Fiction logo

Follow At Your Own Risk

When I said I'd go anywhere, I didn't know it would nearly kill us.

By Danielle EckhartPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 10 min read
7
Follow At Your Own Risk
Photo by Abo Ngalonkulu on Unsplash

Rory didn't notice how badly I wanted to be her. Or maybe she was used to people acting strangely in her presence. She tended to get into trouble. Yet she could've smooth talked her way out of anything. I grew up on the straight and narrow side and I desperately craved the thrill of the risk.

On the night my mom overdosed, Rory sat next to my mom and got her to giggle at her jokes. I hovered like a ghost to the café where I purchased a solemn meal. I ate my first bite when I realized I needed an out. I've spent my life being the perfect kid. I was the glue holding everything together, and simultaneously, I was falling apart.

My mom admitted herself to Rehab. She had her devoted parents and husband beside her. I finally called Rory.

I spoke urgently, "Ro, I need a ride. Not just a ride. Can we go somewhere?"

"Of course. I'll be there in an hour. Where do you feel like going?" asked Rory.

I sighed, "As long as it's far, I'll go anywhere." I could sense Rory was smiling. It didn't matter that it was the middle of the night on a Wednesday. She was determined to get us away like a thief in the night. Her eyes were bright diamonds lit by the streetlights. She had on a two-piece studded outfit and sheer slip. She softly hummed to the car radio.

I woke up expecting to be in a bustling city, possibly the Las Vegas strip. Or Times Square itself. I did not expect to be out in the middle of nowhere. The road wasn't paved with neon lights but with rocks, boulders, and fields on either side. It smelled of manure.

"You must be kidding. Out of all places! You bring me here?!" I joked.

"Wait! We're almost there!" shouted Rory.

"Where? A rodeo? a tour of the farm?" I said incredulously.

"There it is!" Rory squealed, slamming the brakes. Out from a cloud of dust, stood an old barn.

"What's that?!", I laughed like a hyena.

Rory remained stone-faced. "The ones who live there call themselves The Goddesses of Truth." she said.

I cackled at her audacity, "You're crazy."

Her mouth tightened. "You have to listen to them to understand. They're enlightened. They don't follow society's rules. They seek within to find their rules and then live by them." raved Rory.

"Enlightened?! What on earth makes you believe them?!"

Three to four women surrounded the car. The dust gave them cover so that they were hidden. My heart palpitated and I jolted back in my seat. Rory looked amused. She seemed less phased by the women, eager even.

One of them leaned into Rory's window. Her auburn braids spilled down her back. She wore yellow shorts, a bra, and a sheer slip matching Rory's. She grabbed her and kissed her hard. I tried to pull them apart. The woman fixated on me like she was analyzing a piece of meat.

The woman spoke with an African accent, "What did we tell you about bringing new people here." said the woman, whose hands were still on Rory.

One of the other women tapped her nail on the glass of the back window. "Jaz, you better keep your girl in check before Minka finds out about it." she snapped.

"Relax Yani, Minka has too much on her mind to worry about this....girl.", said Jaz with disgust.

"She's not just anyone." Rory cleared her throat. "She's special."

Jaz looked right through me. I felt paralyzed and still half-believed this was all a joke.

"Well then," said Jaz, "no use wasting time out here. C'mon, The Prayer Circle starts soon and Minka will be displeased if her Chosen Ones are late."

The women briskly walked towards the barn and beyond their sight.

I threw my hands up. "This isn't funny. Your pranks are usually funny." I snorted.

Rory sighed, "It's not a prank! I risked a lot to bring you here. The least you could do is see what it's like, after everything we've been through."

The last words jabbed me. Everything as in the toll it takes to have to deal with me?

"Fine." I said, "but if this is what I think it will be, we're leaving to find a real destination. Somewhere tropical. I want to sunbathe and pick seashells, deal?"

Rory cheered and hugged me. The hug lingered a second longer than usual, which made me overthink it.

The doors to the barn swung open, revealing a group of unusual women. Some bore shaved heads and bare feet like monks. Others had hair to their hips and flowy skirts. Their clothing was all the same shade of yellow, other than the sheer slips they all wore. The inside of the barn had rows of seats on either side. Located in the center was a stage made of pallets. Dozens of women sat and watched Rory and I walk down to the first row. I instinctively grabbed Rory's hand and squeezed it. The ladies began a low hum. They slapped their thighs and thumped the ground to a rhythm. A petite woman with chin-length hair glided onto the stage. The yellow robes she wore swept the floor. She raised her hand, the rhythm stopped.

The woman remained posed like a statue on the stage. Her face firm, her eyes knowing. "My Chosen Ones, Goddesses of Truth. It's our duty to continue to seek our true reality. The longer we deny our mind's truth, the more we fall victim to society's chains. We must do the work ourselves, to save our futures."

I elbowed Rory as she watched the one called Minka. Her eyes were wide, lips parted, as if she was seeing a miracle. Minka's sharp eyes flitted over to me and then over the room.

"Let us pray."

