Fiction logo

Game Gone Wrong

Chapter 2: A Halloween Collaboration Series

By Paula ShabloPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
https://pixabay.com/photos/nurse-cosplay-halloween-girl-5780955/

This is a Halloween collaboration series created by our group, Saloon For Writers.

Before continuing, be sure to read the first chapter of this collaboration, written by Angela Derscha:

PLUNGED into darkness when an errant gust of wind slammed the window open, extinguishing the dozens of candles, I do what any self-respecting sexy nurse would do: I scream bloody murder.

Jeremy grasps me by the shoulders and presses his cheek against mine. He whispers, "Be very still, Jessie. Don't make a sound. Don't let her find us."

Amy screams again, and there are sounds of scuffling, grunts and groans, slaps and thuds.

Jeremy is slowly pulling me backward, using the pillow I'm kneeling on to slide me away from the group.

I hear the thumping of feet that could only belong to Tony. He is wearing thick-soled army boots. "Where are you, Amy?" he cries.

This time her scream sounds further away. I shudder.

There's a flash of light near the piano, and my eyes fly to the location, desperate to see anything.

Melissa's face appears in the guttering illumination of a match, which goes out almost as quickly as it appears.

"Where are you, you rich-bitch hussy?" Tabitha growls. "I'm gonna mess you up!"

An ear-shattering "BANG!" announces the closing of the window.

Melissa lights another match and starts re-lighting candles. I stare across the room at her. She obviously sobbing with fear, but also appears to be bleeding...

Was the gash on her forehead there before? Was it part of her costume for tonight's adventure into the ridiculous?

I don't think it was.

"Mel, are you okay?" I call.

"Nnn..nnn...no!"

Jeremy pats my back and rises to hurry and help Melissa light the area. I look around, squinting to make out the room and inhabitants.

Tony is standing in the center of the room, slowly twirling in a circle, calling, "Amy? Amy?"

Tabitha is near the doorway, arms waving, furious. "Where did you go, you bitch?"

Amy is...gone.

I join Tony in shouting. "Amy? Amy, where are you?"

Tony whirls to face Tabitha, who is now looking behind curtains and furniture, still obviously agitated. "What did you do?" He demands.

Tabitha stands up from behind a chair. "I did nothing!"

"Where's Amy? What have you done with her?"

"Have you not been listening, you fool?" Tabitha descends on him like shrieking hawk on the hunt. "I can't find her! And when I do--"

"When you do, what?" I yell.

"She struck me!" Tabitha's face is red with fury. "No one strikes me! All of you rich, entitled creeps think it's just fine to push me around. I didn't have to do this for you, you know."

Jeremy sighs. He returns to me and helps me to my feet. "Of course you did," he tells her, his voice unnaturally quiet. "Your uncle set the whole night in motion. He made you do it."

"He..." Tabitha's bosom heaves impressively when she sighs.

"What?" Melissa says. "He what?"

"He demands much," Tabitha whispered.

My head is starting to feel swimmy, and the room begins to spin slowly before my eyes. I squeeze them shut, but the spinning continues, faster now. "Ouija is dangerous," I say, my words slurring.

Have I been drugged?

"Jessie? Are you okay?" Jeremy puts an arm around my waist as I sway, perilously close to falling.

Jack-o-lanterns dance before me, although my eyes are closed. The pumkins appear to be misshappen and rotted. I groan.

"Jessie?"

Alarmed, I realize we have all eaten candied apples. Have we been poisoned?

"Snow White," I mutter. And then I laugh. I sound hysterical, even to myself. "Oh, damn it!"

In the meantime, Tony has reversed his position with Tabitha, now advancing on her, his hulking figure the very picture of threat. "You tell me what you did with Amy. Tell me now!"

"I did nothing!" Tabitha insists. "I was looking for her myself!"

"You were going to hurt her!"

"She deserved it. She hit me first!"

There was a sudden thump as something struck the floor near the piano.

It was Melissa.

Blood pooled around her head...

To be continued......

Angela Nolan is up next for Chapter 3. Be sure to check out her profile!

HorrorSeries
1

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.