Fiction logo

Ghost of You

runaway train

By KiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ghost of You
Photo by Gabriel on Unsplash

It just figures...waking up with a splitting headpiece such as this; and next to a girl that wore a dress called trouble. I must be somewhere in the west.

While she slowly gets up and walks away; for some reason or no reason at all. I say "nothing". With every track and click; I feel closer and more drawn to staring at the window. "It's dark out there". "Just blame it on me".

With every text, conversation or plan I'm reminded that you are not here and I'm alone; and when that window opened on a less windy day and the plants came crashing down...

I remembered saying "just blame it on me"

"Could that be the same for us?". It was too late she had already gotten up and left. For a girl that uses a portal not meant for people; I wouldn't wish such a burden. Regretfully, did I just ignore all the risk of a new ghost that swooped in to overtake my memory. Of what I love and knew... Because I knew nothing, again feeling stuck and lost. Without any hesitation I tried to destroy whatever was going on and darted up out of my seat.

That when I felt the real sensation that something was wrong; like I was missing a limb and that spinning ache of a head. "Boy...you better just sit down; and be good". (a voice said in my head). In such a way it made me feel as if she liked me.

I felt strange...perhaps stranger than strange. (Like some paraleiptic dream that kid always talked about.) turning away from the window...staring at a vent for air... a sound echos throughout the area like some rant filled debate radio broadcast among personas...

Allowing it to grow stronger? He tried to destroy it. Stuffing its endless baggage in my pockets...leaving a constant and desperate feeling...I always hope such things will just float away and leave us alone. "Perhaps a foolish thought allowed". but under the practiced isolation to feel once again content a fool or king has no meaning. Delivering the key without prejudice would have made things so easy for him; and perhaps us as well. I can only attempt to find the home and piece for each item. May you ask the ghost of you to leave my memory we allocated together intact before and after we were alone.

Thinking to myself again. Some feeling of Deja Vu. I see a glass. Clear & Neat. Crystal. I take a drink and find myself slowly dazing off as if I haven't even woken up yet. (The radio buzzes in my ear...)

...The spell may be twice as strong as alone. As the day breaks, I will propose that we should become more powerful than ourselves and gracefully banish the ghost back to the original realm. "By having me leave this dark corner?". Together we should gain the ability to find that grubby little key first before jumping out of random windows. "While also not ignoring someone that honestly only wishes to help bring us together" Maybe it is a run on sentence; but it must be better than asking or allowing the ghost to judge such a thing it did not personally experience. "I think it is quite more than personal at this point" It personal... (the radio lowers in a deep tone) ...

As the day breaks, I find myself slowly waking up staring at a girl all in white...and myself wearing some other guy's hat. (Jokingly with arrogance)"Have we arrived in Chinatown yet?". Like she didn't even hear you she gets up and leaves...

to be continued...

MysteryShort StoryHorror
Like

About the Creator

Ki

Hello, my name is Ki. I am a medium, photographer and journalist; and recently have decided to publish some of my work. I hope to network and build a portfolio here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.