Fiction logo

Gone in 61 Seconds

A Micro Heist Tale

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Gone in 61 Seconds
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Hey. Hey you. Yes, you.

Listen and listen close.

This is a story about a heist. That’s right, a heist. One that is going to happen right in front of your eyes and you will still never see it coming.

It all started with a simple plan when my buddy Jason and I decided to rob the biggest bank in Chicago.

Although I had nothing to lose, Jason was married with two kids. But despite my trying to talk him out of it, he would not be persuaded.

After weeks of planning every detail, studying the bank's security system, memorizing the guards' schedules, and practicing our escape plan, we were ready.

On the day of the heist, we executed our plan flawlessly. We got in and out of the bank in record time, leaving no trace behind.

But as I sit here in this jail cell, I realize that the biggest heist wasn't the one we pulled off. It was the one I committed against you because none of that ever happened. I made it up, but I didn’t lie.

Thanks for reading and allowing me to steal your time with a story about a heist you never saw coming.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend11 months ago

    Your narrative is fun to read, and the catchy ending made me feel like a character in your story. This has been well thought through.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.