Fiction logo

Glows A Go

Memoirs Ticking To A Miracle

By Ruby Estelle Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Day 21

I finally found my pen in the wreckage with a couple of other things. If I write this and no one ever finds me than it will all be for not.

The night wind is cold and the days feel as though they are becoming longer. Time is passing by so slowly. I wish I had more to wear but thankfully I've finally successfully made and kept my fire going. Every day I check my radar to see if anyone is near, but I am always equally disappointed each time when I discover they are yet again, not. It has been almost three weeks since my car went over the bridge and my friend who was with me died. I was able of sustaining my injuries, but wish that it would have been me instead.

Before I crashed I had been out working and my friend was too. Luckily i had my work equipment with me otherwise I would have no way of trying. I've sent out many signals each day with no response. Nothing. Do they even know that I am gone? They probably think that I ran off, but than again maybe not. My radar has been glitching the past couple of days and I am not sure if my signals are still going out, or if they did if I am able of seeing something show up.

The moment that I do see something around me is the moment I will send my flare up, and that is the only chance that I have at helping anyone find me.

Day 28

My radar scanner completely blanked out for a couple of days. It is working right now while I watch and wait. Wait and watch. Watch and wait. Watching and waiting has become a bit of a tedious pattern for me while I have been focusing on my survival. If there is anything that these four weeks taught me that I will take with me back to my normal life is to be more optimistic and enjoy nature more and be closer with it.

Day 29

Yesterday I stopped writing when I saw a green light flash on my radar. It showed something close to me so I shot my flare off. No one showed up and I am not sure what anything means anymore. What was I even expecting? Every last shred of hope I put in believing that doing that would save me. Patience and prayer is the only thing that I have to hold onto. There is something inside of me telling me that they saw me and that they're coming and there is something else saying that they didn't.

Today there was little that I could find to eat. I am hungry and tired. The only thing that I can think about is eating a nice fat juicy hamburger when I get home. If I ever get home, that is. Telling myself not to worry that they will be here before I know it.

Day 30

I've been restlessly staring up more at the trees more than usual today. Being completely surrounded by a forest of green and wondering what next? There has been no sign of anything hopeful, but faith is believing in the unseen.

Day 31

I thought I woke up today to the sound of a helicopter near me but when I woke up completely it was gone. There was no sight and no more trace of it anywhere but the sound I remember hearing. I've been crossing my fingers that they landed. That they will be here any moment. I am hoping that it wasn't just a dream, but if it was than what.

I'm so relived to hear the barking of a dog in the distance. There is the yelling of people letting me know that they are here. They are calling out mine and my friends name. Although they don't know that she is gone I am glad they are finally here.

Day 32

My family couldn't have been more happy to see me yesterday. In a couple of days we are having a funeral for my friend, and I am peace about it. Losing her in the forest where I lost myself wasn't easy, but I know that one day I will see her again. Everything happens for a reason, and she wouldn't have wanted me to be sad.

Photo Credit

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Ruby Estelle

Im Kezia, Family oriented & fun, loving, nature, people, music & animal lover. photographer, writer, cook, artist, lover & creator! I aspire world venture, vlogging, making a foundation, having a positive impact & inspiring you💕

🙏🌍🌏🌎☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.