Fiction logo

Gold Coin and Justice

Akbar and Birbal

By Ainy AbrahamPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
6
Gold Coin and Justice
Photo by Zlaťáky.cz on Unsplash

Just like any other day in King Akbar’s court, once Akbar asked Birbal, “My dear Birbal if I tell you to choose between justice and a gold coin, what will you choose?”

Without taking long to answer, Birbal replied, “My lord, I will choose a gold coin, without a doubt”.

Everyone including King Akbar was aghast at Birbal’s instant reply and thought that Birbal had fumbled for once this time.

King Akbar said, “I am very disappointed in you. Why would you choose something of lesser value like a gold coin over something as valuable as justice?”

Birbal replied with a grin on his face, “My kind King, there is no shortage of justice because there is justice everywhere in your kingdom. I felt no need to ask something that I have in abundance but my lord, I surely fall short of money, and a gold coin would be nice”.

Listening to this reply, Akbar was speechless, but he had a big smile. He felt overjoyed with the reply and rewarded Birbal with 100 gold coins.

Originally published in Medium

HumorShort StoryHistoricalFantasy
6

About the Creator

Ainy Abraham

Listening to stories has always captivated me. Now, I want to share my thoughts through my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohammad Hashirabout a month ago

    Welldone very well Written amazing

  • Ameer Bibi2 months ago

    I have every confidence in you! Your determination is truly inspiring.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.