Fiction logo

Glistenade Days

A feeling of hopeful optimism upon seeing the first rays of sunlight after a long, dark night.

By Anne PedersenPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Glistenade created by author in Leonardo.ai

I awoke before dawn, as was my habit. Rising slowly, I shuffled to the window and drew back the curtains. The world outside was dark and still. Stars twinkled faintly in the night sky. A sliver of moon cast a pale glow over the silent street below.

I gazed out into the darkness, waiting expectantly for the first signs of daylight. As minutes passed, the blackness gradually softened to gray. A thin bright line appeared on the horizon, separating earth from sky. The line expanded, brightening, as the sun began its steady rise.

As I rubbed the sleep from my eyes, a sliver of golden light peeked through the dark. The rising sun crested over the horizon, casting brilliant hues of orange and pink across the morning sky. Its warm glow filtered into my room, banishing the night. Shadows retreated to the edges. The world seemed to come alive as sunlight spread across the land.

I stood transfixed as the nascent light washed over me. The darkness of recent times seemed to recede. For the first time in weeks, my heart swelled with possibility. Though hardships still lay ahead, in this moment I felt a sense of renewal.

The sunlight grew stronger, driving away the last vestiges of darkness. I smiled; my spirit buoyed by the glistenade of morning. Today held promise.

Short StoryMicrofiction
1

About the Creator

Anne Pedersen

Freelance writer, confident notebook carrier, procaffinator, and all-round neurodiverse Danish viking word nerd living in the United States.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.