Fiction logo

Forever and Always

lost object

By Jazzy Published 4 months ago 3 min read
10
Forever and Always
Photo by Polly Alexandra on Unsplash

Disgust was an emotion I had often felt being with that animal that was David. David is a man that was not meant to be married. Yet, here I was, existing…not on his finger, as usual. He would pop me back on and stroll into his home, telling his bride he was working late. I would have hoped for a more original excuse. However, one can only expect so much from a man who thought he could constantly take me off and put me back on as if wearing it was enough. I loathed that from him. Darcy was kind and loyal. She always doted on David, and he didn’t even realize what he had. This time was different; as I watched David zip up his pants, he did something out of order. He was walking to his car while I waited for him on the bedside table. I watched him, sure he would come back at any moment. As I watched him pull out of the driveway, I had this sinking feeling I wouldn’t see Darcy again.

David’s mistress was in the shower; surely she would see me when she returned and call David. Perhaps. She wasn’t as lovely as Darcy; maybe she would keep me. As some sort of prize, her war trophy from bedding a married man. I couldn’t blame her; she was the dull, dumb, and pretty type. She was the type who wanted to have male validation and found it in whoever she could, whether that man was hers to have or not. She was nothing like Darcy. Would I ever see Darcy again? I couldn’t be sure, and the thought alone made me sad.

Sitting on the table, I noticed that the blonde was coming back. She jumped on the bed, and the movement knocked me off the table. I rolled under her bed and was resigned to the fact I would be here awhile, judging by the dust bunnies around me.

Time passed, and I couldn’t see what was happening from my spot on the floor under the bed. Above me, the bed was frequently used for more than sleeping, but I didn’t hear David’s loud steps at any point. I couldn’t be sure of the time that passed, but the dust bunnies continued to multiply. There were boxes that were pushed under the bed and near me. I saw the blonde look under the bed a few times and thought, for sure, I would be found. However, I never was. Time became nothing to me. Day and night were the same, and eventually, I lost track.

I thought I was in a fever dream when I heard her voice, and she was louder than I remember her ever being. She was stamping around, yelling at the blonde. Did Darcy know her? She was asking about me! My Darcy, I knew she would come. My pulse quickened, and I wanted to call her, yet I couldn’t. Suddenly, I heard David; he was stumbling along and yelling. I listened to some plates crash into the walls and screaming. They made their way into the bedroom, ever closer to me. I held my breath; I would be reunited with Darcy! I heard everyone stop, and an eerie silence overtook the room. Suddenly, there was a bang, and Darcy’s face dropped into my view. I stared at her heavenly blue eyes and realized David and the blonde had left. I was alone with Darcy, as I should be. We stayed there like that for days. I finally had her back.

Psychological
10

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    oh I must applaud this! Beautifully rendered. I adore the depth you gave the ring, especially its love for Darcy. That really gives vows a whole new meaning. So creative! This challenge seems to have been made for you, Jazzy. 💜

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Yeouch! Bravo!

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Holy shit that was a twisted ending! Superb entry to the challenge, what a cool concept. Gotta say I like this version of “the ring” 100 times more than the movie 😂🤣

  • Omgggg, that was so sad!!! I didn't expect Darcy to die!! And it was soooo disturbing because David and the blonde just left her body there for days! Loved your story so much!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    That was sad that it had to come to that. Cheaters never win in the end. Loved your entry, Jazzy!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Dramatic and sad!!! Poignantly written!!!💕♥️♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.