Fiction logo

Flirty, Fluffy, Flights of Fancy

Two very short stories about flirty banter and fluffy first dates.

By Marie SinadjanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Flirty, Fluffy, Flights of Fancy
Photo by Marco López on Unsplash

Delayed

Not for the first time, his flight was delayed.

She didn't know him. Not personally. But she knew he often took the 7 o'clock flight that was unfortunately almost always delayed, and that he would order a chicken sandwich from her stall as soon as the delay was announced. She was also very much aware how cute he was.

"Me again," he said that night.

She smiled. "Chicken sandwich, right?"

"Right."

They were both quiet for a couple of seconds. Then she pressed him a little bit more. "They should really work on fixing this flight."

"Tell me about it. It's been, what, my twentieth time this year?"

He was in a good mood, and since there wasn't anyone else lining up, she decided to stall. "Can't you ask your boss to let you take a different time, or a different airline maybe?" She figured he was traveling on business, if the trend was any indication.

Still, it wasn't really difficult to heat a sandwich, so her stalling bought her only a few seconds, and she was forced to give him his food even before he could answer.

But he was smiling. "And what, miss these opportunities to see you?"

Photo by Josh Felise on Unsplash

Natural

As he drove me home that night, I had a sinking feeling that there wasn't going to be a second date.

He hadn't said anything, but I could already sense his disapproval in the air. It was hard to tell what I did wrong, though, because the night went so well. The food had been delicious, and our conversation more so. I laughed at all the right moments, unleashed my wittiest stories, smiled like nothing in the world could bring me down.

Most of all, I was pretty sure I looked great. I wasn't Miss Universe or anything, but I did get my hair and make up done professionally. (Wouldn't you, if your crush asked you out, and you had the means to afford it?)

Still, something didn't feel right.

The silence was deafening by the time we arrived. He pulled over and cut the engines, leaving only the light from the nearby lamppost to illuminate us inside.

I blinked in confusion as he reached out for the box of tissues on the dashboard and handed it to me. "What's this for?"

He hesitated, but he also seemed to know that it was too late to back out of what he'd started. So he settled for a smile, and, gosh, I loved that smile, even if it looked really uncomfortable right now. "Don't get me wrong, okay? I had a lot of fun tonight, and you look great. B-but..."

"But...?"

He swallowed, suddenly unable to meet my gaze. "I really would like to kiss you," he said in a rush, almost inaudibly (of course, I heard every word and I had to exert maximum effort not to erupt in a fit of squeals and giggles).

What he said next, though, was what surprised me the most. "But I'd like to do that without all that... stuff on your face."

I couldn't help it, I just started laughing. Really laughing. Gosh, he was just too adorable. And I knew that make up remover I'd secretly stashed in my purse would come in handy. Ha!

I must've thrown him into a state of panic, because he started apologizing, rambling about how I was prettiest in my natural state, blah blah blah.

But I wasn't really listening anymore. I was hurrying up so he could kiss me.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    Excellent storytelling. Loved them both. Subscribed and left a heart.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.