Fiction logo

Georgina The Great

Chapter 1 Teaser pt. II

By Elijah DavisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Georgina The Great
Photo by Adrian Fernández on Unsplash

Please refer to Georgina The Great part one to catch up on the plot. This is not the start of this story, it is continued from the previous post. Thank you so much for your feedback and support.

Georgina During Law School:

It had been an entire semester of Law school. The whole semester I had been wholeheartedly selling the dream. “Law school is just as great as I always wished and dreamed it would be!” is something I said so often I began to question if were true myself. My parents, peers, and professors ATE IT UP. They genuinely believed the words I said were true and they were happy for me. They all loved my attitude and they all loved me; I was all of the sudden the most interesting girl anyone on campus had ever met.

It seemed as if literally everyone was a fan of me, and to make it better it was x2! That’s right it was 2 NCAA Women’s Division I basketball champions and 2 amazing law students. The university was honored to have Gretchen and me there, we heard this very often. The faculty, the students, and the community were enamored with me and Gretchen and then came the straight A’s.

We were quickly celebrities for our championship success, but our influence only grew as we proved ourselves to be adequate Law students. Throughout the entire class of hard-working motivated students, it was me, Georgina, and Gretchen who had made the best marks all semester. I cannot be dishonest, it certainly gave me unexpected pleasure to be number one, even over Gretchen. It meant a lot to me because honestly, NO ONE worked harder, smarter, or more efficiently than Gretchen, especially not me. Either way, we were BOTH the coolest girls on campus, actually the coolest students, and we were loving it.

I can’t remember how many times I purposely added my NCAA DIVISION I CHAMPIONSHIP ring to my wardrobe. It was an impressive accomplishment, and Gretchen and I had worked our BUTTS off, in basketball and at Law school. All the praise and attention felt well deserved. So, what, if I was milking my fame and enjoying myself, don’t you remember why I came to law school. I came because Gretchen said it would be fun, and I was trying to make the best out of a bad situation. Even though I was pretending extremely hard to convince everyone I was “living my dream”, Law school was still a dream-turned nightmare. Often during class or before bed, I would catch myself daydreaming about my life as a writer at Lifestyle and Travel magazine. What if I had NEVER received that dreadful letter that ruined my dreams of working for Lifestyle and Travel Magazine. It is fun to imagine that at this point, one semester in, I could have already earned myself an opportunity to write my first article. I loved dreaming and pretending that I would get to travel to some gorgeous location for my debut article. Well, I used to love it at least. Now I usually dream of working at Lifestyle and Travel magazine, wish I were traveling to breathtaking places, but I inevitably wake up to the reality of being a Law student, and a busy one.

Before I go on and on about my feelings and how this all makes me feel, I want to let you know how people around me feel about Georgina the law student. Well, the number one fan, my father George Sr. (Like he wishes his name were) was over the moon about me being a law student. My Dad was so proud, and he was always bragging and joking with my mom that I picked the better profession. My dad was on cloud nine when he was around me, he was so proud of my accomplishments like they were his own.

It was truly a great feeling to have my father’s admiration and respect. I finally felt like I had made up for not being a boy! At times, it became tiresome, faking enthusiasm when studying, or constantly getting quizzed by my dad when I came home, but I began to not even come home. The decision hurt my parent’s feelings quite a bit, but it proved to be the right decision when I became the top student.

My mother was also thrilled, seemingly for different reasons than my dad. My mom actually seemed relieved to be free of the burden of controlling my life. After our conversations, it was clear that my mother was so happy because she believed me to be happy. She loved seeing me happy and she loved seeing my father happy as well.

Last but not least, there was Gretchen, my BFF. Gretchen LOVED that I went to law school with her, and she always mentioned how much better it was living with me rather than a stranger. I am sure that had a lot to do with the fact the I loved having Gretchen as a roommate, but most folk wouldn’t be able to handle such a motivated roomie. Always saying her goals to herself in the mirror, constantly pushing us to do better, and being her positive perfect self would’ve been enough to make a stranger resent her. But I ….

Series
1

About the Creator

Elijah Davis

Instagram: authorelijahdavis

mystery solving contest on ig.

Here to share my developing books and evolve my writing style to a more mature audience

Books for Sale @ Cauzmicspublishing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.