Fiction logo

Flames in the Snow

Brief Flickers in the Dark

By CatsidhePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Flames in the Snow
Photo by 2 Bro’s Media on Unsplash

How long have I been in this gully? I can't see anything through this fucking snow.

I thought I'd made it. I could see freedom ahead. All I had to do was make it across the river. I didn't even see the drop coming.

Neither could the cops, apparently. I'd heard them and the dogs come and go hours ago. I didn't scream for help. I thought I'd be able to escape once they left. I didn't realize both my ankles were hopelessly fractured.

Once the tingling and the shakes began, I started lighting matches from that lousy bar's matchbook. If only I'd never set foot there, if only I'd never gotten into that stupid, stupid fight, if only my friends had stuck around to help, then maybe that bastard would still be alive, and I wouldn't be slowly freezing to death.

I studied the match flame. It was getting hard to feel the warmth. My fingertips had gone from red and swollen to slightly blue.

I saw his face in the flame. It reminded me of that old story about the little match girl and her happy visions.

My visions weren't so happy. As the flame burned down, I saw blood dripping down a broken bottle. The next match revealed an ambulance, lights ablaze.

The little girl's last match brought a welcoming spirit to take her away to heaven. My last match showed me exactly what I expected to see: a dark demon sent to drag me to hell.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

What can I say about myself?

A mystery wrapped in an enigma wrapped in a walking coffin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Warm spirits & hot tempers lead to cold ends. Aptly told, Cat.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.