Fiction logo

Georgina The Great

Chocolate Cake On Top

By Elijah DavisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Georgina The Great
Photo by David Holifield on Unsplash

Georgina The Great

Chocolate Cake On Top

"What was the happiest moment of your life?"

One of the deepest party questions I have ever been asked. My answer is always the same, I call it my chocolate cake on the top story. It was the pinnacle and the last savory moment of the best year of my life. Senior year in college, was a miracle year for me, it felt just like a movie. After the best year in my entire life, my basketball coach had a party to celebrate and conclude the most successful girls basketball season the university had ever had. At the party, there was the most fabulous chocolate cake I had ever seen. It looked delicious but also had an incredible art style. When I bit into that heavenly piece of chocolate cake I felt... ECSTASY. At that moment with an explosion of sweet, savory, and bold chocolate flavor on my taste buds; my entire year flashed in my imagination! In the time it took me to chomp down my cake, I felt joyous and fulfilled. With a fork-sized bite of cake came a very clear realization.

When I was a younger girl I fixated on happiness. I thought of happiness as a backpack, like all I had to do was put it on my back and never take it off. Once I had this happiness backpack, I could walk around with it for all my days. It seemed as if my parents would just stop controlling my life or if I could escape their expectations then I would finally get to wear my happiness backpack. BUT, at that moment I discovered what true happiness was. It was a much more magical and fleeting feeling than a backpack could provide. For me, happiness is a collection of moments in time, where for a few seconds you feel the emotion of bliss. In these moments you can clearly feel just how perfect it is to be a human being.

When I ate that cake it was much more than an efficient mix of flavors, for me, it was like the cherry on top of a perfect year. Eating that bite of fluffy sweet, yummy, cake was just as amazing as the view from the top of Mount Everest.

As I swallowed and the last piece of cake made its way to my tummy, I just had to smile and savor the moment. My senior year was amazing, beyond becoming a championship-winning college basketball player and graduating college, meeting my best friend Gretchen and the things that improved in my personal life were the best parts of the year. That day, that piece of chocolate cake tasted like victory, success, and good relationships.

That was the happiest moment of my life. Most people don't understand, why or how eating chocolate cake could be the happiest moment of my life. Obviously, my experience of eating chocolate cake was greatly enhanced because I had just reached the pinnacle of my athletic success by winning a championship, and being the tournament's top scorer. I had reached the pinnacle of my academic career(or so I thought) by graduating college. I had most importantly reached a personal pinnacle by becoming really close to my roommate and new best friend Gretchen. Not to mention that I had secured employment at Travel and Lifestyle magazine, and avoided law school and Medical school all at once!

We all love chocolate cake and it is truly very yummy. But chocolate cake tastes like chocolate cake. But, when I was feeling confident and proud of myself, eating a piece of chocolate cake became a magical experience.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Elijah Davis

Instagram: authorelijahdavis

mystery solving contest on ig.

Here to share my developing books and evolve my writing style to a more mature audience

Books for Sale @ Cauzmicspublishing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.