Fiction logo

Frevanth and Athelayna: Aerin and Avery

Daddy Who?

By Ella DormanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
2
Frevanth and Athelayna: Aerin and Avery
Photo by Cosmic Timetraveler on Unsplash

Previous Chapter

Meanwhile, Athelayna had her problems. As she woke, she thought, "It wasn't supposed to end this way." But she couldn't escape. Everything had gone wrong. The world was in flames around her, and it was all her fault. Athelayna knew there was only one way out, but she did not want to condemn her race. Athelayna heard rummaging in the distance. However, she couldn't make out the face of the cloaked stranger. "Oh Athalyana you stupid stupid girl. Look what you have done." the stranger chuckled.

"Your princess demands you lower your hood." Athelayna snapped. "I think not princess. It is you who is locked in a cage not I. I think you are at my mercy and not the other way around." All Athelayna could make out was a devilish grin that glistened in the firelight. "You were always so easy to find. You burn everything you know and love." he chuckled. Athalayna was puzzled and wondered who this stranger was. "Let me go Zhoron!" she yelled.

The stranger let out a deep chuckle. "Is that who you really believe this is? I had ordered him to death on your wedding day." Even more puzzled, Athalayna squints her eyes, trying to see who this mysterious man is. Finally, the man lowers his hood revealing his identity. "Father!!!" she screams in disbelief. He lets out an even louder chuckle. "Darling I never was your father. Are you ready to meet daddy dearest?". Athelayna's heart dropped as if her whole world came crashing down. The mysterious man motions to his army to move her cage. "Can't have Frevanth finding you again now can we?" he snaps as her cage begins to roll. "Where are we going?" she asks.

"To take you to daddy dearest. We need to have a little reunion. Apparently you are more dangerous than daddy." the stranger mumbles. "What do you mean dangerous?" she asks, frightened. "Did you really believe that YOU were the hero? Did you believe that Frevanth was the villian in your own story?" he boasts out. Athelayna's face turns pale, thinking about all the times Frevanth and her dueled and how he kept the defense trying to calm her and her inner rage. Asked her to watch as everything around her burns. "No. You're wrong. It cant be..." Athelayna's sentence was cut short when the cage slammed against a brick wall.

"We are here, darling. Let us meet daddy." the stranger grumbles. He seems like he does not want to be here, and something is conflicting with him. A noble-looking man approaches in shackles from the dungeon below. The closer he got to Athelayna, the ground began to shake. "Please. Stop. I don't want to hurt her." he begged. The stranger chuckled even louder. "You fool. She wont be hurt. You will. Your fear stops you from harming her however she cannot control herself." "Please. I beg of you Avery. Dont make me get closer." her father begged.

"Avery?" Athelayna questioned. "You're....no...it cant be.". Avery turns to Athalyna and sees the pain she is in as her father moves closer. He motions his guards to stop. "No closer. We need her and she wont help us if we hurt him now that she knows he is alive.". Avery removes his enchantment so that Athelyana can see his proper form. "Honestly you weren't supposed to know it was me. I had hoped to keep your trust longer however what is done is done and he will pay for leaking my name. Unless..." Avery says with a sly grin.

"Unless what?" Athelyana asks, almost entirely heartbroken. "Unless you listen to me. I know you want to marry Frevanth and I could not allow that. I knew Zhoron would come back and you would be his target. He will search for you and until them you must stay in his enchanted cage so he can track you." Avery informed her. "I....am...not...a...pawn!!!" Athelyana said as her eyes began to glow. The cage lifts off the ground spinning fiercely in circles while she remains completely still.

Avery orders his guards to retrieve her; however, they cannot reach her due to the magical forcefield around her. Her whole body begins to glow as the cage begins to evaporate. "Can't be..." Avery says in disbelief. "I told you to keep her away from me. You thought her prescense would kill. However all you did was make her stronger. I suggest you release me Avery or this could get uglier." her father says with confidence.

Aerin stood there watching as his daughter lowered to the ground. Avery motioned to his guards to release Aerin from his binds. "Avery if you wish to live you will track Zhoron." Athelayna said as looking him and his guards up and down. "I suggest you dont do anything stupid." she continues with a grin. "Your biggest mistake is not putting a magical barrier around my father. I had always thought he was my spirit guide however now that I know better I order you to step down as king. As my father is returning to the thrown." she demands.

"Athelayna, darling. I will not be returning to the thrown. It would be best if you now reigned as a queen with your choice of king. I belong in the forest. You will understand later." Avery insured her. "As you wish. This means, Avery, I am in control of what happens with you. After all, you have committed treason against our people and your queen. You shall be held accountable for your crimes as should your guards as they knew the evil you have been committing." she said.

Before Athelyana could finish her conversation, Kur'vurg approached the group. Athelyana began to glow again until her father grabbed her wrist. "No. Kur'vurg has always been faithful to the family. I sent him to find you. When he saw you with Frevanth, he believed you to be in trouble and tried to protect you; however, Frevanth is more robust than I had initially thought.". Kur'vurg bows. "My queen. I know where Zhoron is however it is not going to be easy to retrieve him. He lost his ability to control dragons." Kur'vurg informed her.

"How did he lose his ability? He has had Ydil since she was a baby." Athelyana asked, worried. "He lost sight of who he is. He believes that a magical power removed his powers however the only thing stopping him is himself." Kur'vurg replied. Athelayna tries to use her powers to reach him through his mind; however, she is blocked out, and there is a high pitch sound ringing through her head, causing her to fall to her knees. "I cant reach him. Something is blocking me.".

"Unfortunately, Zhoron is more powerful than any one of us. But...." Kur'vurg begins. "No, Kur'vurg! I cannot." Avery replies before Kur'vurg finishes. "You can't what?! He can't what, Kur'vurg?!" Athelyana yells. "He refuses to ban together with you and Aerin to bring Frevanth back to himself." Kur'vurg responds. "Why not Avery?" Athelyana snaps. "Avery?! I am your father!!" he yells. You can feel the pain in his voice as it cracks. "You have not been my father for centeries. You have the ability to reach me and you didn't. You blocked me out and pretended to only be a dream." she cries out.

"As your queen I demand you help me reach Frevanth because if Zhoron becomes their reign you wont have to worry about the people or your 'daughter' because we will be DEAD!" Athelayna cried out in agony and heartbreak.

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.