Together the group chanted prayers. All of them about finding ones truth, discouraging lies, and society as we know it. Their words emphasized using whatever means they needed to uphold their way of life. They were willing to sacrifice to reach this supposed reality. My stomach twisted as they described killing as a mere tool to get what they need to.

I whispered to Rory. The ladies behind me hissed.

"New Child", Minka snapped, "You wish to become one of The Chosen?" spat Minka. She shifted from her poised stance to face me.

"No, my friend brought me here. I didn't know anything about this before now.", I squeaked.

Minka chuckled. "Everyone has a reason for coming, whether or not you know it yet. No one arrives by accident. This is your destiny now, Child."

After the prayers, the ladies around us relaxed. Minka seemed unbothered by our presence in the group. I begged and pleaded Rory to go back to the car with me. She convinced me to stay the night. My only comfort was to have her beside me. She traced my eyebrow with her finger. I grabbed her hand to kiss her fingertips.

I awoke to the women surrounding Rory. My attempt to pull her from the others got me taken by three of The Chosen. Minka motioned for the women to take me away. It was two days before they let me out of confinement. The women brought me food and water; as I cried to them to let me out. They frowned back. Even Jaz visited me. She'd say things like: The truth is within you. You have to choose to see it.

I sat alone for endless hours before Minka came. "Are you ready now, Child?"

"Ready for what exactly?" I asked.

"To become one of The Goddesses of Truth. You will find life suitable here. There's little we can't provide with the power of our minds. The trick is to learn how to wield them. To change our perception, awaken from the brainwash, if you will."

"What if I say yes?" I thought of my Rory, how she needed me.

Minka adjusted her robes. "Then you will begin the initiation process, the New Chosen must shave their heads. It clears the path to the mind, leaving it open and ready for change."

"And if I say no?", I asked.

"You will be accepting the lies which your society upholds!" snapped Minka. You will be a threat to us. We can't allow all of our work to be threatened by lies and deceit! Many will kill to keep our rule! Remember that little girl."

"So Rory has initiated?" The sweat beaded on my forehead.

"Yes, and it is wise you follow suit. Lest you both be wiped out in the name of Truth itself." she rambled.

My knees shook. I forced them steady.

"Okay, then I want to do the same," I said.

The Chosen Ones entered the room swiftly. They shaved my head as I did my best to maintain a straight face. If I reacted, they'd have my throat like a gazelle in a cheetah's mouth.

Rory was among them. The girl I knew for a decade was now unrecognizable. Her soft plump cheeks had symbols painted onto them. Her eyes were glazed over and she kept repeating phrases that made no sense. It brought back memories of getting my mom through her withdrawals.

After the incident with The Chosen Ones, I stayed near Rory. I pretended to be one of them, a Seeker of Truth, a Goddess. I copied their walk, chants, and clothing. Underneath the guise, I was me. As Rory struggled with her perceptions, I pulled through.

Until the morning Minka called me to her, breaking The Prayer Circle. Which we knew only happened for emergencies. My mouth went dry.

"Child, you think we're such fools we can't tell what you're doing!?" Her eyes burned with rage.

"I'm following my destiny." I croaked.

Minka paced the room. "Lies! You're holding back. Trying to protect Rory and keep her isolated from us. You're not getting away with anything!" She paused and her lips curved into a smile. "besides, there's one last test you must pass to be called a Goddess of Truth."

"Anything. You name it." I kneeled to the floor, as all of us did.

"Bring her in." spat Minka to a group of women nearby.

Jaz was among the women. Her eyes were wide with shock. They carried in Rory's body. Her eyes were closed and gaunt, her arms dangled by her sides.

"What did you DO!?" I screamed. I ran to Rory but was pulled back by five of The Chosen Ones.

"She's been medicated heavily. Your test is that of faith. Where does it lie? with us? or with her?" Minka unsheathed a blade. "Show us your faith! Prove yourself or risk your own death!" The others shifted uneasily. Minka handed me the knife.

"Go on, Child!" she roared.

Jaz shot me a glance and gave a quick forward nod to continue. I shifted the blade in my hand, head high, eyes straight. The women loosened their grasp on my arms. I stepped to Rory. She'll never know how much I love her. I lifted the blade over her chest and drew back.

Jaz yanked Rory to safety as I spun on my heels to face Minka and thrust the blade into her. The other women clawed at me, but the knife hit. Minka collapsed onto her robes. Jaz was bleeding from her face; it got busted from the brawl. In a huge leap she tackled The Chosen Ones. I grabbed Rory and took off out of a side door. I ran with her in my arms all the way back to the car. To my surprise, no one followed.

It took us 50 miles of road before we relaxed. Rory dozed in the passenger seat. I reached over to feel her fuzzy head. She looked up, diamond-eyed and smiling from ear to ear.

"I love you."

Horror
7

About the Creator

Danielle Eckhart

My heart lies with Fiction and Fantasy, especially when I have an unusual idea. Escapism and the art of storytelling are why I love to read and write. I want to give that gift to those who read my work, and have fun in the process!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.