?"

"..."

"It's probably because I like you and won't hurt you."

He lowered his head and smiled. It was a bit sarcastic, but he spoke to me patiently and slowly.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.