Fiction logo

Freedom Ain't Free

The Gift of Liberty.

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
7

We open to a dark alleyway in the heat of the night to find a young man named Jeffrey running through the alley away from the sounds of police sirens in the distance. As the siren sounds draw closer Jeffrey nears the backdoor of a meat market known as “The Chop Up”, as he runs past the door, it suddenly opens and he collides with it, falling to the ground. As Jeffrey comes to and looks up he is staring at an elderly Black male named Calvin with a denim jacket on.

Jeffrey: Yo man what's your trip?

Calvin: Son the only thing trippin' is you.

Jeffrey: Yeah becuz I was runnin and you hit me with a door .

Calvin: Well what are you runnin for..or from ?

Jeffrey: You don't hear all those sirens headed this way?

As Calvin becomes aware of the sirens, 2 police cars approach the back alleyway door of the Chop Up. Four police officers get out and confront Calvin and Jeffrey as Jeffrey rises from the ground.

First officer: Evening gentlemen, what seems to be the problem here?

Jeffrey: I didn't--

Calvin: Me and my son were just takin' out the trash before I close the shop for the night officer.

Officer: Why was he just on the ground?

Calvin: A lot of raccoons in this alley officer, one jumped off the top of the dumpster here and scared the livin' hell out of my boy, knocked him to the ground .

The officers, Calvin, and Jeffrey share a collective laugh.

Officer: Thats understandable. Well we were just pursuing a thief, we got a call about a break in and heard the suspect was headed in this direction, you gentlemen seen anyone go through here?

Calvin: No sir, a lot of noise around these parts in the evening, your perp probably isn't too far behind.

Officer: Yeah I don't doubt it, well you boys have a safe rest of the night.

Calvin: You too officer.

As the 4 officers depart, a relieved Jeffrey follows Calvin back into the market where they sit down and discuss what just happened.

Jeffrey: Yo, why did you do that? They had me cold and you could've dimed me out but you didn't, why? You don't even know me.

Calvin: Kid I was you a long time ago, only I was actually innocent. I wanted to save your life and give you the chance I didn't have.

Jeffrey: What do you mean?

Calvin: 30 years ago I was falsely accused of murder. I was in the wrong place at the wrong time and a store owner was stabbed to death. I had nothing to do with it, but when you look like me and you, your skin is sin. So I was charged with the murder and was sentenced to life in prison. After nearly 2 decades I had my case re-opened and through the miracle of DNA testing and a witness coming forward after all that time, I was finally exonerated. I got out, got my life together and opened up this meat market.

Jeffrey: Wow, and you were tryna save me from that same fate?

Calvin: Yes son, I know it ain't easy out here, but a life of crime won't bring you stability. You ain't got to steal nothin, you just go out and do the best you can to make a life for yourself. Don't become a statistic.

Jeffrey: I was broke and strugglin' and I thought this was all I could do.

Calvin: There's more you can do, are you good with your hands?

Jeffrey: Yes.

Calvin: Then come by here tomorrow morning and I'll let you try out for a job here.

Jeffrey: Really sir?

Calvin: Really really.

Jeffrey: But why? You don't owe me anything.

Calvin: Because 30 years ago, a lie put me in prison, and just a few minutes ago a lie saved you from prison. Freedom ain't free son, it comes at a price and I want you to have a job where you can afford your freedom .

Jeffrey: Thank you sir.

Calvin and Jeffrey rise up to shake each other's hands and depart off into the night realizing the price of freedom is one they both can afford.

Script
7

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • jai singh rajputabout a year ago

    nice

  • 🫶🏾💯✍️

  • Alicia Thompsonabout a year ago

    Love this

  • Cynthia Fieldsabout a year ago

    Loved this! Amazing visuals and a compelling, real story!

  • Melissa Eaves2 years ago

    Awesome read!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.