Fiction logo

Flora's Adventure

An original bedtime story.

By KBPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Children’s books can have a large impact on both childhood development and can even stick in your mind as an adult. I still remember the book that mom gifted me when I was younger and I keep it on my bookshelf today.

I don’t remember the precise reason why this book was so important, but the importance still remains. She gave it to me as a reminder of how much she loves me and our special relationship, regardless of what else was going on in our lives. I even look back on the note she wrote in the front cover of the book if I’m especially feeling homesick.

Because of the power of books, I decided to write my own bedtime story.

This story follows a little girl named Flora through a wonderful journey in her imagination. My focus while writing was on the importance of words, imagination, and courage.

Below is a transcription of the text, along with a more in depth description of its personal importance and what I hope to share in these words. Enjoy!

Flora's Adventure

Flora has a giant imagination.

It takes her places that are magical and exciting.

She can escape to the forest and talk to her animal friends.

"Hello Mister Bear, how is the weather today?"

"Good morning, Miss Flora. It's lovely out, wouldn't you say?"

"Where are you wandering to, loyal fox?"

"Nowhere in particular, Flora, I just like taking walks."

"Look at you, hooting owl. You are up so very high!"

"Hello down there, curious Flora. Oh how I wish you could fly!"

In my imagination, feathery owl, I can do anything I like.

I can fly to the jungle, and take a long hike!

"Good day, yellow parakeet, would you like to sing me a song?"

"Surely, sweet Flora, come and sing along!"

"What are your plans today, quick jaguar?"

"I'm going sightseeing, little one, to see the mountains from afar!"

"What's going on, fluffy chimpanzee?"

"Just hanging out, Flora, I'm swinging in the trees."

As Flora is transported back to her bright blue walls, she is excited to tell her nan all about her wonderful journey.

Talking to her animal friends gives Flora the courage to use her voice and explore the world around her.

***

I created the bedtime story, Flora’s Adventure, as a way of turning everyday language into something extraordinary. Often, the little phrases like: “how are you?” and “what are you doing today?” are taken for granted. Using these common sentences in a magical setting - one where animals can talk - can influence the positive impact of these seemingly insignificant words. Personally, these phrases have the power to change my day. I wanted to highlight this in a way that allows children to understand the significance of any and all words.

This story is also a way of processing social anxiety from a viewpoint that can be less scary to children. If they are able to have these wonderful conversations in their minds, they may be more courageous to do so in their everyday lives. Like Flora, after she visited her imaginary animal friends, she was so excited to run to her nan and tell her all about it. Instead of processing any fear, the emotion at the forefront of her mind is excitement.

And overall, the focus of this story is the use of imagination; it’s power and motivation. With the increase of technology, there is less of a demand for using your imagination. Especially among children, using your imagination can aid in the development of social and problem-solving skills. This short bedtime story can hopefully encourage those I share this with to continue to use their imaginations, no matter how old you are.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.