Fiction logo

Georgia

Short story

By Antoinette L BreyPublished about a year ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
4
Georgia
Photo by Bogdan Farca on Unsplash

I thought I heard a meek meow. I got up, from my towel, slightly confused and looked for a cat. And suddenly I saw her She peered around the corner, staring at me. I was surprised I did not expect to see a cat at the beach. The Tabby poked her head out a of her hiding place and started walking toward me. I approached her she turned around, and I started to follow her. I felt as if she wanted to show me something. She purred as we approached a falling-apart hut on the shore. Once inside I saw an empty food bowl. Next to it was a bag with 4 cans of cat food. I smiled, all I had to do was open the can and fill the bowl. There also was a non-opened bottled water. I searched and found another bowl. It seemed as if the community was taking care of her. I looked around, I wondered if this should be this kitten's future. Was she being taken to the vet? I was lost in thought when I heard a male voice, "I know what you are thinking" Startled I turned to see a large tan and white spotted cat. Did he just talk to me? " You are wondering if Georgia would be better off with you." I stared he was absolutely right that was what I was thinking. I started to reply back, but then stopped myself. Was I honestly having an English conversation with a cat?

Georgia was done eating. and seemed to have lost interest in me. She hurried from the hut. The large cat went and ate the remainder of the food. I slid from the hut and went back to my spot on the beach.

The next day Georgia appeared again, but she did not go back to the hut. She came and sat on my lap. She rolled on her back, trusting me to pat her stomach. Again we were interrupted by the same male voice."She likes you ,you two are so natural together". Timidly I voiced my main concern. "Won't you miss her? He laughed "I will go back to my home. To the animals who taught me how to talk. Where I can do more than sleep, eat and play." "Are they Gods? I asked. The tan and white cats skin rippled as he laughed at me. I had one more question "I do not live on the ground floor, no more beach? "The relationship is more important than the house", he responded. I felt happy but stunned,I was being schooled by this cat.

I had other worries, like, would she pee in the house before I got the litter box. Would she scratch my furniture into shreds.

It was if Georgia's arrival to my haven was aided. I wondered if her guardian cat had intervened. If he could talk in English, could he also talk in cat? Was he invisibly aiding our transition from being strangers to being a family?

The first week both of us had some issues. I wasn't feeding her enough, and she thuoght my lying down to go to bed meant it was her time to play. My ten pm nights extended to eleven pm. I enjoyed her, I loved it when she walked on me. but I needed my sleep. I thought she should come to play when I was watching tv. If I appeared to be busy, she would sit next to me. I would sometimes interrupt her sleep with a massage. I would also play wrestle with her. And then all of a sudden about two weeks in, she seemed to understand that lying in bed meant it was time to sleep. Somehow with no verbal language Georgia and I came to terms with each other.

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Erwin Smithabout a year ago

    Aww, this is very cute😻😻

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    What a cute tall tail. Great story!

  • Awww, this was such a wholesome heartwarming story! I loved it so much!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Aww! I love a good cat story! 🥰 this was sweet.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.