Fiction logo

Follow the Rabit

We’re all mad here

By Jen PhillipsPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Follow the Rabit
Photo by SAMANTA SANTY on Unsplash

Sitting in a meadow just outside of town- at the edge of the forest when I see a Rabbit. For some reason, this rabbit caught my attention. I'm not sure why but something about this rabbit seems off. It stood up on its hind legs and I could have sworn it looked right at me. It suddenly took off running, and I immediately started running after the rabbit- barely grabbing my books and bag, fumbling over myself and trying to run after the rabbit.

After 5 minutes and almost losing the rabbit twice- caught up to the rabbit standing under a weird-looking tree. The rabbit looked up at me and then jumped down a hole. I panicked and ran to the hole to look down for the rabbit.

Looking down the hole I couldn't see much because of how dark and deep the hole was when I could hear something behind me- a bear. I was startled by how big and how close the bear was to me and I didn't even notice- I slipped into the hole. I tried to grab on the edge and roots to stop from falling in but I just slipped and fell deep into the hole.

Looking up at the sky from in the rabbit hole, it's dark- so dark- I have this pounding headache. My eyes are a little blurry- seeing the rabbit standing beside me- I don't know how hard I hit my head but I could swear the rabbit is talking.

It took a minute for the ringing in my ears had subside and my vision stopped being so blurry, I turned to the rabbit and asked: “Excuse me?”

“Get up! We got to go!” Rabbit exclaimed.

“Go where? Where are we going?” I tried asking but the damn ran it took off again.

I followed this weird tunnel all the way to the end. When I exited the tunnel I ended up in some sort of strange garden. I found the rabbit at the end edge of the greenhouse- I ran threw the garden to catch up to the rabbit. The rabbit ran into the back door of this, I don't even know what to call it. It reminds me of a castle but it's too small to be considered a castle.

I followed the rabbit threw the back door and into this dining room. Where a man and a cat were sitting on this long table.

The man looked up and he was wearing a strange hat; “Jess! Finally, you’ve come!”

“I’m sorry. What do you mean finally? How do you know my name?” I'm so confused

“We've waited for so long. You've been here before- don't you remember? I'm Jack.”

“Honestly, no. I'm very sorry.

He looked down and petted the cat, looked back up, smiled and said; “That’s alright, it was a long time ago.”

He tried to hide how hurt he was; “Sit! Sit! Have some tea and cookies with us!”

“Where am I exactly?”

“You really don't know?” I shook my head. “You created this place. You built this home and the garden- you created me. You are the reason I exist.”

“What are you talking about?-”

~

“Jess?” I could hear someone calling me from a distant. I turn my head a little bit to slightly look over my shoulder. “Jes?! It's time to take your meds.”

The nurse is standing over me trying to get my attention long enough to give me pills but I'm so strung out I barely recognize myself in the reflection of the window. It's raining today- I love rainy days. They are my favourite.

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.