Fiction logo

Footprints in white

A snow micro-fiction

By The Invisible WriterPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
20
Footprints in white
Photo by Riccardo Andolfo on Unsplash

Footprints in white, trailing off into the night. I follow breathlessly by the light of the moon. Hoping to beat the snowflakes falling, that threaten to cover them up. My heart races knowing the fear that must be racing through yours.

Thoughts haunt my mind like monsters stalking me in the dark. Broken tree branches falling on you. Rocks tripping your feet. Places where the forest could swallow you whole. My head turns at every sound. I call out. And listen as your name echoes through the winter air. A siren song blowing in the wind.

Flashlights dance like ghosts in the distance. I left too quickly to take one of my own. Where are you, I ask. God, please. I'll never ask for anything again. Just let me find you. My fingers grow numb inside my gloves and I wonder how cold you are.

Pine needles covered with white powder brush against my face as I pass through a stand of trees and suddenly there you are. Lying face down in the snow. I run until I collapse on my knees beside you.

You're not breathing. Your lips are frozen. A scream erupts behind me and I don't have to turn to know it's your mother. My mouth finds yours and I breathe for you. My hands push blood through your heart. Time stops, I don't. Then you cough. You breathe. I take you in my arms, stand, and rush back over the footprints to get you somewhere warm.

Microfiction
20

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz3 months ago

    So well presented and drawn out to a great finale. Your details in the scenery added to the panic search.

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Well that was palpable!!

  • Sian N. Clutton3 months ago

    This scared me. Not easily done. Bravo!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Holy crap!!!! I was frantic by the end. Wow, well done on this one. Gripped me from the first word to the last :)

  • Holly Pheni3 months ago

    This is chilling! (Literally!) Well done, as always. As a parent, this one definitely was felt deeply.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Jesus christ, I honesty held my breath and now I feel that tearful flood of relief. Excellent work, I'm glad I didnt miss it. I think.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Man, there was incredible tension in this! An excellent micro story, Will!

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Intense! A nicely crafted whirlwind of a story.

  • Incredible drama & a story to rival Susannah Wesley's of her son John's, "A brand plucked from the burning."

  • Omgggg, I was holding my breath the whole time! So relieved that they were able to revive them! Loved your story so much!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Intense.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Nailed it!

  • Oh fantastic you really made something so gripping with so few words! And I was legitimately worried at the end there! Fantastic job, again, with so few words.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Will this was intense and such a well written story! I love how the tension just continued to build even after the rescue. I felt robbed of hope at first but see the glimmer of it for your character like the flashlights searching through the darkness! Great work!

  • That was so dramatically intense!!! Great job!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    PHEW!!!!!! 😮

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Holey moley, that was intense. Excellent job.

  • What a hero <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.