Fiction logo

Fission

Or, Breaking Up Is Hard To Do...

By Kendall Defoe Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
4
How they split up...

-We need to talk.

-Don't we do that already?

-Seriously, please. Let me get this out. I knew that this moment was going to happen, which means that you knew that this was going to happen.

-What...? Are you telling me...?

-I am breaking up with you.

-You're breaking up with me? You're breaking up with you?

-Yes.

-Well, I'm just... This hurts. I feel like I am just being ripped apart by myself.

-Look, we saw this happen to so many of our friends and colleagues. We should have expected this to happen one day. And it seems like we put it off for too long. Almost embarrassing how many of our friends out there now have daughters and we still hang out together...

-We are together!

-Right. At least we can say that we gave it a good try.

-Hold on. I did not agree to anything! I never said that I wanted to say goodbye or split up like all of our idiot friends did. That's on you.

-Idiot friends?

-Yes, idiots!

-Why would you say that?

-Look at all the friends we have lost. Look at all the people who are gone.

-But...they are not really gone. We just can't see them...

-I know! I know! That's why I said it. We don't see them after they split up and go. Why did they do it? Because they did not go any place better. That's all. They broke up, left, and their lives turned into crap.

-You don't know that.

-Yes, I do. Why else don't we hear from them? Gotta reason for that?

-They have busy lives now. More mouths have to be fed...

-Knock it off! Even I know that each one has it's own plans. They ain't going out and feeding anyone else.

-Right, right... Still, I do wonder about them. And this all was inevitable...

-Have you been reading romance novels? Inevitable? Nothing is really...inevitable. You sound like you want this to happen. You even sound like you have wanted this to happen for a long time now.

-Not really too long. Just wanted to see what would happen to us.

-Ah, you had a plan! I knew it!

-No plan. All I did was hear rumours about it.

-About what?

-All those break ups. They seem so free once they scramble away.

-Please spare me all that. We are the same thing and I'm not feeling any joy over this...change in life.

-You know, there are advantages to us...going our own way. Or ways.

-Where are you getting all of this stuff? You don't sound like you at all.

-Well, I've been listening...to them.

-Who? The ones who keep watching us all the time? The ones who can't hear us but think they know all about us because of their...microscopes? Is that how you say it?

-Yeah, that's right. They have said some interesting things about us that I never thought about before.

-Like what?

-Like how much space we get if we do break up and go our own ways.

-Again, I don't care about space. I like it here. You want to do all the travelling, so you think splitting up will...

-And our health will improve.

-Something wrong with your health? I hadn't noticed. I feel like I am still the youngster I always was.

-But it could be better.

-Nonsense.

-And then, there's food.

-...

-Hello? You still there?

-You have my undivided attention.

-Great! If we break up, so they say, we will be able to eat better and feel better and go on and on...until, well, until the end.

-Right. Food.

-Knew that would get your attention.

-Well, you don't play fair.

-Whatever works... You ready?

-I guess. Hey, just one thing.

-What?

-We really end up with just daughters?

-That's what I heard. Can feel things starting...

-Shame. I always wanted a boy.

-Me, too.

-See you soon?

-See yourself, beautiful.

Rather true...

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Short StorySatireLoveHumor
4

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Julia Sintonabout a year ago

    The title drew me in and you did not disappoint

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Realistic, well written dialogue. This piece really invited me in for a cup of tea and I just sat there drinking every drop! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.