Fiction logo

Glump

the sludge that gathers at the bottom of the sink when you haven't done the dishes in a while

By Hillery D. KeeferPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Glump
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

"Mom!" the teenager, in the kitchen, yells to her mother, in the living room, pinching their nose shut.

"What?!"

"What the hell is that smell?! Oh my god!"

"What smell!?"

The mother leaves the comfort of the couch to go into the kitchen. Once she's near the sink, she understands what her child is talking about.

"Oh my god. Yeah. We NEED to do the dishes."

The mother approaches the sink. She turns on the garbage disposal, but all she hears is the turning of the blades. The sink is full and something is blocking anything from getting into the garbage disposal.

The mother breathes a heavy sigh. She empties the dishwasher and puts the clean dishes away. The kitchen is piled with dirty dishes. Especially in the sink. Food is stuck to plates and particles float in the water in the bowls and cups. She rolls up her sleeves and gets to work. First, she takes the dishwasher-safe dishes and rinses them and places them in the dishwasher. Once that is full, it's time to start handwashing the other dishes. She empties out one side of the sink into the other.

"Oh my god, there it is!," she exclaims. "Oh my god, it smells so bad!" She coughs as the smell triggers her gag reflex. She picks up the strainer at the bottom of the sink and empties the glump into the garbage. "What the hell? I've been spending too much time away, I see."

MicrofictionHumorfamily
3

About the Creator

Hillery D. Keefer

Hi! ^_^

My name is Hillery, with an 'e.' Nice to meet you. I'm new here but I've been writing poetry and flash fiction since I was a child. I like to write in the way that I think, so I guess it's kind of stream-of-consciousness at times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Ewww, that triggered my gag reflex too! Lol! Loved your word and story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.